Buy Dead Island Riptide for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dead Island Riptide

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.0

1824 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

If you liked the last one you will like this one.

posted by mattklein209 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Aug 2011

21 out of 30 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I feel like half of the reviews on this game are way too harsh and decided to review it myself.

I have only gotten about 2 hours of gameplay in however i feel like this is enough to write a initial review.

It has a good amount of weapons so far and the gameplay is very similar to the first, which is not a bad thing in my case i enjoyed the 1st one. If you are expecting an entirely new game this is not for you but if you want a reason to play dead island again because you enjoyed the 1st one this is your game.

Very fun with friends and the join online player around your area is a great way to put you in a game with another person or two.

I never do reviews but this game is honestly not a 1 rating left 4 dead 2 got great rating however it is the same thing with different weapons and a few new zombies. (still like it though)

All in all if you want a good zombie game to play online with friends or by yourself this game is fairly enjoyable if your unsure about it look at some gameplay and decide if its right for you, don't listen to these rando's giving it low ratings because it is the same thing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

YaY!!!!

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Apr 23, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

14 out of 25 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I loved the fist one and this is more of the same. I imported my character over and am having a blast whacking zombies. It is exactly the same as the first one only in a different location so if you liked or loved the first one, then you know what you will be getting into.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Another Clinic on How NOT to Empower a Player

posted by RainDragon (MUNFORD, TN) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

12 out of 24 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I'm going to get the 'good' out of the way fast, because the rest of this isn't going to be pretty. It's a good looking game, the weapon impact is nice, and leveling up... happens.

That's it.

The problem with Dead Island: Riptide is exactly the same problem the original Dead Island had: The more you level up, the less powerful you become. Only it's so much worse in Riptide because the game doesn't let anyone start at a level lower than 15. That means there's no beautiful glimpse at how amazing the game could have been with proper enemy scaling. It's ironic, because the first game became horrible around level fifteen as well.

Let me try to explain. Like in most other RPGs out there, as you level up, enemies level up with you. The problem here is that even the lowliest of zombies can flail you to death in a matter of moments once THEY hit level 15 (so, in Riptide, from the start). The original Dead Island was only ever playable because it took so bloody long to hit level fifteen, in Riptide, the BS is instant. In a way this game is the perfect example of what made the original so terrible in the stretch. There's nothing like spending fifteen points worth of perks on things like health, criticals, melee power, and stamina only to miss three swings with a bat and get scratched to death by two zombies over the course of ten seconds.

Gone are the days when you could kill a basic zombie with a well aimed hit to the head. Now they are all tanks, there's no hope at all of Riptide being any fun. It truly is the absolute worst case of leveling up in any game I've ever played... and I've been gaming since the atari 2600. The saddest thing is that this problem was KNOWN to the team as they went in to make this sequel, and it was completely ignored.

Only play this if you have no problem with feeling absolutely no sense of empowerment as you 'progress' in the skill trees, and absolutely LOVE joyless grinds and NEED to see the story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Apparently you can polish a terd

posted by denzo45 (ASHTABULA, OH) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Having played the original game, and comparing it to this, I never recall the first one being this bad. The controls are sluggish to respond, as is moving around, driving, running, etc. The combat is flawed, you may swing and miss a zombie constantly. The zombies are extremely overpowered, with a solo zombie possibly killing you with two hits. The graphics, while very nice, seem uninspired. There isn't a central theme to tie it in like Banoi hotel. Also, I began the game with sound, and it cut out 5 minutes in, and I verified it was the game by playing a movie and game trailers. This happened each time I reloaded my game. The checkpoints were terrible as well. I had to run out of an area to get the next checkpoint moving. Characters would stand there and speak the same words until I left the area to trigger the next part. I really never had a game infuriate me as much as this one, and I loved the first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Scary in SP fun in MP

posted by VOLtRON119 (LAKEWOOD, CO) May 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is very fun when playing with friends and at times very tense and scary when played alone. Game has receive alot of negative press and it is not deserved.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A Very Average game

posted by JRheuport (SHAWNEE, KS) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is the same as the first just a few minor changes and a different location. I felt extremely bulky walking around the island. running into everything and constantly being hit from the back by a horde of zombies. I did really like how you had the same character selection as in the first, because Sam B is a boss. Its a decent game but i really much enjoyed the first far more than this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

pass on this poor excuse for a game 3/10

posted by darkabk (CONCORD, CA) May 26, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I could understand if this was a dlc for the first game but same characters (players) just new jungle island.

If a company makes a sequel you think they would fix the flaws from the first game or at least fix some of them in the patches but this is worse than the first game. importing your character from the first game is a joke and has no incentives.

this is another great example of a company just trying to save as much money and make even more.

same enemies as original
same sound and npc voices
lags with only a group of 6 zombies
poor controls and responsiveness

If you enjoyed the first one then replay the first one just skip this one all together

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FUN WITH FRIENDS, BUT WITH MANY QUIRKS...

posted by TheSnowGator (OMAHA, NE) May 11, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dead Island Riptide is a minor improvement over its predecessor. It still provides the same fun but with more glitches and annoyances.

GRAPHICS: From a distance, the landscape can look pretty, but up close it can look pretty bland. The character models and mechanics are outdated and will remind you of an arcade shooter. The biggest problem of all is the FPS. Especially when zombies explode or you are fighting in water, the FPS will DROP substantially. 4/10

GAMEPLAY: The game is easy to understand for newcomers to the franchise; for veterans, it will feel like second nature. Although I did not find any major issues, the only annoyance is the movement of your player. Sometimes, the movement felt slow and mechanical, especially for John since he needs to be up close and personal. 7/10

STORY: Honestly, this is one of the worst and cheesiest storylines I've experienced. If the character models didn't remind you of an arcade game, then the story line will. 2/10

SOUND: Not bad, and the zombies sound pretty scary. There are a few sequences where the music really adds to the mayhem, and it is especially fun if you play with friends. 7/10

OVERALL: A lot of people, especially franchise vets, were probably expecting a much better product. Considering this is the last and true year of the current gen, the state of this game is underwhelming. However, it is really fun when played with friends, and that's what this game banks on. This is your quintissential 'rentable' game; it is not going to blow the socks off your feet, but it is going to get the job done in the sense that you will have a good time with your friends, but you won't miss it (or finish it) once its time passes. 6/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, Solid Game

posted by flyboy8498 (ELIZABETHTOWN, KY) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Aug 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game is seeing way too harsh of reviews. First let me caveat this with: I thought the first DI was only OK. I didn't buy it, but enjoyed it as a rental

The graphics are very solid, they are nothing extremely gorgeous but they aren't 2010 graphics either. They are what you expect with 2013 graphics engines. The game shows its real umph in the graphics department with the dynamic rain. Although I have to say that when it does rain, it is much too short.

The gameplay is what you expect from Dead Island. It is much the same from Dead Island 1. The only difference is there is more weapons, and another character to pick from. The great thing is that you can import your character from Dead Island 1, if you saved it. You start at level 50 (I believe) if you do that, instead of 15. There is a leveling system, which can become very addictive to see your character level up. The problem with it is much the same with DI1. Did you sink your XP into the Survival tree? Great, it pretty much did nothing for you in terms of gaining life. The combat tree is a little better and if you use the Fury button that tree is also better.

The music is very nice for the setting, it is never repetitive and it makes it feel like you are in a zombie survival game/setting. It keeps you in the game in many ways instead of making you push the mute button.

The B-movie story is OK. It's nothing super special. It works though. The collectibles gives you more insight into the story too. And they also work.

The siege/Den Defense is absolutely the most unstable part of the game. If you glitch or crash, it will be in the den defense/siege missions. Also dying in the den defense can be a mission restart since your punished with a 7 second delay which can easily kill a character you need to keep alive.

All in all, this is a fun addictive game that has nothing special to it. If you enjoyed DI1, you'll enjoy DI2. I'd recommend renting it first though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

i heart dead island!!!

posted by VideoGamedDante (DALLAS, TX) May 11, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

this game was awsome i cant wait till they make the third dead island game!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

FAVORITE GAME THUS FAR

posted by gwacstax (FLEMINGSBURG, KY) May 7, 2013

Member since May 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you like the original dead Island game you're really going to love dead Island riptide it has stunning graphics and they fixed a few bugs in it I give this game a 10 out of 10 for overall all performance I hope you all enjoyed this game as much as I did

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great stuff...

posted by TheMI8tyB0osh (GLENDIVE, MT) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

I love this game, RPG & zombies, well balanced, looks good, plays well. Wasn't sure I would like it..the DI game I played a little..for some reason loving this more...good stuff.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Same as first

posted by GameBulldog (CUPERTINO, CA) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

If you enjoyed the first Dead Island then you will this one. Only problem is that the game is no different then the first. Graphics are the same, buggy, same play style, settings the same, etc but I guess what is cool is that you can import your old character into this one. (People would rage if you couldn't. I considered this to be like a dlc, a very big one lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Anthentic

posted by GamerLMG (CONNELLSVILLE, PA) May 8, 2013

Member since May 2013

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

very good game loved it but some akward moments of no complete nonsenes (wich is fun) but heres the real problem: lighting issue,face textures,radio issue,sound bug,weather bug, and not a bug gut the champion zombies all look the same except the one with the mask (spoiler) who looks like jason whom is in the game and crazier than ever. Now the wish list dual wield: guns(nno borderlands 2 joke applied), swords,hammer,claws. Thank you for your consideration and time like and goodnight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dead Island DLC?

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 16, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Riptide is EXACTLY the same game as the original. NOT A SINGLE ASPECT OF GAMEPLAY HAS CHANGED. Let's clear the air here. But that isn't necessarily a bad thing if you enjoyed the original sleeper hit game like I did. Consider Riptide as 4-5 expansion DLCs.

Literally the only additions to Riptide are a new character who focuses on hand-to-hand combat and a new ability to press X to jumpkick enemies if you are on higher elevation. Otherwise, it's as if Riptide was DLC instead of a new game altogether. Oh wait, that's exactly what it was and is... Riptide is also about half the length and size of Dead Island in terms of environments to scavenge and explore, and I found that to be a huge setback.

However, with NOTHING changing, comes the bad parts. Riptide is still infected with all types of bugs, lags, glitches, freezes, and losing character data plagues. It may even be buggier than before, and expect constant lag if you're playing with 3 other friends online. But the problem is that the game's best experience is yielded when you play online, so it's a big issue they will need to resolve somehow in future patches.

I once again became a video game couch zombie, addicted to looting every little object and leveling my character up to 70, after I imported my save from the last game at level 54. I was disappointed to see no new skill trees for any of the previous 4 characters or no change in weapon crafting or design. There may be a few new crazy blueprints for weapons, but I didn't notice. I felt like they were all electric in type, which really bugged me.

But once I got my inventory stuffed with Katanas, Wakazashis, and Machetes, the slicing of zombie limbs doesn't get much more satisfying than this. I would still totally recommend playing Riptide because it's still crazy fun even in all its glitchy glory. I was hoping for a more polished product though...

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dead island riptide

posted by darkrose (CHICO, CA) Apr 30, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

well the games good for what it is but its lacking seeing as the whole game is based of a computer sytle system. anyway the good side is its weapons and new stuff in general make the game more fun and more action then just watching your back and stressing out..

all in all i give it a 8 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

RIPTIED

posted by mrbigblock (LAS CRUCES, NM) May 10, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

its the funnest game ever i gve it a 10 you really should buy it even you would love it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

More of the same

posted by Adder0 (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 28, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

it's a nice expansion, However it felt like too little too late for me. When a new a new addition to a game releases, you usually expect something different. Well you will have none of that here. If you want more dead Island. The game most definitely delivers. I really don't see the point of this game. I don't know why it couldn't have been Dlc. However, it does focus on co-op game play which is always a plus for me. I would have liked to see more unique weapon mods.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Boring zzzz

posted by Mike3083 (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Sep 2008

3 out of 11 gamers (27%) found this review helpful

This game is so boring all you do is fetch this fetch that for every mission at a point it gets bored fast, zombies are over power and weapons are aways breaking oh and why lose money when we die when this game is base on using money to repair weapons dumb lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

good game

posted by SgttTrey904 (JACKSONVILLE, FL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 9 gamers (22%) found this review helpful

i like the game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Aboslutely terrible

posted by Flegnarg (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 25, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

I did not like the first one, and was not expecting to like this, but come on. I was able to play Dead Island for a few days until I got bored, but with this one.... I've spent more time sending a message to my friends telling them not to get this garbage than I have actually playing the game. I should play more, but no.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Second Verse..Same as the 1st

posted by jaguar7676 (TITUSVILLE, FL) Apr 9, 2014

Member since Nov 2004

Attacking zombies still feels wildly inaccurate, slow, and very dull, making it difficult to truly master. The result is that the combat quickly deteriorates into a repetitive mess as you kick a zombie backward, flail randomly at it, back off while it attacks, and then repeat the whole process ad nauseam. A stamina bar ensures you can't just spam an attack--particularly when you're using heavier weapons that drain the bar faster--but rather than giving the game a more realistic feel, it just further enhances the dull combat.

The vast majority of the zombies you face attack in the same way, rushing towards you until you knock them back with a kick to start the dull attack process. There are some special zombies that remain unchanged from those in Dead Island, including charger, spitter, and boomer types; they have slightly different movesets here, but you end up tackling them in exactly the same way, because your options are so limited. For a game so focused on combat, it's galling that you spend most of your time wanting to avoid zombies, just so you can spare yourself the resulting tedium.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sucked

posted by samsatanovsky (JEFFERSONVILLE, NY) Feb 26, 2014

Member since Oct 2013

I couldn't get passed the first 30 min I was so bored. i remember the first game being so much fun but this is exactly the same game. Have some originality and huutspah.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The game was rated

posted by PerezButters (NIXA, MO) Jan 5, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

Dead Island Riptide was a good game as its predecessor Dead Island, but it felt as if i was playing the game backwards to what Dead Island was. (basically its like playing Dead Island just backwards.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

S.O.S.

posted by darthpat1977 (GUNTERSVILLE, AL) Dec 28, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

Was unable to finish game due to crashing during hub defense. Waste of time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse