Buy Dance Central for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Dance Central

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.9

3099 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A bit of a learning curve, but a riot.

posted by FawksHawk (PITTSBURGH, PA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Dec 2007

21 out of 21 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Dance Central came to the Kinect booked as a preteen christmas gift, and has instead becoming the Kinect's shinning jewel.

On its most basic level, the body tracking for Dance Central is near perfect. It is forgiving on some of the most complicated dance moves, but will still force you to do something at least mildly similar to what is displayed on screen by tracking your arms and legs.

The song selection is fits the game wonderfully, and everyone will find at least one track they'll get off the couch for.

Perhaps its only real draw back is how complicated it can be even on its lowest level. A walk through of the song before you play is almost a requirement to hit the moves with any regularity. This is fine for solo play, but could really kill the party atmosphere it's seems so clearly ready for.

All in all, it's a winner. If you have a kinect it is the only current must own.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The best game for kinect

posted by shywalk (FREDERICKSBURG, VA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I love kinect its better than wii and that cheap version of the wii the ps3 move.But just like wii it has lame games.This is thus far the only game that actually amazing to play for kinect.The moves arent stupid like other games, they actually match the songs.Only down sides are..2 player mode sucks and it needs way better songs for download..if you have kinect and dont have this game then you are missing out !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dance Central = Awesome!

posted by bambam27 (BOILING SPRINGS, SC) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My main reason for buying my Kinect was for Dance Central. Boy, was I pleased. Dance Central is the perfect game for the whole family. I'm more of an RPG/action gamer, but I have to admit that I can not get enough of this game. My wife loves it and she hates videogames. Even my 6 year old son loves the game. (In the middle of each song is a 10-15 second 'freestyle' session where you can dance and then watch a video of yourself dancing. My son can't wait for the freestyle session so he can jump around the living room, than watch himself. I use that time to catch my breath and rest.)
The game could also be advertised as an exercise game (you will break a sweat!) The Kinect sensor follows your moves exactly and the on-screen instuctions are easy to follow. The play list is a nice mix of old and new school songs. Add to that the fact that you can download new songs from the Xbox marketplace and you'll be having fun dancing for a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Dance game ever

posted by Ninjalord (BIDWELL, OH) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2009

23 out of 26 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Ok, i was never one for DDR, cost to much to get all the junk to play and i was never good at it. Well this game has changed my mind. It rocks. Unlike the DDR made on called Dance Masters, this game dance central is so much easier to get into, You follow the steps with your body and it registers perfectly. The songs are famous, from lady gaga to soulja boy to classics like funkytown. To the techno song Satisfaction. This game i can say i plan on keeping. If you dont wanan buy it you have to rent it at the very least.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dance Central Review

posted by FallCry3z (WOODLAND, CA) Jan 5, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

As to most people when they've seen the game for the first time, they may say its stupid to dance around randomly like a fool. don't believe them. Dance Central is the best music game so far that requires you to not just focus on one part of your body, but you entire body.

Graphics: Graphics in the game are very beautiful, both the surroundings and characters. I don't see how the graphics can get any better for a music game. Clothing and accessories on the characters flow smoothly without any glitching what so ever.

Gameplay: Gameplay really delivers for Dance Central. It pays close attention to every move you do whether your doing it right or not. They have ALOT of dance moves for you to do, depending on the song and difficulty. The moves are pretty fun to do. They even got moves that were used back in the day. I'm pretty sure your parents can remember them. The only problem I've noticed is the camera angle. The camera is faced directly in front of the dancer, to be able to see his body and limbs. when your introduced to a dance move where it requires your whole body to move around, you intend to get confused to what limb to move before the next one goes, especially when you need to rotate your limb backwards, and you don't even notice it. but eventually you'll get use to it. But whats up with no campaign. Whats a game without a career mode?

Multiplayer: For a music game you'd expect it to have multiplayer. Well for this game, your out of luck. Actually it does supply it, but its local. I was also disappointed that there wasn't any online multiplayer, This was a big minus for me.

Final Verdict: This has got to be the best Music game that has been released for the Kinect. From the beautiful graphics, to the energetic gameplay. Despite maybe problems learning some of the dance moves and limited multiplayer, i highly recommend this game to any one that has Kinect.

+Awesome Graphics
+Energetic Gameplay
- No Campaign
- Limited Multiplayer

8/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great workout

posted by snookintom (FORT MYERS, FL) Feb 5, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Wow,if you want t get a low impact workout and get in shape this game is for you.This is the best kinetc game I have played to so far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Dance Central on XBOX360

posted by gamerleah (TAYLORSVILLE, NC) Jan 17, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was skeptical about Dance Central until I played it. I enjoyed doing the dance moves and liked the way they broke them down until you got them. After you learned the moves for each dance you could select whether you wanted to perform or have a dance battle. There are 3 different levels to play at "easy", "medium" or "difficult". Our entire family took part of playing this game. The music was great and had real dance moves, not something made up. I liked that all of your body was used not just your feet. The dances were very challenging. I used to watch my son jerk and now I know how as well.

I am definitely going to buy this game!!! I recommend it for anyone who likes to watch dancing or likes dancing themselves. Its a great game for the entire family!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game, just not for me.

posted by JoKiJo (SAINT PETERSBURG, FL) Jan 16, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

My fiance liked it. The game is put together very well. From my observations it could really help you learn some dance moves. I'm not into dancing myself and rented it only for her. But if you're looking for a good dancing game for Kinect, then this is the best I've seen yet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Love, love, love it!

posted by terri63 (ARLINGTON, TX) Jan 15, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Its wonderful how the game breaks down each step for someone like me with no rhythm. When your dancing it makes you lose track of time. which is great cardio.. Wanna lose weight? Dance it off with Dance Central.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great at parties

posted by doumtek (LEEDS, AL) Jan 6, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

For the first time in years, Guitar Hero wasn't brought out at a party. Friends were all waiting their turn to give it a try. My wife dances almost daily. Great game. Tons of fun for parties and does give a pretty good workout.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dance central Fun!

posted by Gentop (PORTLAND, OR) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

dance cetral is an amazing game that uses the full body function of kinect. after renting it i ecided to buy it with christmas money. I recomend it highly as a great kinect game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Total Blast!

posted by llaharl (SANTA CLARA, CA) Dec 31, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was amazingly fun and the kinect was amazingly accurate. The concept is simple, you learn the choreography for a song, then you dance it. Unlike the dance games for the Wii, you actually have to use your whole body, which makes perfect sense for a dancing game. There's nothing more to say really. I can't wait for more DLC to come out for this game.

Bottomline: Simple, fun, intuitive. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great Fun Fun Workout

posted by busdrivers (CAMDEN WYOMING, DE) Dec 20, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

If you love dancing then this is a great game for you, my hubby who does not like to dance even tried it an had fun, but I did have to change to an easy one for him, an we are middle age here, an had a great time with this one, hope they do more styles of dance too! Young people will really love this one for parties an learning too, but if you need to work out to something fun wow do this for a half hr. you will see...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Its pretty cool!

posted by soco86 (MESA, AZ) Dec 19, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I don't dance, hate it, but this game was pretty accurate and fun. Just not enough titles for it to be an 8 or above. What I mean by titles is, I would want to dance to GOOD songs, at least 12 or more good songs. This had about 4 likable titles. Some people may like more of the songs, but in order to want to dance then you would need more titles that your not bored of by now, AND YOU WOULD WANT TO JAM OUT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The most fun that you're ever have!

posted by cwill38197 (NORTHPORT, AL) Dec 15, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played Dance Central with my family and we couldn't stop laughing cause of the fun we were having! When I watched my 3 year old baby sister play this,I was just blown away! She was following the dancer's move and eveeything! Dance Central is truely the #1 family game for the Xbox Kinect!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Dance Central Kinect

posted by BryanHeath (DALLAS, TX) Dec 5, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is a great departure from the traditional dance games. The menus are not as easy to navigate as Kinect Adventures and this is wht keeps the game in the 8.0 category in my opinion. . My girlfriend big fan of turbo classes and fell in love with the game. She picked up the moves quickly on easy and advanced to hard. She was able to keep up on hard for a song, but it was a little to much for the first day of play. I struggle with easy so I fee like the ranking system is very accurate and the Kinect beats any sort of dance pad. This one will defiantly burn some calories espcuially for the ladies. As guys are built differently I see the most burn from the fighting games so far. I also feel a little metro doing some of the moves so for the fellas this may not be a party game. However coupled with Lips you will keep the ladies entertained.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dance Central

posted by Pinkbubble (BRONX, NY) Nov 24, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game by far is the best that Kinect offers, keep in mind that if your not athletic you will be sore the next day. Songs are amazing and there is something for everyone. My only problem is when you get stuck on a move some times the game will not let you progress which can be a little annoying since you will be dead tired by the time you actually get to the dance. But all in all a nice fun game !!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I'm not a dancer!!!

posted by fleabme (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Dec 27, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I should start off by saying, I'm not a dancer, I don't dance at weddings, I'm a total wallflower. But I just got a new kinect and bought Dance Central, and decided to let go in the privacy of my own home, risking only the respect of my dog.
This game is so much fun! It is easy to pick up, and before you know it, you feel like you are busting a move! Wow, Harmonix rocked it again!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Accurate, Fun Game!

posted by 5H3375 (VINTON, OH) Dec 9, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I rarely write reviews on here. But, I wanted to for this game. Plain & simple, IT IS A BLAST TO PLAY. I was worried about the accuracy of the Kinect sensor and this game. No problems there. Once calibrated the game picked up every move I could bust. Even after about 6 hours of gameplay and a change in lighting settings in my play area. I ended up just keeping this game because it was so much fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Everything and more!

posted by tidusguy99 (SHOW LOW, AZ) Nov 7, 2010

Member since Oct 2006

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Super fun for those who like to dance or to want to lose weight! It isn't a jump in a play game due to the extensive number of dance moves you may not know how to do. the graphics compliment the music, great.Must try !

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

dance central

posted by xpart123 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Jan 2, 2011

Member since Jun 2008

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

i played i demo of it and i loved it i'm gonna go buy it this week
i cant wait for the dlc to release more songs i hope they put

vanilla ice ice ice baby

run dmc tricky

nsync i want you back

and more of those kind of songs

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

LOL SMILEY FACE

posted by PiMpJ0oSe (CARSON, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

ive played rockband, dj hero, guitar hero, dance dance revolution. THIS GAME TOPS EM ALL. its fun and it brings the ladies to the dance floor (my living room).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What a blast

posted by ph1llyphan (SAINT AUGUSTINE, FL) Nov 5, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I only played the Demo that came with Kinect Adventures But it was so much fun. I didnt think i was going to like this game much but i was shocked how much fun it was. Good songs to dance to and the kinect system dose a great job of picking up youre movements. I can see playing this when i have people over going to be in pain the next day from all the dancing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

THIS GAME IS VERRY NICE Dance Central

posted by jovany04 (TRENTON, NJ) May 13, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I LIKE THIS GAME BECUASE YOU CAN PLAY WITH YOUR FAMILY IS NICE AND ALL FAMILY CAN PLAY THEY WILL LIKE THIS GAME I HOPE NO BODY SAID NOTHING ABOUT THIS GAME IS GREAT OKAY........THANKS...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good gameplay, but not enough variety

posted by waywardmar (FARMINGTON, NM) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

The controls/gameplay on this game are pretty good. There are two basic options, one which takes you through each move one at a time to teach you, and another that allows you to play the complete song. Each song also has three difficulty levels, so there are quite a few game play options.
However, the teach mode can be hard to follow. There's no way to slow the move down, and you get a limited number of attempts, so I found some of the moves difficult to learn.
Finally, I think the one area where Just Dance succeeded and this game fails is in the music selection, which was much broader on JD. I played this game for maybe half an hour - generous estimate - and have decided I have no interest in owning it since there are only a couple of songs in game that I like. (I believe there is an option to download more tracks, but I'd like to be able to get use out of the ones that come on disc.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse