Buy Crysis 2 for PS3
view large frontback

Crysis 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
7.4

8975 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome....but frustrating

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Apr 2, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

37 out of 39 gamers (95%) found this review helpful

Overview
==================
The nanosuit does bring a different feel than your typical FPS. I really like the game. The campaign is enjoyable. The multiplayer is also fun. I think it is potentially worth buying (I did). However, you may want to rent first for 1 main reason. The multiplayer can be extremely frustrating as the hit detection is awful (the killcam indicates either lag or you are moving so fast with the nanosuit that what you see on screen does not match what the game was doing).

Pros
==================
1) great graphics
2) nanosuit brings a different flavor

Cons
==================
1) hit detection is awful in the multiplayer
2) did notice some framework issues and bugs (seems rushed a little)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Polished And Fun, Move Fast or Take It Slow

posted by jay419 (PRAGUE, OK) Mar 23, 2011

Member since Jan 2009

47 out of 54 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

I didn't play Crysis on PC but I watched some walkthroughs for it. Even though I didn't know much about the Crysis world, I liked playing this game. WAY better than Homefront which I finished the other day.

THE LOOK

Pretty detailed game world. The skyscrapers eliminate a broad vista, but you really feel like you're in the city. Running up to a wall will reveal some smears and grain but from the first person perspective, the open-ended world is impressive. Shadows relative to the avatars and realistic lighting from the sun and explosions really confirms Crytech's innovation with the new game engine. And the destructible environment is cool too. I thought the aliens were a bit generic but they kind of match the concrete and steel battlefield.

THE STORY

Not as deep as I thought it would be but that may be good for everyone who didn't play the first game. There is a short prologue that doesn't say much but I didn't care much about the plot on this one. Just wanted to shoot and cloak and kill.

THE GAMEPLAY

Seamless shooting, fast sprint and high jumping was nice. The most fun was cloaking and clubbing enemies up close, then sneak back to hiding. You could easily bypass some of the fight to get to checkpoints but the challenge of choosing what suit mode to use was fun in battles: the enemies can get heavy and you can cloak and flank them or use max armor and go head on.
The helmet has scanning binoculars, and heat vision for dark areas. I liked the need to use all the components to plan your attack and defense. Customize weapons in-game(scopes, silencer etc.) The whole game moves conveniently quick. No need to pull up a menu to change things.

THE VERDICT

I'm a bit tired of alien shooters but this one was fun. I DIDN'T get angry even though the AI can be tough. The suit is a cool concept and the shooting mechanics work very well. While so many games get complaints from me, Crysis 2 was pretty satisfying.

HINT if energy gets low, stop moving 4 a second.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

One of the BEST SP GAMES!

posted by usak90 (GLEN ALLEN, VA) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Definitely one of the best and most memorable single player campaigns I have played in a VERY long time. I played the two previous version, and they're awesome as well, but this one was just something different entirely. I actually went and bought the game just so I can replay the Single Player campaign (IT REALLY IS WORTH IT!). It's not your typical run and gun shooter, but rather, it requires A LOT of strategic thinking, planning and executing. It took me about 15-20 hours to beat it. The SP is a heck lot better than COD or BF3, but the multiplayer does feel weak, and I wasn't really too into it. You get games like BF 3 and COD for multiplayer, but you get this game to play an enjoyable and memorable single player experience. And when I say memorable, I really mean it. Other SP campaigns may be fun, but you probably won't remember most of it. Whereas in Crysis 2, there was a lot of levels that I just want to keep replaying because they were so awesome!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A well made game for COD,Halo lovers, or anyone.

posted by soupperson (EAGLE RIVER, AK) Jan 7, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Think of Crysis 2 as either a stealthy, yet hardcore game, or a stragey game and if you make the wrong move, your dead.

Crysis 2 is basicaly Halo tatics and COD weapons combined to make a very balanced game. The campain has a deep story line that continues from the original, also is very long, but rewarding. The Multiplayer, however, is what most gamers call "the main part of the game." It offers alot of customization options that can suit any gamer to thier heart's content, from the sneky Tracker perk which allows you to see enemy foot steps, the stealthy blind eye perk which covers you from Maximum Radar, or the Visor enchancer, which highlights enemys though weapon scopes, a sniper's best friend. Of course, the are many more than these.

Now i'll talk about the thing that makes Crysis 2 "unique." The Nanosuit, which turns humans into "Super humans." The nanosuit gives you abilities that COD or Halo gamers dream of. First of all, there's armor module, which enchances your health. With this you can survive almost anything. Jump of a buliding, check. Survive a missile, what a joke. Back stab, err no. Then there's the tag system, which allows you to tag enemys and see them anywhere on the map. Its always fun stalking people and then killing them. Finnaly, there's the Stealth module, the ultimate weapon in this game. You literaly turn invisible (enemys can still see you, just barly) and then start assasinating to your heart's content. you can run though a whole enemy base without being spotted, and then attack from behind. You will be in this mode over 75% of the game in this mode.

I rate this game as a 10 since this is the best fps game i've ever played. Plus, you may not know it, but i'll always be behind you, always...(btw, soupman is not my real ps3 name, i will be the guy that kills alot, but never dies, well i may die, but not often, plus i got a mic ;))

Also, this game offers plenty of achivements and dlc, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome, best game i have played in a while.

posted by chance17 (ENID, OK) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game with the best graphics i have seen in a long time. The ability to customize your gun on the go, and tun invisible or charge head on into combat or not is what kept drawing me back to the game. I never played multiplayer so i cant say anything about it. In my opinion definitely worth buying or renting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great S/P, M/P OK

posted by salaros (PORTLAND, TN) Apr 17, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Ever since I played Crysis on the PC, I've been waiting for this to come out. And here it is. The S/P campaign is great, I never cared to much for the M/P on the 1st one and this is about the same. Everyone is cloaked most of the time and literally running over each other. If you enjoyed the 1st Crysis S/P, then you'll like this one. You may even enjoy the M/P, it just wasn't for me. The graphics are what really make it stand out, probably the best the PS3 has seen thus far.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

loved being fully cloaked

posted by fightclub1 (SHEFFIELD LAKE, OH) Apr 4, 2011

Member since Apr 2009

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game was so much fun in campaign mode.The cloaking aspect was amazing. you didn't even cast a shadow when you were cloaked. it's that attention to details that made this game so much fun to play, you could armor up and go full commando or cloak and go stealth.The weapon choices were great.only wish you could carry more than two at a a time.the graphics were topnotch. wish the kill scenes were more graphic and varied. grabbing an enemy wasn't as smooth as it could have been,plus the only other thing i didnt like was the inability to save when you wanted.that lead to killing almost everyone and getting killed and having to start all over.other than that it's a great game.i actually played it completely through twice.can't wait for #3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Win

posted by Brainberry (HAYWARD, CA) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

43 out of 51 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Originally a PC-only game, Crysis set high expectations for future games in the series by providing a flexible empowering experience. Though it seemed unlikely an equally impressive follow-up could be created on console, developer Crytek has delivered a sequel that captures many ideas of the original game, and implements a few new ones as well. But most importantly, Crysis 2 is just as visually impressive as its predecessor, even on PS3 and 360.

As hyped as the original game was, playing it is not a prerequisite for enjoying Crysis 2. Most of the controls have been changed completely, and this new chapter in the Crysis trilogy introduces a new protagonist (while short recaps fill in any story gaps you might've missed). None of those revisions, however, disrupt the creative gameplay moments or lush environment design that made so many people fall in love with Crysis.

Pro's: Beautiful Graphics (especially the use of lights)
Interesting story, Great Gameplay Mechanics , Expansive Multi Player(cod players beware, it takes skill to kill).

Cons: Framerate issues from time to time and a story mode that takes less then 15 hours to beat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crysis 2’s single player campaign is phenomenal

posted by Shoot1st (HOUSTON, MO) Mar 22, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

35 out of 42 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

My impression of Crysis 2’s single player campaign is phenomenal. The controls are smooth and reactive. The ability to change weapon attachments on the fly is amazing. This allows you to adept to any situation the AI will throw at you. Speaking of AI it is the best I have seen in a video game in a long time. It feels as if you where playing against human players. They think and act as a group and giving the chance they will flank your position and even set up ambushes. The levels load so seamlessly you lose track as to what level you are on. The ability to inject alien DNA to upgrade your modules, Tag bad guys with your visor tag system ( see a guy with a gun you want tag him and stalk him ) I have not gotten around to multiplayer but with a single player campaign this good I don’t care if MP turns out to be junk. The SP more than makes up for it. With guns, collectables, interactive objects to use against the enemy, and Smart AI Cyrsis 2 is one to get but don’t take my word for it Rent it and see for yourself

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Great game, MP is trash.

posted by MajireXR (KENT, WA) May 29, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

Great graphics, Gameplay/controls, and a lot of cool features make this game's story mode a really fun and worth-while experience! I would highly recommend this a Rent just for the story itself.

The online play is a pretty annoying sad experience, Crysis 2 has the MOST God awful hit detection on market! You shoot a guy in the head 6-7 times he's totally fine and is able to 2 shot you in the chest with a pistol from..who knows how far away! On top of that, when somebody kills you, it's as if, they are shooting 5 FT away form you, yet they get you, even when you KNOW you were 100% covered before they could. Also, leveling is VERY VERY slow..but you're oging to have to deal with all that, if you want the online trophies.

Aside form MP, i would strongly say rent this, if only purely for Single player.

=]

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

A fun non-linear shooter.

posted by SinglePlayer (UPLAND, CA) Nov 13, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Crysis 2 gives the player many options for abilities and methods for battle. Stealth fans will enjoy the predator-like stealth mode, and happily go bonkers every time the suit says "CLOAK, ENGAGED" haha. You can truly feel like you are really there and imagine the game is really happening because it looks scientifically realistic enough to not seem to 'gamey' when taking immersion into account. The visuals are stunning, and the sound packs a punch. The story is forgettable but interesting in the later parts, but the gameplay and graphics are top-notch.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Single Player Awesome...Multi not so much

posted by LtKeller11 (STILLWATER, PA) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Well I just got done with the single player campaign and decided to play online....I thought that it would be a limited and simple but No In the first couple of hours of playing I was very frustrated I had to step away from the game... It maybe the worst multiplayer experience I have ever had...But the Single player I was BLOW AWAY with it I only wish that they could make a regular free roam out of it but They need to make it Larger like going into any buildings instead of designated ones But all in all I rated it as an 8 cant wait for crysis 3 (if they make it)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Mission Statement

posted by CyberInch (LAKE WORTH, FL) Mar 25, 2011

Member since Jun 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

This was one of the best games I have played in awhile, the mission/objectives were time consuming and well worth the play, wasn't near as easy to beat as Black Ops on Veteran, I would give this 2 thumbs up!! Online play not quite as good as Black Ops but maybe it just takes ALOT of getting use to... Happy Gaming..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crysis 2. Lives up to its Predecessor.

posted by JimbusTheMighty (HUNTINGTON, WV) May 15, 2011

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Crysis 2 definitely lives up to the expectations when it comes to the campaign. However, the multi-player is not quite so lucky.

Single Player - The Crysis team simply outdid themselves with the gameplay and graphics. The most fun and diverse single player I have played in at least 5 months. There are several styles to play, everything from stealth shooter to rambo. The rambo style of gameplay is much more difficult to pull off but can be done. Personally on my main playthrough I went the stealth shooter/medium ranged combat route. The one thing that I can complain about is the fact that it was short and could have been more of an open world, perhaps a free roam mode with random enemies scattered throughout. The power jump could also use more height.

Multi-player - What can I say. Simply average at best, and can range from having some fun to raging hard. If you are looking for a good multi-player experience and do not care for single player, I recommend finding a different game.

Glitches Encountered. In the office scene I had a problem with the NPCs with rocket launchers not spawning. Had to play back through the mission, was quite annoying.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Crysis 2

posted by estoyhi (BLADENSBURG, MD) May 15, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game is Awesome, it is the best visual effects and it runs beautifully and I never crashed under all the process. I loved playing this game, didn't really play multiplayer much because so many games are out and I want to at least play most of them so I wanted to send it back to get my next game. Definitely recommend this to any shooter/rpg/action adventure gamers, You will love this game, thinking bout buying it myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What more could you ask for?

posted by kungfu (GUYMON, OK) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Insane gameplay and graphics, had me glued to my tv. this is how shotters should be made! best game i have played so far this year!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Next Gen shooter...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Mar 24, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

The graphics are amazing in this game... Fluent motion, creative environments, fun gameplay... Crysis2 is a well developed shooter with an excellent storyline and fun gameplay.

You assume the role as a US Marine...
While being deployed on a urgent mission in a disease infested New York, in year 2023--your squad is attacked and whiped out by an unknown aircraft... You finally come to find that you were placed inside a Suit of armor.
A nanosuit that is advanced in everyway.
Still becoming aware of what is going on -- You find that the people who placed you in the suit had their own objectives that you have became apart of... A unknown enemy is attacking New York and a private army called C.E.L.L. is attempting to capture and kill you.

Very creative game... The graphics are by-far the best out there for this game genre. Crysis2 enforces tactics and gives you the ability to play how you will like too. You are given the chance to be stealthy or go guns blazing. Game environment is almost 100% interactive... I like kicking vehicles at soldiers... It has those type of moments where you just wonder what other sort of options you have -- If you see a gas can, you can pick it up, and throw it at someone.
You will find that exploring is fun... there is many different ways to finish an objective and there is many different ways to pass an area.
The gameworld is fairly large... You are able to do a bit of climbing--to get that vantage point.

Multiplayer places you in that supersuit in multiplayer. Levels are large. Gamemodes: Deathmath, Team deathmatch, capture areas, capture objectives, and defend area gamemodes.

In all.. I couldn't find anything I just completely hated in this game; creative design; strong story; fun multiplayer; interesting game elements. This game is great and is definitely worth trying...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Don't rent. BUY

posted by boredone (WINFIELD, WV) Mar 25, 2011

Member since May 2009

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

You won't regret it. I haven't touched the single player campaign but the multiplayer is the best online FPS out there right now. Much better than Black Ops, Killzone 3, Halo Reach, and Homefront.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

This is the best PC games have to offer?

posted by Nineteenth (BRONX, NY) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The reviewers are completely wrong about this game.

The only thing in this game that's worth your time are the graphics and maybe the soundtrack. And even that doesn't distract from the horrible path finding of the enemies.

The Story : It's tired and has been done several times in the past.
ANCIENT THREAT LIVING IN X UNLEASHES Y THAT DECIMATES X- LONE WARRIOR FUSED WITH POWER MUST NOW FIGHT FOR FREEDOM AND DEFEAT THEM AND SAVE THE WORLD.
Absolutely no points for originality.

Then, you get the horrible storytelling done by Metal Gear Solid expies- which leads to this next part.
70% of the game's plot could have been avoided by a simple name tag, or maybe a magic marker and a sheet of poster board that says "I AM NOT PROPHET STOP SHOOTING MY FACE."

The Gameplay isn't good either.
Point. Shoot. Kill. Get hit. Hide until health regenerates. Hide until energy regenerates. It has the same exact tired formula that people keep buying regardless how awful it is.

You are given a list of 12 abilities to unlock over the course of the game. By the time you reach the end, only 3 of them are useful.
Everything else is a waste of time unlocking.(Oh, hey, just like Prototype!) You get an option for stealth gameplay, but when the enemies know exactly where you are regardless of the alert level and walk directly into you, regardless of where said location is or they get stuck in a spot that you -need- to cross.

And then-The aliens. Their frames either skip or lock up from time to time. So you get a perfectly frozen alien shooting you or a single alien popping up all over the screen without moving their legs.

This gets irritating fast.
There's no exploration, but there is plenty of "Find the hidden trinket" that every game must do, for some reason.

Between the awful plot, characters and gameplay - The best thing about this game was the commercial. Oh and that song? It's not in the game at all. I would only recommend this game if you like graphics. Otherwise, avoid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game. Amazing multiplayer, Move over halo!!!

posted by PINKtacos (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Mar 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great multiplayer. Don't recomend for Xbox EA servers suck on xbox. However, it's great on PS3. I didn't care for the single player. Plot is generic like every game out there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Awesome

posted by ozone11 (PHOENIX, AZ) May 24, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

great graphics and some intense battle scenes! highly recommend but be careful, once you start, you definitely will not want to quit until mission fully complete!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Boring

posted by BlueRazgriz (FONTANA, CA) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game has potential. The Nano suit is pretty awesome and has a lot of features to help you through your missions. The only issue is the story itself. Its boring. Doesnt really get you involved. I find myself just killing everyone in front of me and getting to the next objective. Im not interested in the cut scenes at all. The cloak kind of takes the fun out of things as well. Although it helps immensely, it basically lets you bypass the enemy without conflict and if you are patient enough, can almost beat the game this way. If you are looking to unlock trophies/achievements with this game you will probably not unlock all of them without some help and boosting. The "Dedication" trophy requires you to play online 6 months after playing the first time. Also another trophy that asks you to reach level 50 online. With a lack of MP support, the online trophies are difficult unless you have a big enough group to fill a match.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Real review of Crisis 2

posted by arealreviewer (MONONA, WI) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Overall
Crisis 2 is a truly great game. With breath taking visuals, innovative gameplay, and a good story, almost all of this game is awesome. Very little is wrong with the game, but they are big enough problems to make this game only an 8. I would highly recommend renting it, since I do not personally think it has high replay value.

Plot
Set in the not too distant future, you are Alcatraz, a BA, gun toting, nano-suited marine who is a man of few (almost none) words. New York City is facing a epidemic, and you and other marines are called in to help control the populace. Immediately after arriving in the harbor, your ship is attacked, and most of your allies die. A mysterious man named Prophet saves you and gives you his nano suit before shooting himself. Without revealing the entire plot, you spend the rest of the time fighting aliens and military alike, while learning who Prophet was, what you have to do, and how you must do it. You are the last chance of humanity of course, and have to work to save the entire human race in a demolished New York city. While not completely non understandable, the plot can get a little confusing at times, and I found myself watching movies again so I could better understand what had happened. If you are more interested in game play than drawn out movies, this is a good fit.

Game play
It isn't perfect. It is fairly obvious that even though you have the option to attack head on, the game is design for more planning than that. It isn't COD. You have a stealth mode, normal, and armor mode.
Stealth is the most enjoyable to use in my opinion, but at times it seems the AI are a little too smart. They are not as easy to predict in other games, and like to see through your stealth mode when you get too close. Both the stealth and the armor modes use up the suits energy which is rechargeable, and it is up to you to decide how to use it. Even with it's problems, the game play is different than most and sure to be fun for new players.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great SinglePlayer, Mutli is mehhhhhh

posted by 24K (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) May 28, 2011

Member since May 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Had a great time with SinglePlayer mode. Multi is wack put simply. You creep on people in stealth, shoot them and get shot immediately. Repeat, repeat, repeat. Great rental, wouldnt buy

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Expected more!!

posted by Europa12 (ALEXANDRIA, VA) Jul 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2009

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

For all the hype this was a major let down for me. I find my self trying to force my self to finish this game, I couldn't do it! I found it to be very very boring. The visuals were okay, but I expected more from them also.

To compare, I just played the demo for Killzone 3. Now that is what I expected, beautiful graphics, loud, and action packed. I'm sending crysis 2 back tomorrow and will be waiting on killzone 3 this weekend!

Bottom line for me: The action on Crysis 2 was just not there.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse