Buy DMC: Devil May Cry for Xbox 360
view large frontback

DMC: Devil May Cry

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
8.1

2491 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A super fun installment of a super fun franchise

posted by spiffyish (SURPRISE, AZ) Apr 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I played this game on the hardest difficulty, found it challenging, but not frustrating. It was just a lot of fun. Also, some of the best level design I've seen in a long time. Awesome awesome job, Capcom.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game to play

posted by ObliviousLegend (MIAMI BEACH, FL) Jun 14, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DMC: Devil May Cry is a game you definitely want to add to your GameQ. I'm not comparing it to any previous DMC games, but on its own it's a fun action game.
Gameplay: The combat is easy to pick up and it's very fun to do combos. The enemies are somewhat easy in the beginning but later on tougher enemies come along to give you more of a challenge. If it's still too easy, finish the game once and you'll get a harder difficulty and can keep replaying to unlock harder difficulties.

Story: I, for one love games where the cut-scenes are amazing. DMC has great cut-scenes and has a good story to it. I don't say great because although in the beginning I was intrigued by the story, throughout the game the story wasn't developed as best as it could be I believe. There are funny moments in the game along with sick and mildly gruesome ones. I like Dante even though a lot of fans will argue they messed him up. I thought he was raw and the sort of character you want to play as.

In the end, as I stated before, great game and should give it a shot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

The devil will die

posted by russianpremier (MURRIETA, CA) Apr 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

DmC: Devil May Cry is by far the best hack-and-slash game i've played ever. It has a dark, gritty style, a good back-story, and overall it fulfills it's role as a prequel to the 1st DMC.

Story: Phenomenal, Very well told, and humorous as well in appropriate parts. I welcome the dante in DmC because he is not technically the "new" dante as some (angryjoe and other reviewers) portray him to be, he is who dante was before Devil May Cry. Also, contrary to popular belief, this is not emo themed, it's dark and it's evil (which I love).

Dante: Treats all demons like garbage so you can see traces of future dante in this dante, also he's a punk but he's a good punk, and yeah he swears but it's basically what everybody in modern society does anyways so it's not a problem.

Vergil: Personally I don't like vergil, just getting that out there, but I like his new voice actor and also how he's more "angel" themed and dante is "demon" themed, so their relationship as twins even carries over into their powers.

Kat: she's hot, that's all I gotta say really, but to be honest, I wish her character did more.

Gameplay: Very immersible, after playing for a while, you really get into it, for instance this game is my stress relief game, because after playing and releasing my rage on nearby demons, I feel drained, which is good for me cause that means it worked. Combos are very stylish, dante moves realistically with his weapon(s), and your style meter rises faster the more you switch up your combos. The only 2 things wrong with the game that earn this only a 9/10, the camera and the absence of a lock-on feature. The camera will sometimes frustrate you because it will go off during an evade or dodge in a random direction or random zoom-in/out making fighting a little more complicated, but it gets really bad during the final boss (no spoilers n00bs).

overall, I love this game, and I will be buying it from gamefly

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game if you're with an open mind

posted by EmoChips (HOUSTON, TX) Jan 16, 2013

Member since Aug 2007

24 out of 31 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

You'd have to be blind to ignore all the hate this game got from a portion of very vocal fans online. Some were being petty and simply could not live in a world where Dante doesn't look like white haired Tom Cruise, others had more legitimate complaints.

I'm hear to tell you that as a long-time fan of the series this doesn't disappoint as a comeback. The other series basically cornered itself thanks to DMC2 so it was about time to move on.

The game itself has both good and bad aspects to it. Let's get to it.

The Good:
- The writing- Ninja Theory, while their games are never perfect, always have great writing and a more than decent story. All of the characters in this are better written. I know some old fans are with nostalgia filled goggles and want to pretend that the writing before was fantastic but it wasn't. It was cheesy, which admittedly is fun. This game takes itself a bit more seriously so one-liners and grunts weren't gonna cut it for the script. There still are puns so that's a plus. Cursing actually works.

-The seamless combat- While some fans are stating that there is a lack of combos you have to understand that there are a lot of weapons and all of them can seamlessly combine with each other. The lock-on function is not necessary in this thanks to the pulling mechanics.

-Easier combat in earlier levels- Sorry but no matter how much you complain, making the game more forgiving is not a bad thing. It can still be a very hard in later levels.

-The music: it just works.

The Bad:
- The graphics: Unreal Engine 3 was starting to show its age before but this was the final nail in the coffin. While not bad the color palette isn't exactly flattering to it.

The Ugly:
- Frames per second: Hopefully if there is a next game they'll be able to make it into 60fps gameplay again and it is noticeably absent from the game.

Conclusion: Come in with an open mind and you'll enjoy the game. Definitely worth a rent, a buy if you want to replay it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Great DMC

posted by kronicuser (SAINT PETERS, MO) Apr 1, 2013

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Overall i think ninja theory did an amazing job! The story is the best out of them all imo, and the fighting style/combos are easy to put together. I like how theres 4 different weapons available at all times (even tho you can change them out for more) and its so easy to combine those 4 weapons into different combos. Graphics are pretty dang good at least for 360. Also I remember in the past dmc's the camera angle was complete garbage, I didnt seem to find a problem with it this time. Overall great game, a definite rent

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A solid reboot

posted by Myers85 (MOUNT EPHRAIM, NJ) Feb 7, 2013

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was difficult. It contained a lot of great moments, especially some more back story regarding the sons of Sparda.

However, the original japanese Devil May Cry emotion is what's lacking in this title. And the downgrade from 60FPS to 30FPS was the most disappointing feature.

Overall, it's better than Devil May Cry 2, but just short of Devil May Cry 4.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Above Average

posted by TheFallenMarvel (HAMMOND, IN) Feb 12, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game overall has a pretty good execution. It sets up the ensuing chaos that makes this game what it is. The game mechanics are pretty good and the visuals are pretty good as well. The story seems to be interesting, but it will tend to lose you from time to time. Character development was alright even though this is definitely a 180 from what we are used to in the series. Language is really harsh even for Dante and has a lot of blatantly crude humor. It's an acquired taste to say the least. I can't say the story is the highlight of the game, but the combat is the best thing about it.

The game has a small variety of weapons at your disposal. It makes the combat very interesting. The only problem I have is the targeting system. It's all automatic. You have no control over it and this makes the camera your enemy at crucial moments.

I guess in Devil May Cry fashion, it still has all of the crazy hard modes, but Dante Must Die isn't the final difficulty. It actually has difficulties tougher than that. Can't say I'm a fan of the harder difficulties, but to each his own.

The game has its pros and cons. Some of which that work against each other from time to time. It's an alright game, but as a reboot I think it was unnecessary. The new material could have possibly been used and incorporated into an already established series, but that's just me. I think it's a good renter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Savagery at the MAX!!!

posted by DRdangleMD (RICHMOND, CA) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the story in DMC isn't the best, nor are the graphics but the gameplay is spot on. with quick heavy hitting weapons and some awesome combos you will find yourself heading back again and again to kick some Demon butt!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Just another X button game

posted by karl4hand (MOUND CITY, MO) May 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

There was any exploring or mystery to this games just a lot of repetition pushing the Y and B buttons. Not dialogue that had decision making or any special treasures to find - very linear and boring!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

True to the series core, in spite of new look

posted by CitiRaven (GRAND CANYON, AZ) Jan 17, 2013

Member since Feb 2009

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

Dante continues his trend of mind numbing hack and slash, over the top stylish gun- and swordplay and general badassery that have made Devil May Cry a hit for the past decade.

While the first thing people notice about this game has always been and will always be about Dante's new look, it doesn't stop there. He retains everything else that made him the icon he was while spanning four games and two console generations, plus an HD Collection (not to mention the bane of Ryu and Deadpool in MvC3). I can't say much for the story as I haven't played all the way through this one yet, but the combat plays true to the series core, mixing several different weapons at once and doing it with all the style that white-haired Dante copyrighted years ago, and that's what really matters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Beautifully done.

posted by Mkaze (LAS VEGAS, NV) Jan 16, 2013

Member since May 2012

4 out of 16 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

This game is awesome. Some flaws, as any game has, but it is fun and you will spend hours playing it. Awesome, awesome, awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

DMC

posted by nightz (WILLIAMSBURG, VA) Apr 27, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

1 out of 5 gamers (20%) found this review helpful

If you are sensitive to flashing lights, then this is not game for you. I couldn't play for 30 mins before starting to get sick feeling.

from the very start its very bad with the strobe effects. Its actually overkill how much they use it.

Game play is not to bad. If your a die hard fan you will probably enjoy it. I really love the series. But being sensitive to flashing lights made the game unplayable for me. It was just to much to deal with.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Hate DMC? This is the game for you!

posted by Chero666 (DEER PARK, TX) Jan 21, 2013

Member since Jan 2008

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

DmC: Devil May Cry (owner of the worst name of the year award) goes out of its way to be nothing like this game's previous 2 installments were:

Filled with likeable characters, fast and furious combat with a high skill ceiling, has a colorful and beautiful aesthetic with great architecture, no sign of baby killing in sight, an engine that can hold up to it's own attempts at being graphically capable to stand up under pressure, and fights that pushed you to your limits as a gamer and making you feel as though you've earned every victory you had.

In it's place, you get:

A dumbed-down combat system with even dumber enemies to make sure you don't have to try too hard and hurt yourself, blurry textures and framerate drops in cutscenes, boring platforming sections that aren't challenging or interesting but instead are used to pad out this 8 1/2 hour game, characters that go against the established canon so hard that they become unrecognizable, useless side-characters, Red/Orange/Yellow everywhere to make sure that you hate those 3 before the day is over with... oh, and a baby is killed in the womb, shortly followed by it's mother and our Hero gloating about it later.

If I was basing this on my opinion alone, I'd ask for a negative score, just to negate every 8-10/10 I see. Sadly, the game functions, the glaive weapon is cool (too weak to matter, but you can spam-lock enemies with it), and I like Bob. That's enough to warrant a 5.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Classic DMC

posted by Zlacher (FORT ATKINSON, WI) May 21, 2014

Member since May 2014

Same great combat mechanics as DMC's past. Could have been a deeper story line, the combat just barely made it entertaining enough to finish.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by thejman45 (MCALLEN, TX) Apr 8, 2014

Member since Apr 2014

Cool game try it its worth it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Hack and Slasher

posted by Tuluzzi (MORTON, PA) Jan 27, 2014

Member since Sep 2010

This was the first I've played in the series and I had a lot of fun with it. The controls are great, the story is entertaining, and the game itself is rewarding. It may be a little bit on the easy side, but it's still satisfying to play.

Pretty much follows in any other hack-n-slash type game's footsteps, so if you've been playing a lot of them I wouldn't recommend diving right into this. But, if you're looking for a change of pace from other types of games, this is a really nice one to go with.

Don't waste your $8.00 on the Vergil DLC, though (which is what I just did). It's over in an hour and you don't really get much out of it, not even a boss fight.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

DMC is the awesome

posted by narckilla (MILLERSBURG, OH) Jan 25, 2014

Member since Dec 2013

This game rocks! graphics are near next gen looking. battles are as fierce as ever, dante still has a sense of humor, and who cares about his hair color you fairies. i think he looks cooler like this anyway. always thought the long gray hair was ridiculous

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Play this game with an open mind

posted by Bluetooth (STREET, MD) Jan 9, 2014

Member since Dec 2009

Good game rent first and see how you like it, now yes there are a few things in this game that are going to make you say wow, Just make sure you go into this game open minded, This is not a bad game it's not the best game ever but it is still not the worst game ever. Anyway you just have to go in opened mind and rent it

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very fun. Very shallow.

posted by profkilljoy7z (SANFORD, FL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

I highly enjoyed this game. Good in gameplay, great in style. Extremely shallow in story and characters.

Fun. Not amazing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

A solid, FUN Devil May Cry reboot

posted by DavidBankson (HENDERSON, TX) Oct 3, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

A reboot of this series could not have been done better. This game is cleverly written, has the cheesy one liner puns like the original, and Dante has all the over-the-top battle skill that you would expect from everybody's favorite nephilim. The story is epic, the characters are interesting and unique, the graphics are perfectly find despite what some have claimed, and the references to the original Devil May Cry series are so apparent that if you don't notice them you obviously never played the originals at all. Don't be turned off by the fact that his hair is white! There is a joke about it that you can't miss early in the game, and it's all explained later in the storyline. I won't spoil it for you, at least play through it on easy if nothing else, just to experience the story and battle mechanics!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

This game is stupid

posted by schujazz (RENTON, WA) Jul 29, 2013

Member since Jun 2012

First, the Graphics were disappointing to say the least. Combat is completely lame and easy, Just mash X or Y.
Story line is linear and boring.... don't waste your time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

GREAT

posted by havesome (ATLANTA, GA) Jul 26, 2013

Member since Jul 2013

Action packed. endless combos good story. 2 bad it had 2 end. dnt no if da main story was 2 short or i just played dat much but beat it n a day

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

DMC is back!!!

posted by Tatatijo (TAMPA, FL) Jul 12, 2013

Member since Feb 2008

This game is almost perfect. I loved all the other DMC games. Action is awesome, story is fun, controls are tight. Rent this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

New and Slightly Improved

posted by DragonDan2453 (CHANNAHON, IL) May 30, 2013

Member since Nov 2012

After DMC4, I swore to never play another DMC game ever again. There haven't been a lot of games coming out and I just rented this game just to fill out my GameQ. Have to say, this game made me hate this series slightly less. Remember how in DMC 1-4 there was no sense of direction, well DMC fans can now rejoice. There is an actual sense of direction in this game. I FINALLY KNEW WHERE I WAS SUPPOSED TO GO!!!!! Well ok, so not everything is improved. The item cost still goes up every time you buy something. I still have no clue why they did not fix that. The music and graphics, the best in the series, easily. I still prefer the old Dante than this new one, but he's still Dante. Wouldn't believe I would be saying this, but I am looking forward to the next game in this series.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game I've Played In A Long Time.

posted by X7Sephiroth7X (PIERRE PART, LA) May 30, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

If your looking for a remake of the original your not gonna get it here. this is a reimagining of the series and i have to say this ia very good.

Awesome level designs and fun boss battles that keep you on the edge of your seat, Story is very indepth and keeps you hooked.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse