Buy Dead Rising 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Rising 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
6.8

13245 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A review from a HARDCORE fan of the original.

posted by HrdcrGamr (HIGLEY, AZ) Oct 1, 2010

Member since May 2010

102 out of 115 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

I love me some Dead Rising. I have played through countless times, gotten all the achievements in the original and Case Zero, and feel that it is one of my favorite games ever.

This sequel manages to surpass the original in nearly every way. I miss taking pictures, but I have to admit, the combo system works incredibly well with the Dead Rising formula and its unique brand of humor. There is just something about turning a teddy bear into an automated gun turret by combining him with a heavy machine gun or duct taping knives to a pair of boxing gloves that just bring a smile to your face.

Also, it is good to see that the developers realized that the time limit is actually an essential part of the original and is what gives Dead Rising its amazing replay value. For anyone renting this, do not worry if you fail a case or miss a few survivors, just play the game naturally. You can still continue the game and there will be PLENTY of missions and things to do even if you don't complete the main storyline. You aren't really meant to do everything right the first time through. If you try, you are just going to frustrate yourself and hate the game because of it.

Finally, there is the 2 player online co-op which is just a blast to play!!! There are some saving and connection issues at the time of this review, but hopefully they are ironed out in the next couple of weeks. You can play through the entire campaign together and it makes the game twice as enjoyable. You can also still earn achievements as long as you do all the requirements while in that same session. Since only the host saves the actual progress in the game and story. You just basically save your character outfit and PP gains.

Pros-

Slightly Improved Survivor AI
Keeps the originals sense of humor
Hilarious Boss Fights
Combining weapons is fun and addicting
Stays true to the original

Cons-

Load times are a bit too long
Guns might as well be pea shooters
Co-op Save Issues
Chuck Hasn't Covered Wars
No Camera

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great Zombie Game

posted by DesertGame (LAS CRUCES, NM) Sep 29, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

27 out of 33 gamers (82%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of the first game you will love the sequel. Multiplayer is fun and for the first time you can play coop.

Cons:

This game still feels like the first game. Even though you are suppose to be in a Vegas style town, it still feels like the mall from the first game to me. Many of the layouts are exactly the same as the first game. If you take the elevator up from the safe house to the roof, you find a near duplicate of the roof from the safe room in the mall in the first game. Many of the stores are the same design, and the "town" layout is nearly the same as the mall in the first game. It can lead an experienced player into feeling like they are playing a modded version of the first game.

Multiplayer's coop can leave long loading screens as the two gamer's systems "sync". This can be 30 to 45 seconds of loading, which can leave a wrong turn sapping a good 3 minutes for loading.

Most people decline coop que's leaving you looking for group for long periods of time.

Still frustrating as the first game is the fact that you can accidently hit the people you are trying to rescue. In one example for me, I crafted the laser sword which downs zombies in one hit...and makes your party members defect just as fast!! I have also been killed by my own party members.

Pro:

NPCs do not try to fight EVERY single zombie that comes in their way. Improved is the movement and traveling for these guys. They can shove zombies and barrel through them, often better then I can on my own!

Coop, though the loading times are killer, is a ton of fun for just bashing zombies. If you can find a friend who also has a copy of this game, you are set for hours of zombie killing fun.

The money earned in the online game show mode can be cashed out and used in single player mode. So making money online is fast and easy!

This game's story wasn't very interesting but still has a lot of the exciting game edge the first game has, a surefire win!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Improved in everyway

posted by Jefferson (SEATTLE, WA) Oct 5, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

20 out of 26 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

A couple of simple things that make this game a lot better than most of the games I have played ever. This is not a comparison to the first one this is a simple "OMG it's awesome" review.

1. Simple awesome co-op. With the achievement that allows you to play through the whole game with a buddy, it makes this game head and shoulders over MOST other games

2. Weapon combination. This alone could keep me entertained for hours. I love the unique and sometimes absurd combination's to the game. Also, its nice that you can "discover" combo cards, through leveling up, saving survivors, defeating psychos, or just finding them. It makes those that love to make weapon combo's enjoy the reward from all facets of the game.

3. Scratch cards VS combo cards. I enjoy that just because you figured out a weapon combo all on your own you don't actually get to enjoy the full potential of the weapon. For instance, the spike bat, if you don't have the combo card, you can't do the cool finisher move by beating them on the head, you can only use it as a simple weapon. Also, if you have the actual combo card you get more PP.

4. Re-playability. There is SO much to do I don't know how one would get to see/do/explore everything on one play through. Since you level up, when you encounter a new area, new boss fight, or new information its different because you might have a new weapon you made, or you hit harder, or your faster. It also allows you to explore and find new people to save, or bosses to kill.

5. Versus. Quick note, the games that you get to play on TIR against other people is a really fun time. Simple games that would compare to Mario Party, they are very enjoyable

Overall an excellent game. I highly recommend the purchase.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A big improvement from Dead Rising

posted by LastNight5 (DENVILLE, NJ) Sep 27, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

42 out of 56 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

-Pros-
1) The addition of multiplayer makes playing and replaying the game worth the money spent, and it gives you more incentive to play with friends and replay the game.
2) Combo rooms/cards give a much wider array of weapons and combinations, allowing you to up your arsenal and create more brutal zombie killing weapons.
3) The AI system seems much less broken than the original. Survivors don't get attacked nearly as much and tend to be more independent. They do however sometimes shoot or attack you, which can be annoying if it forces you to restart. Speaking of restarting...
5) Save points are much more frequent, making restarting a lot easier and less time consuming.
6) Much like the first game, the leveling-up system makes you want to replay the game in order to get achievements and collectibles that you couldn't at the lower levels.
7) Psychopaths are much, much more messed up than the original, and tend to be harder. This makes the game in my opinion more challenging and more alluring in the second or third playthrough.

-Cons-
1) The AI system still needs improvement. Survivors are still slow in their reactions and movements, but this may add tension and suspense to the game for some players.
2) The graphics are much cleaner looking, but could be better.
3) The game keeps you on a strict time-limit, making collecting and exploring hard.
4) For some reason, I didn't feel quite comfortable with the controls. They can feel clunky at times.
5) Finally, the storyline doesn't quite engross you into the game. The importance of getting Zombrez for Katy may be the only reason players feel attached to the game. The psychos and constant destruction left by them may turn you off from playing, but others may enjoy the craziness of their actions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fatal Flaws 4/10

posted by a_walker (DAVIS, CA) Jun 16, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

8 out of 11 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

This game could have been awesome, and parts of it are. But when will game developers learn to eliminate strict time restraints and escort missions? Those things being said, I could have lived with this game if it weren't for one key issue: the ridiculousness of the human "psycho" bosses. You'll be incredibly frustrated by their amazing speed and seemingly everlasting life bars. Shotgun? It can wipe out 5 zombies at once, but barely stuns a boss and takes out maybe 5% of their health. I'd like to know how a 290lb chef can run faster than me, essentially a fit zombie murderer. Realism is clearly what I look for in a zombie game.

The rest of the game is fun and would rate higher if it wasn't essentially the original Dead Rising with the ability to combine weapons. The setting, which was billed as a Vegas style city, is a mall. No doubt about it, it's a mall with the occasional slot machine bank.

Wiping out waves of zombies with spiked bats, sledgehammers, and bowie knives is always fun. If they had a "survival option" where you could actually play the 72 hours in real time with Fallout type side quests to keep you interested, I would buy this game twice.

But it doesn't, so I won't buy it once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If it wasn't for load times

posted by Painamatio (LORAIN, OH) Oct 18, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

The game improves alot from the first but if you didn't like the first or couldn't comprehend restarting to get stronger Via leveling up.Then go play Sonic!

CONS: for me are
Load Times Loadtimes load times what gen game is this?They actully almost make the game not worth playing.

Guns are hardly worth a thing.might as well be hitting them with a nerf gun.

Online TIR finding a match or dropping it before it starts and again LOAD TIMES! Havent co oped so I can't comment on that.

PROS: Killing Zombies! Driving over zombies ,Hitting a zombie with a Yard Dart!
Surviver AI is much improved over part one.

Still time based missions but you seem to have more time inbetween missions for zombie shanagins.

Weapon combining is a fun new feature

did I metions Yard darts oh I did Heh that never gets old.

The game seems to flow better then the 1st one with time management.If you love the first game you will love this one also but LOAD TIMES STINK!
And do we really look that dumb when we jump?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Drowning in its own creativity??

posted by sdlperry (BEALETON, VA) Nov 3, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

12 out of 18 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Let me first begin by stating I am a Dead Rising fan boy. Loved the first with my boy Frank West and highly recommend it to those new to the game prior to picking up this most recent addition. Now to make this quick I'll sum up my experience in a few brief sentences.

Dying over and over again only to restart and spend the next 15 minutes running across zombie covered areas until you get to a person to save. Then in order to save the person you have to run the entire way back keeping up a fast pace in order to have as much time as possible to rinse and repeat. The weapons are awesome as well and highly worth looking into, but again you are under such critical time managment it becomes impossible to investigate your surroundings allowing you the chance to start mixing and matching items.

In the end I stopped half way through the game and returned it. I loved my time with the game and I loved the mutliplayer concept...but in the wake of a new release while playing, this game could not keep my attention and today, back it goes. The game should engage you...not work hard to put you off. I hope you enjoyed and found this review helpful and interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Load. .Load. .Load. . play. . Load. .Load. . Load

posted by AbaWolf (POCATELLO, ID) Mar 30, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is a great idea with the worst execution. There is way too much loading. The save points completely ruin the continuity of the game. Chuck moves as if he is hip deep in mud.

Pros:
Zombie killing action
Combining weapons
Leveling system
Decent storyline
Fair graphics

Cons:
Bad engine
Sluggish avatar
Horrible save system
Too much loading
Time stressed
No time for zombie killing action

This game has the illusion that you can save who you want or not. An illusion that maybe your not following the same path as everyone else. But ILLUSION is the key word. This a large open world filled with great zombie AI that feels like a play ground of mayhem. After playing for a bit I feel like I spilled some milk and Capcom has thrown a bunch of limitations and restictions on my gameplay so I can't have any fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Lotta Old A Little Smidge Of New

posted by TBABY00 (CLOVER, SC) Oct 6, 2010

Member since May 2010

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Nothing is blow me away amazing about this game. The first one was new and exciting but this one is kinda like baking a cake with the same recipe but adding one more ingredient. Nothing special. At least for me. I didn't care for it. And if theres one thing that gamers hate is ESCORTING HELPLESS PEOPLE AND A TIMED GAME. Come on. Who wants to go "oh dangggg I gotta run all the way back three miles through zombies before my kid turns into a one, ohhhhh no I don't have any zombrex....gameover" its just a mediocre game at best. My opinion: if you are a die hard DR fan grab it. If you kinda liked the first don't waste your time

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Will they ever REALIZE, how to fix the game!!!

posted by soco86 (MESA, AZ) Jan 27, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

It would be really awesome to sit there and kill numerous zombies all day with different weapons. This game makes that hard. I like the story line and the setting in the mall, same with the first. Graphics are nice and this zombie game is good, if you could treat it like zombie game. I also do not mind that you have to give your daughter shots every 24hrs. But here are the major issues of the game.

-tons of so called bosses that are extremely difficult to beat with no weapons

-weapons last about 10 zombie kills which is lame, needs to have durability and easier repair shops, but COME ON, the weapons last 30secs slicing through zombies. Even the flipping vehicles blow up after about 100 zombies. Makes the game that much less fun

-there needs to be an auto save or a checkpoint, there kind of is, but that is the main story line. Which that can be a lot of lost play if you were to die.

-One last thing, THE GAME IS FLIPPING TIMED. That is awful, I just want to kill flipping zombies and beat missions, but no. You either have to redo a couple of missions over and over, or a lot of people are going to die. Challenges are really fun, but not timed ones. I feel like the game is one huge race, and you constantly have to move your character around just to try and play without having fun.

Those are the biggest issues that I can think of, graphics are OK, story line is OK. I am just renting this game to kill infected people, and have fun. Get rid of timed missions and just do them when you get to them, make weapons last longer(it is cool that their are bullets, but bats and swords should last awhile, and make it possible to keep the gun and buy bullets), auto save after each rescue or cut scene, and make the boss type people a little easier(or let us have better weapons I should say). If those issues are ever fixed (highly doubt it), it would be a game of the year to me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Passable

posted by Diabollos (CANASERAGA, NY) May 14, 2011

Member since May 2011

9 out of 14 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I originally rented this from gamefly thinking some zombie genocide in splitscreen co-op would be pretty awesome, but alas there is no local co-op mode available to those without xbox live. Many games are tossing out the local co-op in favor of xbox live, but what about those of us who don't have it? But, that aside it was a decent game.

The Pros:
Great graphics, the controls were solid, many different zombie infested locations, and you have the ability to use just about everything as a weapon. They beefed up the follow system for the survivors so that they don't get destroyed by a horde of zombies because of bad AI like in the first, and they also beefed up the shooting mechanics which are way better than the first. Much easier to get a headshot on a zombie now. You can also restart the entire story without restarting your character progress if you screw something up, you will start again from the beginning with your current level, combo cards (used to make stronger weapons) and other items you have acquired.

The Cons:
Time. Simply put, time. Everything and I mean EVERYTHING has a time limit, rescue missions, story missions, everything. You have 72 hours before the military comes to the rescue (in game 1 minute equals about 5 seconds real time do the math) and in that time you have to bring your daughter Zombrex every 24 hours at 7am (which you have to find yourself) rescue survivors, level up, do the story missions, and anything else you want or need to do. There's just not enough time to stray from the deadlines and actually have some fun. The game is about killing zombies in many different and inventive ways as well as levelling up, and the time restraints really take the fun out of doing that. I want to be able to sit down and tear apart some undead flesh with an axe, or shoot a zombie in the head and watch it explode, not franticly check my watch to make sure I have enough time to finish a mission. Because of that I didn't really enjoy this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

8 Reasons I Hate DR2

posted by Ziggers (PUNTA GORDA, FL) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I gave it a shot and beat the game with an "S" rank, but I didn't enjoy it. I only played single player, so maybe multiplayer is more fun. I actually enjoyed Case Zero more than the full game. DR2 reminded me of exactly why I hated the first Dead Rising. This game has several annoying buzz-killers:

Why It Sucks:

(1) There is no time to explore the vast amount of stuff the developers put in the game because every part of the story (including side missions) is time limited. What's the point if I can't explore?

(2) All side-missions are the same. You are either fighting an incredibly overpowered boss or escorting people back to a safe-house. If you hate escort missions like I do, then this is annoyingly tedious. The worst escort mission is when you have to wait for a fat injured guy to slowly walk (at snails pace) the entire way back to the safe-house while he's getting mauled by zombies and you are screaming at your HDTV because the stupid AI gets him stuck on a vending machine. The bosses are very tough at first, until you realize they can be defeated all the same way (stay close to them, run in for a cheap shot and then leap away, rinse and repeat).

(3) Load times are long between areas.

(4) The save system is terrible. If you play this game, be prepared to lose game time because you forgot to save at some point. After you forget a few times, you'll get in the habit of saving.

(5) The map isn't setup in an intuitive manner. Also, if you look at the watch, zombies can still attack you because it's real time.

(6) Chuck drops his weapons while in the middle of doing stupid involuntary actions (puking, coughing, answer a phone call, etc.).

(7) Bosses with guns have an annoying habit of being able to shoot through objects.

(8) When the enemies get "tougher" in the later portion of the game, the joy of killing zombies is lost. At that point, it's just about getting through the last levels without being rushed and killed by a pack of the uber-zomies

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Not what I remembered from the Original DR

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Aug 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Rising 2 feels dated.

It's mechanics and style are uninspired.

The thrill of killing zombies, the only good thing about this game, is constantly being ruined by intrusive and annoying design choices.

Things that ruin this game:
1) There's a time limit. Like if you were playing a time limited demo. Time limit? Really? Does it really need to be there? This isn't a racing game. I'm not shooting for best lap time or highest score. I want to experiment and kill zombies in fun and awesome ways. I realize the first Dead Rising had a time limit, but i was hoping they'd tone it down in DR2. They actually made it worse.

2) The story sucks

3) The silly tongue-in-check tone of the game fails. I know what they were trying for, but like with most Japanese games, there's just something that gets lost in translation.

4) Save points.

This game has co-op, but this doesn't fix the fact there is still a time limit and you can't really feel free to do what you want and have fun.

This game belongs back in 2006. Pass it for one of the other good games that came out around the same time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If You Enjoyed Dead Rising Case Zero...

posted by Franco (DOWNEY, CA) Sep 28, 2010

Member since Jun 2008

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Then You'll Love This Game. The core gameplay is displayed in the Xbox live downloadable content Dead Rising Case Zero. The gameplay hasn't changed much from the first game but there are more save points, so now the game is thankfully less frustrating. Many different weapons are introduced (although some are just for fun and don't do much damage). I won't say more so as to not spoil the game but if you enjoyed either the first game or the downloadable chapter then I highly recommend this game. The graphics are decent and killing endless waves of zombies has never been funner.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dead Rising 2

posted by Slammed72 (LINCOLN, NE) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

17 out of 28 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

This game is awful.

First the good.
You get to kill zombies
you get to combine items
Huge map

Now the bad.
you cant set a waypoint on the map. Really? cmon guys two games in a row with that where i cant set a way point to where i want to go, like to get a certain weapon or to get back to the safehouse.

The bosses

The bosses are next to impossible to beat. I like a challenge but when you have no health items and you cant get any more thats just stupid.

Why are the bosses so fast and you cant seem to even break into anything past a trot or ever get away from them?

Every time you get hit by a boss you get knocked down and then they have their way with you.

The bosses are next to invincible. You shoot them with a shotgun or a assault rifle and their health barely goes down. Again, stupid.
Why can the zombies grab you when your running by or like 5 feet away?

The weapons.

Ok i get that after a few beatings a handbag would be ruined, but a sledgehammer? cmon, and the inability to stock up on ammo is stupid. I should be able to have 200 rounds for an assault rifle or what have you.
The weapon combo's. Why cant you combine whatever you want to make your own weapons? Ok so some wouldnt make sense but so what i want to make my own stuff not just something you came up
with that was a no brainer.

The saving.

I understand not being able to save on a boss but you cant save just in a store or something?

The first one was bad, this one is worse. You get to kill zombies but thats about where the fun ends.

I gave it a 2 because there is so much wrong with it and it could have been so good. A game is worse when it could be something great and it is disappointing just like the first one. Rental only and very frustrating, no replay value aside from killing zombies and maybe collecting all the stuff laying around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Rising 2

posted by JohnnyC86 (PARSIPPANY, NJ) Jun 8, 2011

Member since May 2009

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Good as a co-op game with a few flaws. Such as saving forces your teammate to be kicked out.
Aside from that is what it is...Dead Rising 2 some good fun times as long as your playing it co-op

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dead Boring Too

posted by JebbieSans (LEMON GROVE, CA) Mar 20, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

This game was highly anticipated by me since I love horror survival, zombie games, over the top action and a good storyline.

Despite the weak controls I tried to play through the game just so I could finish the story and see what happens.

Unfortunately I made it as far as the two chicks with swords and had to return the game. Despite the broken control system, despite the unbelievably awkward camera movement, despite the ridiculous time limits and save points, the bosses and mini bosses weren't hard, they were unbeatable. I would be in the middle of a combo just to have it broken, upon the boss breaking my cobo I would fall on the ground for several seconds open for more injury. Th place where you fight the two girls is full of alcohol to replenish your health but if you drink ore than one alcoholic drink you throw up every ten seconds leaving you open to injury. I also saved right before the boss fight as well so it's not like I could try to level up.

This is a zombie game that does everything wrong! There's a time limit, you're constantly trying to look for health, it's near impossible to make it from point A to point B due to 1. All the zombies you have to fight and 2. Your weapons deteriorating.

Could you imagine if in Left 4 Dead 2; your crowbar, sword or bat disappeared after using it against a certain (very low) number of zombies?

I was really looking forward to creating cool weapons. That went out the window when I found out you have to level up to get combo cards. I know whiskey and newspaper make a moltov; why the heck do I have to wait until level 20 to be able to make one?

ONE OF THE WORST ZOMBIE GAMES YOU COULD EVER PLAY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Dear Rising 2 - Morose at best

posted by blah1234 (POWELL, OH) Oct 23, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Rarely do I write reviews, but this game was review worthy in the case that it is so awful I felt like warning other people of it.

First the good: it can be entertaining and funny in a "Zombieland" style way of humorous zombie torture. It can even be fun at times. However, it is not worth one's time.

The game is awful mainly from the perspective of that the gameplay could have passed in 2004. Boos fights feel like something that died years ago in the simple dodging for awhile, then spamming buttons to do damage. There is no block. There are no real alternate attacks. And worst of all, it is incredibly unfair. Bosses have significantly more health and your attacks are mostly worthless. The final boss fight is almost impossible in the typical Capcom way. I can beat most games on hard/veteran and the final boss fight is near impossible even for me. Prepare to smash your controller.

The time limit factor is also a bummer, as you cannot complete all the missions available in the given time no matter how well you plan your routes. The save system is most unfortunate as well. In a lot of cases you have to run through load screens to simply get back to a boss fight. Achievements are also near impossible. I just beat the game and I have a mere 200 from 12+ hours of play.

tl:dr Frustrating, hard achievements, poorly designed, archaic gameplay. Not worth one's time at all.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Comical but Repetitive

posted by ValArbiter (CEDAR RAPIDS, IA) Nov 4, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The first 20 minutes of gameplay are pretty exciting. Running through the halls and beating up zombies with anything you want is just fun. Making a couple of combo weapons and seeing the animation for them is very satisfying. However that's as far as it goes. The storyline is on a strict clock so you feel rushed and pulled. The save points (going to the bathroom) is very different from what modern gaming has been about. Instead of save when ever, where ever, you often find yourself with one health bar left and fighting to get to a save point before you lose the past 30 min of gameplay. This game, living up to Capcom's standards, is very arcady. Not my cup of tea.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A true fan of the first Dead Rising, what happened

posted by talonRC8R (MENDOCINO, CA) Oct 24, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I get the txt update they shipped DR2 to me and I was so happy I actually shouted woohoo in a business meeting!

Sidebar - took over 4 days to reach me though, use to be < 2 days; 2nd time this has happened in a row Gamefly is slipping on shipping.

Anyway, load it in (already played the teaser, nice!) and find myself again (likke with so many new releases) like a kid at Christmas opening the big box to only find it stuffed with handknit sweaters by obscure aunts I've never heard of.

Yeah, disappointed to say the least. Will rate by +/-

+ If you're a fan of the original DR props to honoring the original and keep the game play and feel.
+ New versions of weapons you can create though some are just down right annoying/useless, i.e. the shocker thing you make with a flashlight and Computer console, useless...the spray paint can and cone, useless
+ More than one storyline so if you fail you can continue, though not sure why.
+ AI survivors are more capable now.
+ More things to drive.

- It feels (imho) they shrunk the playing field, closer/tighter maps.
- The original load time to new sections has increased, imho. This was a HUGE minus for me with the original, sad.
- Timers have decreased. IMHO this is because the maps are smaller.
- As original, saves are still not auto and if you've rescued 10+ survivors and die, you're back to the original save. With lower timer, you can't save all the time.
- Terrible interaction with items. This was a HUGE minus in DR and they still chose to not change it, i.e. virtually impossible to hand items to AI while surrounding by items.
- Small items like stools will stop you or slow your forward progress, like in real life <- sarcasm.
- Did I mention load times?

All in all, its a decent game, entertaining but to be honest, I really have to give it a 5 because I feel the dev's just slapped on new skins and added on to something that clearly needed to be honed and ironed out originally. Did I mention load times? Pure frustration!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

campaign is repetitive

posted by notoriousThug (SOUTH LAKE TAHOE, CA) Jun 20, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

it is almost like the campaign reapeats itself a bit and it can be very annoying how the is no auto-saves. messing around can be alot of fun but if you dont find zombrex and cant buy any for your daugher then the game will end and you will have to go to your last save point

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dead Rising 2

posted by Silverfort (CHINA GROVE, NC) Jun 14, 2011

Member since May 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

there really is no difference from the first one besides co-op, rank matches, and combing weapons . which would be cool if there was no time limit on every thing. 12 in game hours went bye in 1 real time hour. i love killing zombies as much as the next dude but i was disapointed . i hated this game for the time limits.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

omg!

posted by namedav (SUN VALLEY, CA) Oct 27, 2010

Member since Oct 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

woww this game was just horrible.

I played it for 3 hours (wasted my life) and am getting ready to send it back right now.

Honestly, people dont bother with this one unless if your some kind of die hard fan of the franchise.

The only thing worthwile would be killing zombies which gets rather old fast.

The main problem was the saving issue that still didn't get fixed from first game. Your going to need to have unbelievable patience to survive this game lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

fun

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) Oct 9, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Fun game, love killing zombies, and the weapon combo system really adds more to the game. The graphics, blood effects and sound are all well done, and fortune city is fun to explore.
The time limit system is awful, why make a game like this? you cant get free roam until you beat the story. Ive barely done the story, I just join co-op games and level my character up. Its a fun way to just mindlessly killing zombies in other peoples game. That is, if any of these nerds would let me join. So many times gamers dont let met join. Man i knew gamers were nerdy and secluded, but they like being seculded in their video games too..nerds!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Average game

posted by Exchrystal (PITTSBURG, CA) Feb 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I'm just going to keep this very brief. This game is a standard hack and slash game with zombies thrown into the mix. There isn't anything that is unique to me and after years and years of zombie games pouring out I expect more than someone to hand me a crowbar, show me a zombie, and just tell me to kill it under a time limit.

Personally I prefer the L4D approach of zombies where you have limited ammo, zombies never end, but there is no time limit. Its good fun.

Also to clarify this isn't a BAD game, its just average. Great to play through and enjoy then just toss back to gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse