Buy Cave Story 3D for 3DS
view large frontback

Cave Story 3D

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

GF Rating
7.0

302 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great port, good game

posted by Tatsunohouou (OWINGS MILLS, MD) Jul 10, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game has been one of the more entertaining ones I've played on the 3DS, admittingly, not all items achieved IN the game have any point.... but the adventure is more akin to the Old days of Video gaming and I'm happy for that.

The difficulty curve for the "good" ending is steep. VERY steep. So gamer beware. if you wanna get the best tools, this game is going to make you WORK for em. Either way. great game. 8 out of 10 on my gaming meter.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This is a great game!

posted by JCGir (WEST CHESTER, PA) Jun 8, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed playing this game. I feel that this is one of those games that you can play over and over again and not get bored of it. I rented this game on May 20th and I've already started on my fourth playthrough. This game can be kind of tedious at times, but the amount of extra things in this game makes up for it. I highly recommend this if you want a game you will enjoy playing multiple times.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good

posted by Lucian357 (CARMICHAEL, CA) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

over all i would say the game is good.

but i think the 3d aspect is really wasted on this game, i dont even use it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun, quirky game.

posted by Spocktagon (LUBBOCK, TX) Feb 14, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is a shooting platformer, in the vein of Blaster Master, Earthworm Jim, and Mega Man. There's a really steep learning curve, but the game gets fun within the first two levels.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Nes Classic

posted by kjf223 (OSSINEKE, MI) Jan 25, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 8 gamers (12%) found this review helpful

If you have tried some of the nes games on the 3ds and you like it you will like this. Make sure you wear your glasses unless you have 20/20 vision. Main character is 1/4 inch in size at most and blend in with the scene making it hard to see. I played for quite a while just because I couldn't believe it was this bad of a game. This is a rent type a game and not $40 buy game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Indie Classic Remaster

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 31, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

It's pretty much the original game but with 3D graphics. But the characters, levels, and story are all the same just presented better. It's definitely worth playing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

GET THE FREE PC VERSION

posted by mackado (HARTSELLE, AL) Dec 21, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

the game is OK but there are 2 tings i do not like. first the graphics. there AWFUL. you charachter is so small. the backgrounds are overly detailed and enimeys blend in with it. and the charachters lack animations. like at the begining when korkorko gets kidnaped in the pc version you coul see torkorko yelling in the bubble. in this one she just goes in there looking just like she does the intire game. and character models look AWFUL. the other thing is the controlls. they just SUCK. get the free PC version its much better.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Best.game.EVER!!!

posted by dr_octagonapus (SOUTH LYON, MI) Aug 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

this game totally had me going "o meh gawd!" every time I got to a new area. the game play wus all like: if u fall u might die intantly! also I think sue iz HOT! XD What kept me from giving dis a 10 iz da BRUTAL diffaculty of the bosses called monster X and the undead core. other than that, the wepons were AWESOME! ( like, seriously, when u aim down and fire with a level 3 machine gun, u can float. U CANT BEAT DAT!!!) the game play was great, and the graphics were WAY better than the origanal. All in all, this game is better off bought than rented

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Nice to give it a try

posted by alex1609 (WESTON, FL) Apr 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I played the PC version and went all the way through. After having this game for two days I didn't really want to keep playing it. However, I give the game a good score so other people give it a try, specially those who haven't had the chance to play any other version before it (there are WiiWare and eShop versions too).

Plot: CaveStory has a really good story. It is also played out simply and fittingly into the game without major cut scenes or videos. This gives the feel that you're actually participating in it and due to the adorable characters you can easily find yourself rooting for the good guys to win. For me, t's the game's selling point.

Graphics: Ok, 3D and everything the game really still feels like a 2D game. It is nice to see a 2D plattformers with such nice graphics, but given this is a 3D system, you need to kick it up a notch for this game being worth the conversion. Also, the classic paper-like mode that uses the original sprites in the 3D background is even more out of place. It would have been better to spice it up with 3D explosions and stuff.

Sound: This games music is cool. Really. To me, it makes it more amazing to know that initially just one person made the whole game and this port is just repeating what he did. Also, the sound effects really fit the game's atmosphere.

Gameplay: Well, this game was made for a PC and playing it in the 3DS didn't feel bad tough it felt underdeveloped. Having six buttons to map and a second screen, it was tough to make it feel like this port belonged to the system. However, the game plays just fine and the idea of using the four buttons in two pairs of different settings is well played. The touch screen gets enough attention as the inventory, but it would've been better to be allowed to use it without having to pause.

If you haven't played CaveStory before, give it a try. It's worth your time. However, I'm not sure I'd recommend it for buying as you can play most of it for free on your PC.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A nice platformer, buuuuut

posted by SandyAJ (GLEN BURNIE, MD) Mar 28, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

It took me a little time to get the hang of this game, and wasnt too hard to adapt too, especially once learning what will kill me instantly....darn red spiky plants!!! But what kinda disturbed me was the actual story. For a game filled with cute bunnies and dogs, it was a bit shocking to see the death toll of the characters we meet in it be so high for a game that's supposed to be rated E. From Genetic Mutations, to Drownings to Having to Kill off your Former Friends, it was a lot to take in. So I guess if you don't mind playing it and getting used to your npcs dropping off fast as a slasher flick, then go for it, but I wouldn't recommend this to younger kids who are able to read the story going on. It may be a bit disturbing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »