Buy Dead Island for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Island

Buy

Used: $8.99

Rent

Keep for: $8.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

16653 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a unique experience, but not for all

posted by Coz (BETHEL, CT) Sep 7, 2011

Member since May 2011

164 out of 183 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

If you are expecting this game to be L4D or Undead Nightmare you will be disappointed. Instead, as others have noted it borrows elements from Borderlands and the like and requires you to level up before you reach the frantic pace of zombie rampage found in other popular games.

In the beginning, you will encounter only the low-level "walker" zombies that are akin to Dead Rising's slow-moving nuisance undead. It is only after leveling up a bit that you encounter the "Infected," "Floaters," "Rams" and more powerful zombies and in greater numbers.

There is a fair amount of strategy involved in this game as weapons deteriorate and break if you continually swing for the fences, requiring you to locate and periodically visit workbenches to repair and upgrade your weapons. Weapons management is definitely part of the game and for some, this will be a turn off. The game is melee-focused so don't expect to find a shotgun around every corner. You can, however, throw just about any of your weapons to keep your attackers at bay.

Health can be found in abundance but cannot be carried with you, so you'll need to high tail it to one when energy levels get low. The exception is the portable medkit, which I have yet to encounter but understand are scarce.

The expansive, open world environment lets players roam where they want to (within reason) and choose which quests they want to participate in, which is nice. A la Borderlands there is much looting to be had and money and weapon upgrade parts are to be found everywhere, although you will need to complete side quests in order to obtain the blueprints required to make use of them.

There are glitches and a list of things I would like to see done differently, but nothing so egregious as to hinder the experience for me (so far anyway). Highly recommended for fans of RPGs who like to kill zombies in their spare time. If you like your undead experience frenzied off the bat you should look elsewhere, but a welcome new zombie genre imo.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Island

posted by SeanLazarus (MIDLOTHIAN, VA) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Island is a good game that takes a bit from Borderlands and Left 4 Dead and made it its own unique FPS Hack N Slash. This game is hard and YOU WILL DIE LOTS OF TIMES so expect that. Majority of the game is hack and slash with occasional guns. I lost quite a few hours caught up in the game , especially the sidequests. Although there are a few glitches here and there and some of the story doesn't seem to fit , it's still a great game to rent ....I don't see this having high replay value unless they add some great DLC ...I've heard of a multiplayer arena coming soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

great play but....

posted by WUNBALL (MAIZE, KS) Oct 8, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

let me start by saying i enjoyed this game and it was entertaining but, there were some set backs. the quality of dead island is amazing. the graphics are crisp and very sharp. the storyline (altough told 1000 times) is different than most zombie apocalypse stories. the multiplayer drop in/ drop out is amazing also. but there are a few things that hold this game back from GOTY awards. the first thing is the controls. while the controller layout is simple and easy to learn, they feel very sluggish and downright unresponsive at times. theres been several occasions where i would completely swing past a zombie instead of connecting a bat with their face. another problem is the interaction with worldly objects. it seems difficult at times to find the correct place on a door for the curser to pop up so you can open it; same goes for entering a vehicle or picking up an item. another problem with tech engine 5 is some minor overlay issues. once, i killed a zombie over a weapon that was on the ground, and i couldnt pick up the weapon because the zombie was keeping it out of my line of sight. next i want to ramble about the cookie cutter side questing. very mundane to put it lightly. i was in a safe zone once and picked up 10 side quests in a row without leaving the area. they feel repetitive and flatout boring at times. most people will get around this by just skipping them (sorry to you completionist that will try to finish all of them) overall the quality and entertainment value of this game are out of sight. as for the problems, i feel that a patch could clear most of them adding more quality and value. of course these are just my opinions. but my suggestion is if you are a rpg/fps fan who enjoys open world games with a lot of quests, and you enjoy multiplayer with friends, rent this game first before buying. once you get past a few minor annoying blips and bumps, i feel you will take very well to the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The good the bad & the ugly

posted by RAM4580 (NEW YORK, NY) Oct 2, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off I would like to start out by saying this game is awesome for those into action and gore,I don't want to sugar coat anything so lets get down to it. on game play out of a 10 I give this game an 8, I would've like to give it more because I had alot of fun with it but there are some issues with the graphics and some glitches that hinder that.

sound and music I give a 9 because with my turtle beach headset I was very afraid and the sounds were very life like from the zombies and the music is pretty good also. I did notice however that when the characters spoke there mouths hardly moved but I was able to override that and focus on the game.

replay value I will give a 7 because although you can play solo and beat the game or cooperatively after you beat the game I am sure you will not want to do it all again even though you remain with all your weapons and level ups. the zombies will be stronger in your second go around shall you choose to beat the game again but I did not want to play through again and btw the ending in this game was bad I did not like it. Some may go a second round at it but I would go with a totally different character but that's just me.

overall score for this game I would have to say for me is 8.3 maybe if there was an online versus mode like in left for dead I would've given dead island a 9 if the game play ran smoothly online that is. I hope they make a part 2 but hope they bring in a versus mode for added replay value this game is a definite rental not a buy especially at 65 bucks.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Overall great co-op game

posted by GameFlyUser69 (ANAHEIM, CA) Sep 19, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If Left 4 Dead and Fallout had a baby, this would be it.

Overall great zombie killing game, recommended to anyone with friends they play with online and anyone who likes to kill zombies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing and surprising

posted by pduff1 (BALTIMORE, MD) Sep 16, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I saw the trailer for dead island at e3 on g4 i was wondering how good it could be, what the gameplay would be like and how they would make it a true zombie survival experience. When the release date was announced for good and I was able to pre order it I immediately did so. The day finally came I picked up my copy installed it and started playing it. I was soon completely amazed by what Techland was able to create the size of the island and level of exploration was amazing as was the level upgrade as well as the ability to mod almost any type ofweapons in a more realistic way than dead rising.

While the game does have many bugs, gltches and technical issues most games have tons on the day of released and most people criticized the game way to harshly because of it, which these issues are easily fixable through the many patches and updates planned for the pc and 36o alike. In the long run the gameplay is addictive and fantasic and will keep your heart racing and on your toes. The worst part part of the game to me is the cheapness of some of the infected , as well as the terrible cutscenes, but these two things do not impact how memorable the game really is once you have played it once.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

dead island

posted by cc13189 (DOWNINGTOWN, PA) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Game is practically resident evil, dead rising, and fallout. Resident evil because u get to shoot zombies with pistols and assualt rifles. Dead rising because u can custom weapons from sledgehammers, knives, machettes, hammers , baseball bat, and ect. Fallout cause the map is like fallout with easy fast travel and the way map is setup. Game is a lot of fun doing the story mode that includes 4 different characters to choose from. They each have there own abilities each better or worse than others. U can drive in the game as well. story mode is great, and u can play over with a diff charactor and do things differently than first time u played. There is side missions u can do for money, xp, or ability to make unique special weapon. Online mode is fun if u play with friends. Four of u or just yourself can play online and go around and either do the story line or side missions. People can join in or u can join someones game. Zombies are slow and walkin at first and there is not many at first but as game goes on it gets harder and zombies get faster and stronger. There's 3 special kind of zombies in the game and big boss zombies. U can level up with xp points and everytime u level up u pick a special trait u can have from pickin locks to being better in combat. All in all its great game and I couldn't put the controller down for a while each time I played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better then any zombie game by far

posted by VisMee (POWAY, CA) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is an action packed zombie thrill ride. The graphics are magnificent and the story is alright. Its not bad, but it could've been better. There are many quests that are time consuming but enjoyable to say the very least. This is a very melee based game. You do get to use firearms later throughout the game, but for the most part, the best weapons are the melee ones. This game is a lot of fun but what annoys me are the driving mechanics. Other then that this game is a must have/rent. The theme song at the start of the game is catchy too. "Who do you voodoo, B!"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Taken By Surprise

posted by Djohns30 (CANTON, OH) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

When I first saw the trailer for this game it was the little girl in the hall way running, i thought awesome game. then i saw the actually game play along with the corny one liners that follow. it made me not want to play it. I gave into not having a game and rented it.

ITS FREAKIN AMAZING
its everything a life like zombie game should be. you can do real time trading with other online players, weapons wear down, pretty much everything you see is useful and the fact that you cant walk 20 yards without looking behind sets the bar for paranoia.

Good Specs
Graphics are much better than what they show in the trailer
Sound effects are awesome
Game play is dmn near perfect
A.I. is basic but, what do you want they're zombies. When they attack though they are non-stop
Modifying and creating new weapons is a huge plus, much better than Dead Rising
Online game play is just plain old fun

Bad Specs
there are so many glitches especially when it comes to the quest guide, the lines sometimes wont show you the correct way to go. A.I. friendly players sometimes lock up or get stuck in the ground.

HONESTLY
Dont let the glitches stop you from playing, its so much fun you look past it. just Buy this game!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BUY but wait for patches.

posted by Shadowkarm (KILLEEN, TX) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

94 out of 111 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

You can choose from 4 different hero's: Throwing expert, Firearm expert, Edge weapon expert, or B weapon expert. You get stuck on a paradise island where the zombie apocalypse has occurred. You run into interesting characters while you try to find a way off the island.

THE GOOD:
- Numerous quests to drain hours out of you life.
- Graphics are good
- 4 player co-op
- Voice acting is good
- dead rising type customization of weapons
- tons of different weapons
- fairly realistic characters
- once you die you are revived about 10 feet from where you died (can be bad at times)
- tons of exploring to do
- and who does not like killing zombies?

THE BAD:
- Fair bit of bugs
- Matchmaking is buggy as of right now
- textures take a while to load
- weapons break after a few hits
- some quests have no indicators of where to go

VERDICT: Wait till some patches are put out to fix the bugs in game. None of them are game breaking but can get annoying. Has great replay-ability

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good... Bloody... Fun

posted by rEmEtAJeRk (HORSEHEADS, NY) Sep 7, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

45 out of 53 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

Dead Island has taken the best elements of Borderlands and Dead Rising and squashed them together in a bloody good first-person killing spree. The drop-in, drop-out campaign is wonderful (minus those creepy kids who jump in, take great weapons and run away) and the missions are really fun (even with all the coughing, crying, whining people that remind me so much of those in Dead Rising). The world is huge and running around, kicking and smashing the undead is brilliant! The game is a bit glitchy right now, and i hope that will be patched soon. Other than a few out of the box flaws, the game is great fun and has hours of replay value.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Second Attempt....I was wrong the first time

posted by RogueWRX (LONE TREE, CO) Jan 18, 2013

Member since Jan 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I rented this game when it first came out, and I completely hated it my first go around. But, my friend just picked it up for me for $10, so I figured I would give it the benefit of the doubt and give it another shot, and I have to admit, I am glad that I did, because now I am loving it.
I will warn you right off the bat, if you are looking or a Left 4 Dead type experience, this game is not for you. That is the problem I had when I first tried it, but going in not expecting that amount of action, it is a lot like Dead Rising meets Fallout.

The Good:
- The visuals are absolutely amazing
- Taking on zombies with a massive arsenal of customizable weapons is just a lot of fun
- Beautifully crafted open world gives you the freedom to do pretty much whatever you want
- Using a bit of strategy to take on multiple zombies (since weapons wear down) makes things interesting
- Online multiplayer lets strangers drop into your game where you are in the story and vice versa

The Meh:
- Driving is a bit awkward
- Weapons wear down and need repairing quite often, not bad, just takes getting used to

The Bad:
- The only thing I don't really like is if you are playing with someone online, and back out, it will set you back a little bit

Long Story Short:
Don't expect constant action like you get in other zombie games, this is a different take on the zombie apocalypse. Like I said, think Dead Rising meets Fallout, and that is more like what you should expect. If at first you don't like it, as I didn't, make a point to give yourself some extra time, you might end up loving it like I do.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Surprisingly Immersive!

posted by twohawks964 (SOUTH OTSELIC, NY) Jan 3, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Zombie games? Never been a fan. Dead Island changed my mind, and that's no small feat. This game is, as my title insinuates, surprisingly immersive, drawing the player into not only the environment but the emotion of the situation. One of the greatest strengths of Dead Island is the people they got to do the voice-over work for the game. You can hear the "infected" coming from a long way off, and I found myself at times frantically trying to pinpoint their approach before getting waylaid! This creates a ton of excitement, and really adds to the tension. I loved the fact that almost everything in the environment is interactive, and there are a ton of side missions to keep you playing for days. Can't wait to check out Dead Island 2!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

crazy adjectives

posted by sdflaco (MONTCLAIR, NJ) Dec 29, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Im a really big fan of The walking dead and this game in some ways felt like how the walking dead looked i greatly recommend this game. The only reason i didnt give it a 10 is because at some points it gets a little glitchy but still one of my fav games of all times so enjoy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Love This Game!

posted by M0m0Gamer (PARKVILLE, MD) Oct 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is so awesome I kept forgetting I was renting it. I love this game. It's challenging, yet not too hard. I love the missions and the way your kept so busy. This game is VERY addicting!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dead Island

posted by JohnnyC86 (PARSIPPANY, NJ) Sep 12, 2012

Member since May 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great, Awesome, Awesome fun with friends, Really long so far aswell! Its such an awesome game I'm surprise it even has the rating that it currently has on Gamefly! I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome!

posted by tradingsouls (SHINGLEHOUSE, PA) Mar 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Loved the plot and the game-play had very few flaws. Maps are HUGE and challenging and a ton of side-missions to keep you busy. I did notice a few glitches here and there but nothing too detrimental. As far as I'm concerned the game was a work of art and some of it's moderate flaws aren't worth mentioning. As with any game there is repetition. However, it never really gets repetitious due to the nature of the game... and that's SMASHING zombie's heads in! Love the game, would recommend to anyone who likes/loves the 1st person genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

excellent game

posted by frakky1976 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Jan 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Awesome game. Missions are good. Everything on the map can be interacted with. very realistic zombie killing, lol GRaphics are amazing. Very good twist to the zombie genre

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

First good game out in a long while...

posted by LotusRacer (MIDLAND, GA) Nov 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

After a series of duds not even worth reviewing (Rage,
Driver SanFran, et al) we finally have a winner here!

I even enjoyed the slow part at the resort. One fun game with the bikini zombies is to chop off one arm, knock them down, watch them get up, chop the other arm, and repeat. The balancing/modeling done seems very correct, as the disabled zombie attempt to get to her feet. I had become an expert at decapitation as well, hitting 2 zoms in one swing at my peak!
After a lot of slicing up chicks, I was feeling guilty (you could easily return the game in for lack of variety at this point--mistake!), then comes the apocalyptic slum phase:

I have never felt so endangered in a video game as in that slum! The quest monitor says 300+meters, and every block is a battle! Sometimes, I would try to sprint past, ending up in an alley with even more zombies! Dead again! (I eventually learned the value of stealth.)
2 nights in a row until 3am!

Oh yeah, the mulitplayer was weird in the resort, so I eventually turned it off, but in the slums it will really come in handy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dead Island

posted by TheMCnader (TAMPA, FL) Oct 11, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead Island is an overall good game. The weapon system is interesting and the 4 main characters kept me coming back to experience their abilities. The only problems are with some of the textures in large areas and a few glitches when moving from co-op to single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Zombie Perfection

posted by jibbsthesquib (LAKE JACKSON, TX) Sep 12, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dead island is everything I could ever ask for in a zombie game with only slight flaws. It has a very exciting and customizable level system, a huge variety and range of weapons, all of which are highly upgradable and somewhat customizable, and absolutely breathtaking scenery. From the moment I started the game to the moment I finished it I felt challenged, excited, and awed at the quality and polish that Techland put into this masterpiece. My girlfriend and I played through the entire campaign together along with other occasional drop in/drop out friends and we were practically unable to stop playing long enough to get a good night's sleep.

One thing in particular that I loved about this game is the scenery. Yes, it starts out in a beautiful island resort, which is enormous by the way, but that is only a small fraction of what this game has to offer. It was almost as if the game read our minds because not more than an hour of game play after my girlfriend and I had a conversation about how the resort area was getting old we completed act I. Act II presented us with an entirely different image and a much more challenging experience. Right as we were growing tired of the Act II location it was over and we were once again thrown into the midst of a beautiful and unique landscape that was one of the most stunning and well designed maps I have ever seen in a video game. Act III reminded me of Enslaved, to those of you who have played that marvelous little gem of a game.

Dead Island is long, and beyond it's campaign length it has the replay value of a Grand Theft Auto game. After having completed the campaign I still want to play it all the time. Driving vehicles around aimlessly or experimenting with different characters or different skill tree decisions are still very rewarding experiences.

My two complaints with this game are that the There and Back Again achievement is glitched and that guns are not particularly effective because of a small ammo capacity.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Brilliant Game, with the smallest blemishes 9/10

posted by PAC_O_MIDGETS (CHICAGO, IL) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I want to get this out of the way. The major critic reviews dont do this game justice. Im not gonna go into specifics but the reviews to follow are the ones on youtube (not ign, gamestop, but ones like eldergeekdotcom, the gamersheep,gametrailers,etc.). I feel this game was "made" byt he dramatic trailer that came out ealier in the year. No body cared about the game until that dramatic trailer, you know which one. But its a shame people didnt care before, this game is pure brilliance.

Im gonna get the bad stuff out of the way. THE BUGS, at launch this was an extremely buggy game, texutre pop in galor, save deleting bugs, mission crippling bugs,etc. I do understand though that these bugs will be patched very soon. For me, i did not run into the bugs that many talk about, but thats still no excuse for them being in a game that was in development for 5 years. Secondly the voice acting is all over the place. sometimes its alright other times its just terrible. Lastly, the character models are "iffy", if veiwed from a third person veiw some actions just dont look quite right.

Now to the good stuff. The raw brilliance that is in the game outweighs the negatives 1,000,000 to one. Im starting to run out of chracters so ill try to make this short. The graphics are drop dead gorgeous. The island looks and feels like a 5 star resort (minus the blood everywhere). The atmosphere is amazing, the gore, oh the gore. The gore is seriously great. The zombie models are made with layers. (flesh, bone, muscles, etc.). so hacking away at a zombie with rip through flesh, go through the muscle, and then break bone. It seriously is next level stuff. The rpg aspects are also brilliant, and the addition of each character having unique qualities really adds to the rpg elements. If i had no word limit this review could go on and on, but sadly it must end. Just simply go and buy this game its one of those rare gems that comes along now and then that you cant miss.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Weekend Game

posted by msdawg81 (Olive Branch, MS) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Dec 2007

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Let's face it. We've all played a lot of zombie games. Some are slower paced survival horror games while others are full of action, but I don't think I've ever quite seen it done like Dead Island. While not perfect, the game does a brilliant job of combining a great setting with entertaining combat and objectives. I've seen some complain about the quests being nothing more than a jumbled bunch of "fetch" objectives, but even if that's the case, Dead Island nearly always threw a few twists at you that kept you on your feet. Here's my breakdown...

The Good
-Very entertaining combat that gave you a variety of ways to dispose of enemies
-Good leveling system with perks that allowed you to mold your character
-Nice variety of game settings (Beach, city, sewers, jungle, etc)
-Interesting story even if it didn't have tons of depth
-Excellent weapon upgrading system
-Overall, a pretty clean game (not many significant glitches)

The Bad
-Save capabilities could be a little annoying. For one, you only have certain areas where you could start your game so if you quit after trekking through a long stretch of zombies, you're going to have to do it all over again when you come back. Also, there were several times where I quit in the middle of a quest and if you do this, your quest progress will not be saved.
-Lack of high powered weapons. It would have been nice to get your hands on an occasional rocket launcher

Overall, a great game and since there isn't a major penalty for getting killed(other than losing some cash), this is an awesome game to plow though during a free weekend or time off from work/school.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing

posted by TheSopranos9907 (COVENTRY, RI) Sep 6, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

44 out of 58 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

Dead Island should not be compared to games such as Dead Rising or Left 4 Dead, It can only be compared to itself. Everything about this game is perfect and fast flowing. This game is about 30Hrs. long without doing side quests. The game map is abouut the size of Fallout games which also uses a fast travel system. This game will keep me occupied for the rest of the year.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by MSgtRhyno (BAYTOWN, TX) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Didn't have any of the problems anyone has been talking about. Game could have been longer, but overall great game to play with friends or by yourself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse