Buy Dead Island for PS3
view large frontback

Dead Island

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.0

8344 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Nice idea, but poor execution mars the fun

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Mar 30, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

17 out of 18 gamers (94%) found this review helpful

"Dead Island" is a pretty neat idea: Take an island paradise, make it an open-world sandbox in which to run around in, and add zombies. Mix in some RPG elements and weapons crafting, and the result should have been a fun game. Sadly, the execution of the final product was not as fun as it could have been, marred by slippery controls, inconsistent enemies, and an endless supply of repetitive quests that are often more mundane than exciting. In the single player campaign, you get to pick from one of four characters (two male, two female) which are more or less carbon copies of each other. You begin in your hotel, where things go very wrong as the undead are on the loose. From there you meet up with various bands of survivors, who put you to work taking care of varying tasks for them. Problem is, they don't bother to help, preferring to let you deal with the zombies, as for some reason you're immune to their bite. That doesn't mean you're immortal: You can die, and you will do so often. And here's where some of the frustration begins to set in, as when you die, you're respawned 5 seconds later. That's not the bad part, however. The bad part is where you respawn, which gets quite inconsistent. Sometimes it will be right where you were felled, and other times it will be far from your objective that you were going for, necessitating a long trek back to where you died, often passed respawned zombies. Yes, they respawn- clear an area out, and when you return later, that same area will be overrun again. There's only an autosave, but you should've had a save anywhere feature in a game like this. The 1st person view, while immersive, doesn't always work well with a camera that can get very unfocused during combat, is in melee form mostly, and the camera makes things harder than they should be. Graphics are fairly good and the voice acting is competent. Your weapons are varied, but they degrade quickly, making you find a place to repair them often. I'd rent this before buying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty Epic

posted by Flip727 (POWAY, CA) Apr 13, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you like borderlands and if you like zombies, you might find this very enjoyable. It kinda has the same concept except instead of just guns, you can come up on machetes, samurai swords, bats, hammers, pretty much anything that you think could be used as a weapon.

Has the same kind of looting concept to it and of course you can upgrade you items to make a dope flaming baseball bats and the such.

I really enjoyed the game, but to be honest I did lose interest towards the end. I recently picked it up again to finally finish it before the 2nd one comes out (which I am going to get).

The multiplayer is fun, and helpful, except it can get a little annoying when the random guy your playing with is doing his own thing and not helping you finish your quests.

The story is pretty much what you'd expect from a title named "Dead Island". Your on a island with a very high class resort and then one day everything goes to fudge. The adventure starts off on the resort, but the island is so much bigger than just the resort and you of course get to explore pretty much all different areas. I won't give away too much, but they're all uniquely different to the horror experience.

All in all this game is pretty freaky to play by yourself. Seriously when hear the infected scream and don't see them, it'll make you mess up your pants when they start attacking you from behind, which in my opinion is fun. I don't play too many survival horror games, but this sure is way more fun than resident evil 6. IMO.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Huge Save Problem

posted by Tek143 (BRISTOL, VA) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

This game is a really good game except that it has a huge save problem the game is supposed to automatically save for you but wont most the time for example spending two hours getting from chapter 5 to chapter 8 an you would think the game would save between there wrong it sent me all the way back to chapter 5 3 times after getting to a higher chapter an playing the next day an having to restart all over again an again this happened in previous chapters to me also.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Re-dead-ative Island

posted by JulieCrashes (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

11 out of 15 gamers (73%) found this review helpful

First it took about a week and a half to recieve the game because both games sent out got lost in the mail or something... The game starts out with excitement and wonder... then about 4 or 5 quests later it because to become quite repetative and sometimes bothersome in the way that killing zombies most of the time is a tedious and very much the same thing over and over.. it took me a day to complete but there were 3 other characters i did not play because i did not feel like playing through it again as someone with slightly different weapon preferences. As a zombie game fan however it was a very well detailed large environment with much beauty and chaos at the same time... I say it is worth a try but not worth owning. This is only my opinion though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Loads of Glitches

posted by keiyume (MELBOURNE, FL) Sep 10, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

64 out of 100 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I very much wanted to like this game, but I kept running across various glitches. At first they were kind of amusing like a wall of blood where the windshield should be (when the windshield was broken). Then they became annoying - sidequests that wouldn't start or end because a person would not get in or out of my vehicle. My truck once disappeared while I went inside a building to grab an item to bring back. Finally, it got to the point where my game just became unplayable. The drop points for items did not appear as expected, which prevented me from completing main quests. I restarted but it did not help and I did not care to restart the game itself. I also noticed that, even though the game claimed it saved, I was moved back to an earlier save "point". You cannot save manually so you have no choice but to trust the auto-save.

I looked many of these issues up and noticed many other players complaining of the same glitches at the same points in the game.

Until my game became problematic, I really enjoyed the gameplay. The characters were interesting and the large array of weapons made killing zombies entertaining. I like the open world environment and the scenery was gorgeous. The missions were diverse so I did not feel the gameplay was tedious. I had problems connecting to the servers so I only played single player. I did notice a few points where the game appeared to lag despite not being online.

Hopefully the developers get some patches out. I would give the game another shot if some of these problems were resolved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

so so game

posted by mpbanks80 (TACOMA, WA) Nov 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I heard great reviews for the game from friends, not realizing that they were only speaking on behalf of the multi player. the game lags and is jerky when fighting off hordes of zombies, and the only good voice acting is from the zombies them selves

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More Buggy Then Fallout New Vegas

posted by Spirituous (EAST STROUDSBURG, PA) Sep 22, 2011

Member since Dec 2008

34 out of 56 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

Deep Silver (the creators of this game) must have steelies the size of canon balls, because that's exactly what you'd need to have to release a retail game in this state.

Multiple game breaking bugs such as:

1. Game will not auto save properly, and your progress is lost. (There is no way to manually save in this game, how insane is that!)

2. Game saves get corrupted frequently. (IE you lose all your progress)

3. Multiplayer games hard lock your PS3, PC, and Xbox360 at completely random times. You have no choice but to power off your system and turn it back on. (Happened over 5 times to me just in one day on the PS3 version)

4. Items disappear from your inventory for no reason whatsoever.

5. NPC's just up and disappear with no warning. You can still hear them, but you can't see them.

6. Screen Tearing, Pop In's Abound, Frame Rate is all over the place (PS3 version)etc.

7. Online Lobby's that do not work properly, game joining function that does not work properly, and massive lag in online games.

How a company can have the gull to put out a product in this condition is beyond me. They clearly rushed this product and did not care about Quality Assurance at all.

And how these mainstream gaming sites like IGN, Gamespot etc can just flat out lie and put up praise for a game full of massive game breaking bugs, while scoring the game high 8+ is beyond me. Did they even play the game, or did they just take money from Deep Silver and took their word for it, that the issues where minor.

Do yourself a favor and do not buy this bug ridden game in it's current form. Do NOT SUPPORT ANY developer who put bug ridden beta copies of their games out, and charge people $60.00 bucks a pop to do the job that their Q&A department should have done.

If you still want to buy the game even with all the issues I've mentioned, then wait until the game is patched up first. Even then I'd suggest renting it first, just to make sure the issues are taken care of.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Not bad at all

posted by Sleepygamer (CONROE, TX) Sep 25, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Really I thought this was dead island whiteout or what ever its called but this game was not that bad I I joyed it it kinda was waking me up with the pop up zombies I could cRaped myself but I didn't anyways it was a great game give it a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Do not judge a game based on the trailer

posted by Joenin (TACOMA, WA) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

short review
this game was glitchy, repetitive, long, frustrating, non revolutionary, hack and slash with a dash of gun play in a sandbox.

For a longer review read below.
The hype of the trailer from E3 created expectations this game could not deliver. Although Dead Island is not a revolutionary game, simply adding features from previous blockbuster games (fallout 3 and left 4 dead) does not create a solid hit. The amalgamation of different games combined into one resulted in an average forgettable game. From rendering issues to the inability to complete missions when items were obtained, there were so many glitches it became frustrating to play.

The seemingly endless missions playing errand boy for the hoard of helpless npcs became repetitively tiring and dull. The majority of the game comprised of quests where you are forcibly conditioned to open everything you can to search for items in hopes you will be rewarded with that essential item you need for a weapon modification. If you are a player who thrives in treasure hunting/looting and playing fetch this game is for you. Otherwise, stay clear of side quests if you just want to finish the game.

Dead Island focuses on attacking with up close and personal bash and slash methods, going against conventional zombie defensive tactics by attacking from a distance to prevent from getting bitten. That being said, guns in this game do not play a great factor against zombies.

One issue about the game which bothered me was the weapons selection system. Picking up new weapons inadvertently changes your current use weapon to the weapon you just picked up, thus making it painstaking to go to the menu repeatedly to set back your configuration to your weapons of choice. In a sense this forces the player to examine the statistics of the new weapon, however in later stages of the game it just gets annoying.

Overall, this game frightening enjoyable at first, but after the 4th hour I was playing like a zombie.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Unfinished cavalcade of booty

posted by Mr_Fergus (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Apr 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Dead Island takes some of the best things going on in the game industry right now (Open worlds, leveling systems, on-the-fly online co-op, weapon customizing, zombies!) and manages to combine them in the most unenjoyable way conceivable.

GAMEPLAY- Pretty standard affair. You control one of 4 characters each with different specialties in a first-person style melee/shooting adventure involving doing various quests for the poor blokes you meet. Though controlling your character isn't a problem, things turn sour when interacting with anything else comes to play. The "aiming" system is to inconsistent for precision fighting, melee combat (your main option for dealing with enemies) is a chore, and the leveling system seems to serve no purpose other than to force you to constantly look for higher-level weapons.

STORY- There is a lot going on in the story. A struggle for survival, the concept of the needs of many vs. the needs of few, human nature when pushed to it's limits. Unfortunately, the story and characters themselves do a great job of ensuring that you won't care even the slightest about any of it. None of them (main, side, background, villian, etc..) are memorable or slightly likable.

NOTABLES- There are two glaring flaws which caused me to immediately lose all interest in finishing this game.
1. The inventory system is buggy as sin. Picking up and managing consumable weapons in particular is frustrating in a manner that's clearly not intended for the final product.
2. Multiplayer as well as it's effect on your single player game is sloppy beyond belief. First, you can't decide who you join games with. That person has to be at the same relative spot you are in your game for you to join them. Second, wherever they are in there missions when you join them, that's where you are now when you leave their game and there's no way to go back.

OVERALL- The most enjoyable thing to come from this game is that trailer they released months ago. Go watch that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Revival of Saturated Zombie Genre

posted by UkManiak (ROCHESTER, NY) Sep 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2010

12 out of 20 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I am not exactly certain when Zombies became such a huge factor in the gaming industry, my guess is Resident Evil, but not many developers out there have really done a good job with the concept. The Zombies would always be too slow, or too numerous, and you would feel a bit frustrated at the pace of that game. Techland has really done a fantastic job at smoothing those rough experiences in the past out and made one of the best Zombie games I ever played.

Open world elements are what shines for me in any genre. I love exploring, finding stuff, upgrading, and all while kicking Zombie tush all over the island!! LOVE IT! Not only is blood flying all over the place, but every now and then you get to stop and look and say wow.

You have the option to choose four characters each with their own mini backgrounds and abilities. Throwing, Guns, Sharp, and (B)lunt Objects. Any character can utilize any weapon, but their are unique skill sets for each person that amplifies your weapon of choice. The weapons in game can be a bit confusing at first, but you will be falling in love with a the few that matter to you in no time and modding them to obliterate dead sacks of fleshies all up and down that white sand!.

Many, many side quests will keep you busy for a long time, though the main story kind of lacks in any direction. You are mostly just helping people out in both situations. Single player is where you will find your best experience with the game, getting online with three friends is a good time and laughing while you stomp Zombie face together kind of takes away from the scare. When you are alone, you appreciate the Zombie AI a little more, and will humbly be knocked on your backside on more than one occasion.

All of the flaws in this game in my opinion are personal grievances that should on no way stop you from renting this game. Yes it freezes, yes it glitches, but if you let this game pass you by because of popular review, you will Om nom your own brain for sure.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A good game with faws

posted by TehPWNZOR (VERNON, VT) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Nov 2009

14 out of 24 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

This game was simply wonderful and at times terrifying. the graphics are on the better end and the animations are even better then that. the gameplay is hard to get tired of and i doubt i will anytime soon. the only problem with this game on the ps3 is the online save glitch that kicks in about half way through the game. the trick is to put the game on single player and stay off of the playstation network. once that new patch is made hopefully it will be solved. HAPPY ZOMBIE HUNTING YA GORE CHASING GAMERS

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I looooove this Game

posted by Zombiekilla2099 (BARNHART, MO) Oct 12, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 15 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I really expected a lot out of this game and I got what I wanted. First of all I love the bios of the 4 heroes. I play as Logan mostly because he looks like a stud. I enjoy the vehicles which allow a quick drive to your next mission. I also like the fact that there are varied zombies of different difficulties. I all in one just love the game. It's what I look forward to all day at work. I really don't want to sen it back but moneys tight right now so that is a reason I'm using gamefly in the first place.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Disappointing Island

posted by Bizar (LOS ANGELES, CA) Oct 22, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm a huge zombie fan..so when I saw the trailer to dead island It was hard for me not to bust a nut in my pants. When first playing this game.. It was pretty dope, couldn't get passed getting krappy weapon after krappy weapon tho..and when you finally get guns.. They do so little damage it's not even funny. The health system is a joke..so having to shoot a zombie 20 times IN THE HEAD just for another lame zombie to come up outa no where and smack you a few times and just die. The story is sooo whack too. Like wtfff. Online is more fun however...still not enough to make me say it's a good game. I hate to say it's a bad game..but I can't wait to send it back. This game is undeserving of it's kick asss trailer

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A Bloody Good Time

posted by McPhaddie (OMAHA, NE) Oct 4, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

It's a game that you will get suckered into and enjoy. The side quests are lame, but the game play is what makes this game tick. Running over, kicking, shooting, and enjoying many a kill, make this a good romp. The graphics are pretty good, but the variety of areas you come across doesn't make for that much change. It's the same thing everywhere you go. Find the infected and kill them. They respawn and it's the same thing. The variety of the undead doesn't really change. They level up with you, so it keeps you on your toes. Which makes things more challenging and sometimes frustrating. The infected they have are fun though. Creating and using new weapons is fun. Game play mechanics are pretty good, but can get glitchy at times. It's an all around fun play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Has good potential...

posted by wulf90 (LEXINGTON, NE) Apr 28, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game has quite a bit of potential to be a great game but has some definite issues that make it nearly unplayable at times. The biggest problem is that the zombies are way too overpowered and you and your allies or questions mates that lead you are too underpowered. The best example of this is in the much later quest 'pure blood' where you and the shaman ope have to travel to his sacred burial grounds where you need to get an item are at. On the way there you have to kill a highly overpowered group of about 6 walkers, a thug, and a butcher. I'm currently on my 127th retry (I counted specifically for this reason) and still cannot get past all of them. Mainly because if you kill any one of them they come back as opposed to staying dead on the next try if you or the shaman dies. This has made the game extremely frustrating as well as many other times where there are numerous occasions where I die or the quest is failed. Hopefully this is either remedied or at east taken note of. Buyers beware

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Worst game ever!!

posted by steelchair7 (OLYMPIA, WA) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I tried to enjoy the game, the graphics are cool. but the limitations made the game weak, kick with one leg, swing with one arm LAME. And I couldn't finish because when I gathered all supplies for a challenge the people would not talk to me to help me progress and that is why I give this game a total of 4/10 because I found this game LAME.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Interresting story, too much giltchs

posted by BlackSabre500 (SLIDELL, LA) Nov 20, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Like always something is too good to be true, i have to say the giltching was the major problem of the entire game not the story. i had my shares of giltchs but i believe these were the worse, i freeze up during car travelin in the resort in multiplayer and today (11/20/11) i was having a hard time getting on my friends game, and i heard about the blood on the window even though the window was smashed, it happend to me as well. The auto save was annoying, but i never lost anything during it (cause i tried to beat it quick), and i never have the person or survivor was missing but you can hear him or her. all in all it was a great game till the last boss (i'm not going to spoil it). i would not recommend buying it, but renting is alright.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

BORING!!!!

posted by jeryst (FALLS CREEK, PA) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Aug 2008

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

This game started out to be fun, but after you play for a while, you realize that it is just the same thing, over and over again, and it quickly becomes very boring. You have to search everyone you kill because you need money to upgrade and repair your weapons. The problem is, you can never seem to get ahead because the weapons cost so much to fix after only a few swings, that you are constantly spending all of your money on repairs. The side quests are pretty sad, and sometimes result in very little reward. Guns are available, but they are not very effective, and your ammo is shared between guns, which can be very misleading. For example lets say you have two guns that both use the same ammo. When you look at the guns, they each show six bullets, so you think you have twelve shots, but you dont. In reality, you have six bullets that can be used in either gun. A small pet peeve, but it can be important at times. The graphics are not that great, and there are a lot of visual glitches that just spoil the effects. The environment is not destructible, which really takes away from the fun, and another thing I didnt like, is that resources disappear if you dont take them within a certain time. For example ammunition. You cant carry just ammunition, so you need to have a gun, but once the gun is full, you cant carry the extra ammunition, so you need to leave it lay there. Once you empty your gun and come back, the extra ammunition is no longer there. That just plain stinks. I sent the game back after a few hours of game play, and I think the company is capable of better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Gets old fast.

posted by Ragnork58 (VILLA PARK, IL) Nov 7, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The game while it brings an interesting concept to the survival horror genre, the game seems to get old very fast. Up until you start to constantly come across the Thug type of infected, and the analog controls seem too confusing. Overall its a decent game, hoping the sequal fixes some of its problems.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

i wouldnt suggest it.

posted by VOTgAnGaman561 (JUPITER, FL) Nov 3, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the game is entertaining is your high but boring when your sober, so strait edge games aviod. after a couple missions, side quests only involve geting alcohol for people. so thats pretty boring.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Dead GAME Island

posted by Matillex (BELFAST, ME) Oct 16, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I'm not even joking, I spent $72.98 on this for a pre-order at gamestop. And what do I get? An unfinished, zombie overpowered, boring, and horribly voice-acted adventure. This game is more buggy than frikin' Sonic the Hedgehog, Deep Silver has failed this game on us. And now, I know I can't get my money back. I could've spent that $72.98 on Batman. But no... I wasted 20 hours of my time running through a horribly unanimated and lazy excuse for a game.

DO NOT PICK THIS UP.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Dead Boring

posted by theSchnoz13 (NORTH SIOUX CITY, SD) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I know there are plenty of people who see this game as outstanding, and I can appreciate that. I personally found this game to be boring. It's possible that I would have found it more enjoyable had I selected a different character, but I just couldn't quite get into it.

I chose the asian chick that was good with sharp weapons and after about 3 hrs I shut if off and returned the game. If farming and killing things is all you look for, this game is great, if you're looking for a little more substance like Resident Evil, try elsewhere.

I'll part on this, I love the fact that the game is an open sandbox zombie killer. The fact that you had a time limit in the Dead Rising 2 game killed it for me.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

You CAN'T save on your own, Game Save Data Corrupt

posted by Thanos777 (MESA, AZ) Oct 6, 2011

Member since Aug 2006

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

If it were possible to give you guys a ZERO, makers of "Dead Island," I would give you a score that low JUST for the horrible Game Save Problem.

WHAT WERE YOU GUYS THINKING, NOT ALLOWING US TO MAKE MULTIPLE SAVES OF OUR OWN?

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Unfinished Game Not Worth Retail Price

posted by dewshasaurus (SNOHOMISH, WA) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Was really excited for this one, mainly because I figured RPG didn't just mean you buy junk and get experience points for doing gopher missions that you're suppose to consider as a "plot." But that's exactly the kind of fun you do in this game!

Another example of business degrees shortening the release date to sell copies. This game feels so hollow aside from pressing the execute button on zombie heads. The creativity comes in what angle you smash their heads with. The map is boring aside from pretty lighting (good for screen caps!), but seeing a pretty environment is not enough to make up for a lack of any captivating content and dreadfully dry dialogue. The skill trees are trivial, basically just slight stat increases and instant kill abilities (as if it wasn't easy enough).

Co-op is a nice option tho, definately makes quests easier and the shame of how you spent your $60 less obvious.

Overall my opinion is this game sucks, and buying it promotes more abuse in the industry. Would rather have a new company invested into than see a sequel of this garbage.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse