Buy Call of Duty: Black Ops for PS3
view large frontback

Call of Duty: Black Ops

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS, Xbox 360, Wii

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.2

14759 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Good addition to the franchise with major issues

posted by jamest91 (NEWHALL, CA) Nov 10, 2010

Member since Sep 2010

48 out of 75 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Overall the game gets a 7 from me simply because as of right now, right after release, the game does need some polishing up(mainly on the technical side of the game)

Singleplayer: I haven't played through very much yet, mainly because I like starting singleplayer and beating it on the hardest difficulty. I must say that this part of Black Ops is extremely enjoyable, entertaining, and time consuming. It took me quite some time to get probably 1/5 of the way through the campaign on the hardest difficulty. So, if your in for a good challenge, try out singleplayer on the hardest difficulty. "You will not survive!"

Multiplayer: This is probably the biggest reason why most people would pick this game up. The customizations and various gamemodes are very well developed and fun to get in to. I definately recommend giving wager matches, contracts, and the customizations a go. ZOMBIES is also pretty fun. It has the same look and feel as the zombies from CoD: World at War, so if you enjoyed that then I recommend this for you as well.

On to the bad areas: Multiplayer has been reported to be having some major issues with connectivity and lag. I find myself sometimes sitting around for a good 10 minutes disconnecting and reconnecting from lost connection games or games too laggy to give a chance. I am sure this will be fixed in the very first patch released though.

Other issue I PERSONALLY have is compared to other games, the graphics seem to be a little old for a game nowadays. So if you are a nut about "how the game appears on screen" like I am, you may wanna watch a friend or something play first.

I recommend this as a RENT before buying. If you like it then I'll see you on the battlefield.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Falls Short, Rent First

posted by boourns (HADDON TOWNSHIP, NJ) Nov 14, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

54 out of 86 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

The latest installment of the COD series definitely does not live up to the hype. As a whole the game is completely unbalanced and by that I mean the single player is great while the multiplayer is poor.

The plot for the single player is probably the best to date. It starts off with the main character strapped to a chair in an interrogation room being questioned by an unknown person(s). The story progresses through several locations, Cuba, Russia, Vietnam, and Laos, before finally coming to a twisting conclusion. The graphics are great, sounds are good, and the gameplay is great. The single player offers several intractable objects such as vehicles, etc. The only downside is its very short, between 6-8 hours.

Let's face it, the breaking point between purchasing a game and renting it nowadays is the multiplayer. Unfortunately it is extremely lacking in this latest COD series. For me the multiplayer is very reminiscent of COD 3. First off the graphics are mediocre. At this point in time we should expect something far superior. The sound quality is also lacking. There is also a lot of lag, you're completely around a corner and somehow you still get shot. In addition to those main issues, the modified and added features are not impressive. In addition to your grenade and smoke options they've also added an equipment option but none really stand out. They're also reduced the number of Perks you can select (5 for each slot / 15 total). They've added a new dynamic to these options, COD dollars. All weapons, attachments, equip, and perks now cost money to use and still require you to reach a certain level. I'm sure this is an attempt to keep people interested to keep playing but its very redundant and unnecessary. The titles, emblems, and challenges in MW2 were reason enough.

In all, this latest COD installment definitely falls short especially after MW2. It had potential but a rent first game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Feels like World at War but in the Sixties

posted by ps3456 (PASADENA, CA) Dec 7, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like the controls better on MW & MW2. Nice on my 3D TV but sometimes the game freezes. Is it supposed to be a pure white screen before the stage launches? Some times it loads and all i see is the compass and the direction arrow but rest is a black screen. Maybe i got a bad copy. Good enough to rent but i wouldn't buy. I can't wait for infinity ward to make another one. Zombies were nice.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

BLOPS

posted by BBruin66 (BUCKSPORT, ME) Dec 11, 2010

Member since May 2010

16 out of 26 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I know a lot of the reviews compare this to MWF2 which I have yet to play on console (top of my queue), so i'm reviewing this game by itself not just basing it on if its better than MWF2.

SP, is decent enough. Theatrical, scripted, although not nearly as bad as MoH. As usual the story is a little hard to follow between missions. There's just cuts scenes and fancy graphics, no real briefing or time to stop and plan ahead. (Something I miss from the first few Rainbow 6 or Ghost Recon games) There were fewer pre-planned vehicular chases (thank goodness) and no Tank missions. If you don't plan on playing multiplayer RENT! The single player campaign is certainly not worth retail price.

MP, has it's issues. It's very fun when working, but server issues pop up more than they should. About 50% of the time you will migrate to new server (and resume the game), but the other half the server closes, your game is lost, and you have to find another. Sometimes game lobbies will hang and even though you have 12/12 players a game will not start. These issues seem to be most prevalent during peak hours. Last night (friday night) there were 480,000 people on the network, now, with non-dedicated servers, i'm not sure why this should be such an issue but it is. Muting doesn't always work in lobbies, the player has to be actually talking for you to mute them. That means the can have an active mic, but if they stop talking it won't actually mute them. It will cross out their mic as if they are muted, but it won't silence them. Next time the start talking, you can hear them even though their mic is muted. You have to unmute them, and then mute them again, while they're talking, in order to keep them quiet.

5.1 audio in this game is very good. On multiplayer the surround is a huge asset as you can directionally hear players moving as they run behind you, pull pins on frags or most functionally, run up stairs that are hidden by a wall.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Grrr

posted by JayDiggle (bountiful, UT) Dec 4, 2010

Member since Feb 2007

14 out of 23 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I really liked this game when I first started playing it. Then a strange, I guess not so strange, thing happened. The Multi-player started to lag a lot. I mean, every match I would get in would have a delay that was just bad enough to notice. Some games were obviously worse than others and my score would reflect that. I finally got it in my head that I wasn't going to keep playing/supporting a game that was making me angry/frustrated. I decided to break the abusive cycle and send the game back.
When the game is good and working the way it should, it is a great game. It has a slightly different feel to it than MW, I cant quite put my finger on what it is but I like it. But, alas, just like all the other COD games, the connection issues suck the life out of the game for me. I had this game originally rated as an 8. That score was what this game could have been, what I wanted it to be. That score could have been higher but the single player campaign was not as good as was hyped (surprise), and it does not look all that impressive. It's not ugly, but we know it could be better.
Maybe they will get the connection issues fixed, doubtful, but if they do, I will rate this game an 8 and recommend it to all who enjoy shooting other people without the fear of jail.

Final say: Rent the game, play the single player for yourself cause only you know what you like. Try the multi-player, if that's your thing, and who knows, maybe your connection will be flawless. If that is the case, then I think you will have a good time with this game.
As always, these are just my opinions and observations. You should make up your own mind. Happy Gaming.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

AMAZING!!

posted by Kat_Gamer (TAMPA, FL) Dec 27, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Black Ops was definitely a surprise for me. Still now, World at War is my favorite COD but Black Ops definitely lived up to its COD name.

The campaign story was absolutely amazing. Completely different than what we're used to with COD games. I really enjoyed it.

This is highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Seriously Let Down

posted by ST6DEVGRU (HEBER CITY, UT) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

I was seriously disappointed in this release. There were times during the gameplay where I thought that I might have reached a redeeming point (such as climbing into the SR71), only to be let down moments later (such as the SR71). Even the online gameplay was a major let down, all it seems to be, is a DLC map pack for the previous installments of C.O.D. But instead of spending $15 for the DLC, you end up spending $60 for the first set of maps and and additional $15 in three months time for 3 new maps where if you don't spend it you're called out as a cheapskate in the lobbies.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Block ops is not what expected to be!

posted by aaj7yk (BRIDGETON, NJ) Dec 6, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

7 out of 12 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I currently have this game, the game is not what it thought it would be graphics are not nearly the best as modern warfare 2. The game play is real fast which for those that like to run the whole map is not-possible, if you love to be a sniper well the maps are a little real small meaning is not going to be easy to catch somebody head and blow it up with one bullet not much room for the map. In my experience of the game i personal love the zombie game even do they made it real hard the zombie come after you at no mercy. The campaign is a real good story for those is just a action pack novel and i love how the story play well on here thank for your time whoever reading this comment.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Why I don't suggest this game

posted by OniKinoko (MARION, VA) Nov 27, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

9 out of 16 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

1: Overclocking on the PS3 version
2: Host Migration Fail (get ready to see this often)
3: Kids. No, not the actual kids that play. It seems with every call of duty we get a new batch of people who start off normal men, then suddenly turn into sniffling 13 year old girls.

Its a fun game, I enjoy the Zombies. That's really about it. There is no AI when fighting against the computer...ever. Multiplayer was fun for about a week but now it's more like work, trying to join a game. Overall I am fed up with Activision titles, and this one takes the cake. Better programming plox!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun only at First

posted by dredloxz (POMONA, CA) Nov 29, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

Now don't get me wrong Black Ops is a fun game, but over time the game gets repetitive and boring. Yes, it does bring back the adored zombie mode but other than that the new money system seems pointless. Though it does get rid of most of the annoying noob tubing, there doesn't really seem anything of worth to buy except a few of your favorite weapons, attachments, and perks. So overall Blacks ops is just a boring filler until Modern Warfare 3 comes out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Sad

posted by Freehorse (CORALVILLE, IA) Dec 14, 2010

Member since Dec 2010

11 out of 20 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Single player is ok. Not as good as MW2.

Multi-player is unplayable. Freezes, crashes, disconnects, no host migration, and to go along with that, poor support from customer service.

In the 1/2 game you do get to play before the lobby crashes, it's pretty meh anyways. Small maps that encourage camping (smallest is around Dust's size, biggest is around Junkyard's... and most are on the small side of that scale) , comparatively few weapon choices, choppy frame rate (on the PS3, I've heard it's better on 360), and being 3 bars seems to have a larger negative impact than in MW2.

I suggest renting it from GF to play the campaign and zombies! modes to check them out but stay away from the multi-player for a few more months until they get it straightened out (as of 12/14/2010).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

black ops is not mw2

posted by swordfish (NORTHPORT, AL) Nov 11, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

This game is not half as good as mw2. The story is alright, but the multiplayer is nothing like mw2. The Killstreaks are sorry and there is not much replay value. But the maps are pretty good. This is not what I was expecting, treyarc just rushed it out to make some money.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

black ops

posted by MiSSNAOMi Aug 27, 2011

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

my all-time favorite playing this game - i love playing this everyday..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

not as good as modern warfare 2

posted by vINANITY87 (WEST POINT, NY) Nov 21, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

First off once you've played modern warfare online with all those high speed weaponry and killstreaks, taking steps back again to vietnam era weaponry is kind of depressing. the campaign is awesome as expected but it leaves out alot of the stealthy operations and incorporates a run and gun style throuought most of the game. the online play took forever just to actually start a game...yes even longer than modern warfare 2. also random booting and error messages still exist from modern warfare with online play.

GOOD-
very smart AI on campaign
jaw-dropping cutscenes
zombies gameplay mode with better weapons

BAD
40 year old weapons
run and gun leaves out the special-ops feel
horrible online load times/wait times

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

whats with all the low reviews

posted by Conndor (DE RUYTER, NY) Jan 3, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

10 out of 19 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

personally i think this is the best call of duty game yet. Good Campaign but thats not the reason to play cod right. i love the multiplayer plus add the extras like zombies and dead ops it doesn't get much better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Really?!

posted by MadArab (ALBUQUERQUE, NM) Jan 7, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game just screams, "It was half done by one team than polished off sloppily by another!!!". It saddens me. It could've had potential except for the groups with the money in their pockets getting greedy and them spending umpteen million dollars on commercials that overhype the game beyond what I've seen since I was misled by the cover of my atari copy of ET I had gotten for christmas.

It's main storymode is horrid. The plot is saddening, unrealistic, and believe it or not, bland. The cutscenes feel more like CoD 3 than MW2 quality and the entire storyline was an obvious rip trying to compete against a VIETNAM EXPANSION PACK. How insecure is this games creators and profiteers getting to be so scared as to make a sloppy story to compete with an expansion pack and than call it Black Ops (cold war era) when it's obviously vietnam based.

The entire game was a waste the instant it was released early. If the 2nd wave of developers (buffers) were more than newguys promised credit for someone elses work they would have demanded an extra year so they could fully understand what their predecessors had done so they knew what they really had to work with, which was what could have been the end all be all of modern war style first person shooters. Instead we get horrid matchmaking, poor respawns and a control feel that makes me wonder why anyone ever put up a complaint about MoH, which has a storyline so incredible it's made iraqi war vets weep from it's accuracy and attention to detail.

So, to summarize what I've said: Black Ops is the Pokemon Pinball of the CoD franchise.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

"Best CoD game in YEARS."

posted by Cowmaster2 (AUSTIN, TX) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Jul 2006

40 out of 80 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is, by far, the best Call of Duty game I have played in years.

Graphics-
Look freakin' amazing. Much better than what was seen in Modern Warfare 1 and 2. Every thing looks crisp and clean, and it feels like watching a movie sometimes.

Gameplay-
The gameplay in this game is almost the exact same as the Modern Warfare titles except for a lot of small little changes that make a HUGE difference. For starters, the game just literally feels and flows a lot more fluidly and acts more believable.

The AI in the game are somewhat smart and know how to act when being shot at. They don't just stand their and shoot back, they look for cover and use their environment to their advantage.

A lot of the guns have more recoil than the guns in Modern Warfare too.

Multiplayer-
This is what most people rent and/or buy this game for. Let me tell you honestly, this game's multiplayer is the best online experience I have had in a long time. Unlike MW2, the guns, perks, killstreaks, and everything else are completely balanced. No more noob tubers, no more commando, no more spamming. This game is what MW2 should have been. Not very much lag, a few host migrations in the few hours I played, and oodles and oodles of fun. The new currency system is genius, allowing you to purchase weapons, attachments and customize your emblem with hundreds of designs and millions (seriously millions) of possibilities. Or if you are a man and/or woman who likes to gamble, you can put your Cod Points on the line in Wager matches and win big.

Make sure you check out the Zombie mode too. Great fun.

Bottom Line-
This game is like our savior, washing away the sins of MW2.
If you like first person shooters, buy this game now. If you like CoD, buy this game now. If you think Halo Reach is better than this work of art, buy this game NOW.

(because it's not)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Game I can 100% enjoy

posted by PS3TALAA (SEATTLE, WA) Nov 9, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

27 out of 54 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

COD Black ops, great game, great storyline, graphics, sound effects are awesome and great online features.
Controls are the same as before and the melee attack is much better. Coop campaign games are always my favorites because me and couple of my buddies always plan ahead for private campaign for online games and then take it online against others. awesome game, can't wait to finish the ending and the play the zombie mode
9.8 out of 10

(Medal of Honor could be better, if it had the coop campaign online. but BYE BYE MEDAL OF HONOR, wasn't worthed to purchase)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

mutiplayer

posted by ccr777 (FISHERS, IN) Nov 15, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

good character customization and decent weapons but glitches a lot and very annoying host migrating

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Same old Same old

posted by operative1 (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

7 out of 14 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Review for the single player
The game is clearly showing it's age. Gameplay mechanics have not changed which is good thing for consoles since it's the best control scheme for an FPS, but that's the only good thing this game has. Sound department is weak. Voice acting is solid but the FX ruins the whole experience. Guns sound almost the same, I'm sorry but after playing more than 150 hours of Bad Company 2 this feels last gen. Most of the vehicle scenes are automatic. You press forward and shoot things, I really thought it was going to be more technical but hey it's CoD not Ace Combat. Story wise it's the best story out of all the CoDs but it's not an uncharted. main characters have voices now but they all come out two dimensional. Soundtrack is a hit a miss, specially with the metal soundtrack that pops up now and then. By the end it's clear this thing is designed for 15 year old's herpaderp AMERICA. Story is simple yet over complicated. All smoke and mirrors.

As for the MP, it's not my cup of coffee. I'm more of squad based big maps shooter hence BC2. If you play it for the single player gamefly is the way to go.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Game! Highly reccomend!

posted by yabnayr (PATTERSON, NY) May 1, 2011

Member since May 2011

5 out of 10 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Single player, multi-player, online, is all absolutely amazing. I love this game and play at least 4 times a week. Whenever I begin to play, I cannot put the controller down. The online play is always fun, single player has a very good story line and of course playing online with a friend on the same PS3 is pretty darn cool too. Campaign mode with two people is pretty cool, rather play single player alone just to have a full screen, but is not bad at all with 2 people (co-op). I highly approve this game for anyone who enjoys army games and who is looking to not put the controller down for a few hours because if you get bored of one game mode you have plenty of other options to choose from to do something different. And I almost forgot, Zombies is crazy in this game. It gets kind of insane playing single player Zombies, but with two people on the same system, it's a lot of fun trying to blow off as many Zombie heads as you can. I never want to return this game; I'll probably just wined up buying it used from Gamefly since I've had it since January. Hope this review helps for those of you who have not yet played this game. I'd put it at the top of my list as one of my favorite games of the year! Hope you enjoy it!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Lots of Hype, Lots of potential, but not final.

posted by Rafy186 (OZONE PARK, NY) Nov 12, 2010

Member since Nov 2007

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Once I received the game from GameFly first thing I did was play the MultiPlayer. I must say that I am not impressed.

On paper the features and plan to "balance" the game once again sounded great, but after playing it it just doesn't feel right. It's difficult for to see how shooting an assault rifle at short range and landing most of the shots will not kill the enemy, but rather the enemy kill me with a submachine. Is as if what counts is the fire rate over the power.

Next is the amount of lag and connectivity issues that occur. Every match I've played has either gone through a host migration or disconnection at some point of the game.

Finally, what did Treyarch do for the last 2 years? The graphics are terrible for graphics Xbox360 and Ps3 users expect. One would have thought that either they work on the graphics engine or either take the infinity ward engine just like Treyarch did with Modern Warfare to World at War. IMO Warhawk graphics look better and that game was released in 2007.

I hate paying for games that feel like beta to me, and this is what Black Ops feels to me. I have a lot of hope that Treyarch will fix the issues, but it may just be a little too late. Perhaps this time Killzone 3 will win the FPS title. February can't come quick enough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun, exciting but short campaign plus zombies!

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Nov 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

11 out of 23 gamers (48%) found this review helpful

Following on the success of "Modern Warfare 2" last year, Activision gives us yet another version of its popular COD franchise. Treyarch takes over for Infinity Ward this time out, and they do a fine job. "Black Ops" has probably the best and most focused story of the franchise to date. This time we mainly follow one character, Alex Mason (terrifically voiced by Sam Worthington) over a period of several years during the 60s. Missions take the player to varied locations, from Cuba to a Russian prison to the jungles of Vietnam and Laos. The story has some decent twists and turns (not revealing what it's about to avoid spoilers) and leads to some great set pieces. Controls as with all COD games perform well, the graphics range from good to outstanding, the voice acting of the other characters is done well (among the cast are Ed Harris and Gary Oldman), and the music provides a great backdrop to the action. Following the campaign, you can indulge in some zombie killing goodness. This time out there are three modes- Kino Der Toten, Five ( in which you have Kennedy, Castro, McNamarra, and Nixon trapped in the Pentagon), and a top down shooter called Dead Ops. Are all quite fun to play. Plus you can unlock an old text game at the computer called Zork. So why not a higher score? Well, unless you play multiplayer, which I won't comment on as I only do single player, the game is too short. One run through the campaign will take you 6-8 hours, and the zombie modes, while fun, may not be enough to warrant the full purchase price. At least there is incentive to play again, unless you take the time and find all the Intel the first time through. I also ran into a couple of glitches, one which required me to restart at a checkpoint, but there was nothing too serious. For the most part, this is a game well worth playing for FPS fans. It's just too bad that for the solo player the fun is over way too soon.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

poor

posted by r98528 (BELFAIR, WA) Jan 24, 2011

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i was so excited about playing black ops but this game didnt even play :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A-MAZ-ING!

posted by Aragorn225 (FREDERICK, MD) Nov 8, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 28 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

Call of Duty Modern Warfare 1 and 2 were both great games, #2 better then the first, but they didn't really capture my attention most of the time, mostly because of the unrealisticness of the second game. Black Ops returns with even more fun, but maintains a non-fiction basis that makes me say: "Alright, this is no picnic, this is real. This really happened one day."

Gameplay: Plays much like COD: MW2 with your squad pinned down by fire, switching pieces of cover and taking down foes as they attempt to do the same. Slowly pushing your way out of these fire traps often take a bucnh of time of MW2 and 1, but Black Ops reduces it to a realistic period of time.

Storyline: Like i said, it birngs back non-fiction to COD, like the original WWII games. Pretty good storyline throughout, so definitely worth your time trying to beat it.

AI: Fair AI. The Enemy AI and Friendly are fair and realistic. So yes, there are no Captain Price's in this game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse