Buy Cabela's Survival: Shadows of Katmai for PS3
view large frontback

Cabela's Survival: Shadows of Katmai

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Wii, Xbox 360
GF Rating
3.8

367 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
7

Good

Pretty lame, and unrealistic, but fun.

posted by slimjimmike1 (GRANBY, CO) Nov 6, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

9 out of 9 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game really wasn't as good as I thought it was going to be. I was expecting it to be more of a "free roam" where you could run around and hunt animals as you like but each level has set routes you go to and the only time you could shoot is whenever you get attacked by random animals. There were only 2 times when you were sent on a hunt mission.

Now some ways that the game is really unrealistic is you start off early on with a flare gun, and there is a part in the game where you have to go to a ranger building and see if there is a working radio there but instead of shooting the flare gun to signal the plane you have to run around and see if the abandoned building has a radio in it still? This is even seconds before you start a fire for a check point.

The story was fairly good though until a few missions in when really it just all of a sudden loses focus. I really think that if they spent more time paying attention to details it would make the game much more enjoyable, or if they made the story longer instead of cramming it all in such a small time space.

Aside from the story mode it has an arcade style shooting that really isn't too fun unless you have playstation move.

The game took me 2 hours to beat on hard difficulty (which was actually still really easy) and it has an alright gameplay and easy trophies so I would recommend at least playing it once if you are into these sorta games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Cabela's Survival an epic bust.

posted by stinger540 (JACKSON, MI) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

One of the most boring and repetative games I have ever played. Don't waste a rental on this one!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

no

posted by roy1125 (KEIZER, OR) May 13, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

not good at all

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst game ever

posted by tazscro (FENTON, MO) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

i kick myself for buying this game. it has the worst controls i have ever used, plus the camera angles are junk. the story line has only a small bit to do with survival, it is more like assassins creed but shorter. quick climb up here then shoot some wolves then climb over here shoot some more critters then climb some more. save yourself the money and get assassins creed you will have way more fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by JustinL (SPRING, TX) Aug 11, 2012

Member since May 2010

Its very domb its very hard it more like survival game than a hunting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Don't Like It

posted by clidefrog (SCOTT DEPOT, WV) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

Like most of the other people who left comments, I expected it to be more of a "free roams" game. I also don't like the controls and it's very hard to get into. The game is way too short so it's only use is for a pass time.

If you want to find a game that YOU like you should pay attention to the companies that make the games. I like Bethesda a.k.a the makers of Fallout and Skyrim.

DON'T GET THIS GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

TO SHORT

posted by TLKCLeader (AUGUSTA, GA) Jan 21, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

The story is to short but fun to play and easy Trophys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

a game to grow on.

posted by pandaaaz (COLLINSVILLE, IL) Jan 8, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

a truly intruiging storyline. gameplay is fun although controls can be semi annoying to get te hang of. I espexially like the two player shootout version.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Great idea, needs work

posted by 800stealth (NEW IPSWICH, NH) Jan 1, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

It's a shame the game isn't much more polished. The idea of survival in Alaska is great but the game falls short in so many ways.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This Game Is Terrible

posted by Doozy (MOODY, AL) Dec 25, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

This game is definately one of Caleba's worst games. The controls are terrible as far as aiming goes and just simply walking around is difficult and lame. It seems like they are trying to copy the Uncharted franchise by jumping around on everything. Most of the game is just constantly presing L1 over and over. The graphics are terrible and when you shoot game it simply just falls over on its side. It doesn't even do the usual "following of the Bullet's trail" that I have grown to enjoy in most other cabela games. Def a 1 out of 10. I give it a one just cause it gives my kids another game that is compatible with the move controllers. Please dont waste your time renting it. I promise you won't be missing out on anything.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »