Buy Bulletstorm for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bulletstorm

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.7

12221 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I didnt expect to have so much fun with this game.

posted by conscript93 (GERMANTOWN, MD) Jun 8, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

35 out of 36 gamers (97%) found this review helpful

Honestly , when i rented this game, i expected it to be medicore at most. I was just looking for a game that I could fill my weekend with. To my surprise Bullet storm proved to be a very fun and exciting experience totally worth my time. If you're not bothered by loads of dirty jokes and puns , Bullet Storm should fun for you too. Its a fast paced arcade kind of game. You're challenged with numerous challenges that have you kill foes in diverse ways to attain points which are used to buy upgrades and ammo. It lets you explore some creative ways of killing enemies instead of the typical run and gun experience. And although you do end up blowing stuff up and kicking a large amount of foes, it never got dull for me. Bullet storm does a great job of keeping the pace going and for me never had any real dull moments. Its pretty straight forward and the game points out how to get to the next objective so theres not much time of being stuck on puzzles ( except for one achievement you have to figure out on your own, sorry people who like puzzles!) This game also does an amazing job with the epic destruction that goes around you. I know that sounds cliche, but you have to play it to know what I mean. This "type" of game isnt expected to follow a good story but this game's story is rather interesting and well put together. It might come to a surprise that for most of the game you feel very aware of being part of the story and not just mindlessly going from point A to B. For what it is Bullet Storm is also a very very beautiful game. It could easily be a title that hides into sombre settings with a dark feel like most games but it doesnt. Taking place on a abandoned resort planet, the game never fails to disappoint with its luxurious scenery and vivid colours. The only reason I give Bullet storm a 9 and not a 10 is because there was one or two glitches in the missions where i had to load my save and go back. So if everything is dead and theres no where to go you can assume.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

The Intelligent Shooter hidden within.

posted by EmoChips (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Feb 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2007

97 out of 111 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Warning: Game contains crude language and innuendo throughout its dialogue. Dismembering and blood is also quite big.

The Good:
-The Graphics: One of the best in the 360 alongside Enslaved and the Gears of War series. This is leaning closer to Enslaved [which also runs on the Unreal engine] as its environment, especially the plant life and buildings, look incredibly beautiful.

-The Crudeness: Think of this as Duke Nukem was in the 90's. Potty mouths galore, violence, and innuendo. Granted it doesn't have sexuality itself in any way [unlike Duke]. The main female "party member" is just as strong as the rest of the team, but also just as dirty. But there is nothing more charming than a game that doesn't take itself too seriously. If you are one that plays game to escape reality and just have a good time, this game is for you!

- Intelligence in your shooting: The game's tagline is to kill with skill. And it's perfect as it is undeniably true. You are given a list of skill kills you can perform [ie pretend to aim sniper bullet at one man then guide it towards another] and if you are like myself you will be obsessed, pausing to the menu every 5 seconds to see which kill you have yet to do. Quite addicting. You will NOT survive by simply shooting people straight up as you need to buy ammo and you need to purchase it with skill points [for the most part].

-The leash/kick combo- It is a fresh shooter mechanic. You pull enemies and objects towards you and they float in slow-motion [they also float when you kick them]. Quite addicting to find ways to combine them to kill people with the environment.

The dialogue- the story itself is cliched but the dialogue makes it worthwhile.

The Bad:

- The length: The game can be completed anywhere from 5-6 hours. I'm playing it in hard.

-lasting appeal- not very much after you beat it.

The Ugly:

- The story- like I said cliched and not very original.

Buy/Rent- Rent. Game is EXTREMELY fun but only until you beat it really.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game, violence at its finest.

posted by Demon1337 (HARTSVILLE, TN) Oct 5, 2012

Member since Mar 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I have to say i was glad to pick this game up. Taking the act of killing to a whole new level. The ability to have fun with the environment as well as the weapons made this game hours and hours of fun. I just with there was a bit more replaybility and co-op to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Insanely fun and addictive

posted by Slickery (CINCINNATI, OH) Jun 22, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is about as fun as they get, if you like shooters. All the various weapons, upgrades and challenges mean you are constantly trying to find new and creative ways to kill baddies and maximize your score. Slo-mo kicking and leashing. Hilarious over-the-top and self-aware humor and characters, and absolutely stunning visuals. Just a blast and a great game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Exciting- Should see another

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

13 out of 15 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

Games like this make me wonder why Epic Games doesn't make more FPS's. The story in the campaign kept me hooked all the way to the last act. It ends ambiguously, so I'm guessing there will be a second Bulletstorm. The story is one of the best I have played. As far as gameplay, the audio and video quality are both very strong. The way the guns fire and mechanics in walking are very realistic and the controls are very easy to get used to, and adjustable. I thought the Echoes were a lot like Special Ops from MW2, and were fun after completing the campaign. I think one change that should be made is the addition of a Team Deathmatch-like gametype, with a good leveling system. Overall, the game gets a 9 from me, even though the single player was not incredibly long.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Was this Duke Nukem beta?

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Feb 22, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

35 out of 46 gamers (76%) found this review helpful

"Kill with skill" could not be a better slogan for Bulletstorm. As advertised, it's all about slaying your enemies with a brutal variety of kills using a deep arsenal of devastating weapons and your deadly leash. EVERYTHING in this game revolves around getting the most Skill Points (SP). This is not your run 'n gun or cover shooter. Posting up the top score on leaderboards trumps all, especially if you have a nice group of friends. Combine competitively addicting gameplay with 3 deep modes, and you have yourself a winner.

SINGLE PLAYER CAMPAIGN: Reminded me of Gears if it were a FPS. Play alongside 1-2 AI members in this gritty journey for revenge. I thought the graphics, sound, and story were good. It's action packed and full of surprises. Nicely paced, allowing for constant upgrading and acquiring of new sweet weapons like a sniper rifle that allows you to control the bullet with the RS, or the the flail gun which wraps detonator chain-linked grenades around anyone and anything. Lots of explosions, lots of cool enemies and bosses, and tons of stuff to blow up all over the place.

ECHOES MODE: It's the solo mode we all played for the demo. You play short action-packed sequences from certain missions to get the most SP. Reach a certain score to get all 3 stars. You need more stars to get new levels, and so on. I found this to be very addicting, and wasn't satisfied until I posted a top 100 score.

MULTIPLAYER/ANARCHY: A very frustrating 4-player mode where you try to survive waves of enemies, however once again you have to reach a certain team SP level to advance. So you NEED 3 other people, all with mics, AND all communicating perfectly to get max points by using team work; otherwise you get a bunch of reerees each doing his own thing, and you fail every time. This can be a nightmare for people who have no other friends with this game. Aside from that, plan on keeping this one for awhile though.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Trigger Happy "Rental"

posted by BlackLotus (WARREN, MI) Mar 9, 2011

Member since Mar 2009

22 out of 33 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

If your looking for something new and trigger happy Bulletstorm is your answer. However, be ready for a short (7 Acts, each with 2-3 Chapters) unoriginal storyline and lack of multi player (only Co-Op Horde type mode).

Pros:
-Beautiful Graphics (Island Resort Look)
-Amazing Gun Play (10 guns with limited upgrades & the leash)

Cons:
-Few glitches
-AI Doesn't really help
-Enemies have almost perfect aim and a lot of health, along with always running towards you in packs/waves which can be a little frustrating
-Getting towards the end of the game, difficulty seemed to spike
-After beating campaign, theres a serious lack of replay value
-EA pass-code (which isn't included in gamefly rental but of course u can purchase for 800 Microsoft points) seriously that is a fail since multi player isn't worth it and if u rented.
-Echo mode is basically time trial mixed with campaign chapters

In a nutshell I beat the game in 2 days on normal which I probably could have breezed through faster if I played it non-stop. I would really recommend renting before keeping/purchasing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Kill with Skill in a shooter's paradise

posted by LIlxhogan10 (KANSAS CITY, MO) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I could write a lengthy paragraph to introduce the basic concepts of this game but honestly, its easier to scream "GA-DOOOOOMM OH YEAH!!!! Eat that you lousy f------s and then shoot the nearest person next to me and laugh like a maniac. If the previous action sounded even remotely interesting.........Bulletstorm might just be for you.

On the surface this game looks like any other game out there. You run, you shoot, and you kill stuff but the skill shot system adds a whole another level of depth, requiring planning and learning your surroundings before just shooting, and the game rewards the players who do greatly. It also gives you another reason to come back and play again Storywise, the game is solid but......eh confederates in space can go either way. You won't find yourself carring very much for the characters either except maybe ishi who has a constant struggle. Otherwise most characters spit more profanity than the sergeant from full metal jacket and loads of toilet humor. It will get a chuckle or two but thats all. The unreal engine continues to impress and the planet will look gorgeous from start to finish.

Overall this game was very fun from start to finish. It got a little repetitive later in the game but not horribly. The only thing I found even a little was the ending kind of ended for the sake of a sequel. What I also found annoying was the facial animations which could have really used some work but as I said earlier. This isn't a story game so I guess they get to slide by. Also, online could use a little more variety than just anarchy mode. Without mics its alot harders as communication is necessary.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Really Enjoyed It!

posted by Toph01 (O FALLON, MO) Nov 14, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect much when I placed this on my queue. I was pleasantly surprised. Gameplay was fun. I couldn't get enough. I love the idea of rewards based on how you shoot. I really liked this system. The game was a great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Whoever wrote the 'script' should

posted by misterinternet (BRIGHTON, MA) Oct 23, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This game was definitely fun to play. It is basically what you would imagine if Gears of War was set in first person. The problem that I had with this game is the language. I am a foul-mouthed 20-something so this is never really a problem for me. Bulletstorm crossed a line, the stupidity line. The story and characters were smothered in dialogue that made season 1 of South Park seem mature. Here are some examples:

"What the d!ck?"
"You son of a d!ck!"
"You nearly scared the d!ck off me."

Whenever my roommate walked into the room, I was embarrassed to be found sitting in the middle of this circlejerk of a game. I feel like the main pull for this game was to make 11 year old boys giggle. It titles like Bulletstorm that give video games a bad name.

Gameplay was fun though...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Exceptional!

posted by Enkeli (BRADENTON, FL) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

16 out of 27 gamers (59%) found this review helpful

This game brought tears to my eyes from the amazing graphics and laughs from the endless humor. The story is actually pretty well thought out and the game play is tremendously creative. I definitely give this game a 10 / 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Crazy Fun

posted by Karinka88 (MONTROSE, CO) Feb 28, 2011

Member since May 2010

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

this game is crazy fun non-stop action fluid controls more ways to kill ppl that i thought possible and you get awarded for your killing creativity haha awesome it runs about 8+ hrs little on the short side but its totally worth playing through many times i DONT recommend playing it through in one sitting the non stop cussing is funny as heck but does get kinda old play for maybe 3 hrs per sitting take a break and come back fresh and its great again

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

a change of pace

posted by maddy4321 (WILKES BARRE, PA) Apr 13, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i liked this game alot it was a great change of pace from what every body seems to be on path of doing (witch is the call of duty game play path.)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A New Spin on Shooters

posted by TheYellowBus (TEMPE, AZ) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bulletstorm is an entertaining shooter much like Gears of War but has a very different style of multiplayer. I am going to keep this simple because other reviews most likely go into more depth but here are the key points.

2 Good:

--> Multiplayer is very teamwork based. Not many games online require this precise of team based skill. (This allows you to make new xbl friends by sheer frustration of losing countless rounds unless your a friend rent/buy this game)

--> Echos allow you to replay the campaign but get to the good stuff. KILLING!

2 Bad:

--> EA Sports hates on anyone who rents (Online pass)
--> Campaign only takes 5-8 hours to beat depending on difficulty

Verditct.. RENT

..why? After campaign, echos, and getting lvl 65 I don't see much else to do and that's only approx. 30-40 hours of gameplay out of the disc.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

What a waste.

posted by deathTOpoo (COLUMBUS, TX) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Mar 2010

15 out of 35 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Pros:
1.Graphics are great.
2.Controls are easy to pick up.

Cons:
1.Short single player(9 hours on hardcore)
2.Terrible AI for your partners. They ignore the enemy most of the time and just run ahead leaving you behind to deal with the mess.
3.Enemies attack and target you 90% of the time. Sometimes they run up to a party member,get melee,get up, and run straight towards you.
4.Worst dialogue ever! It was funny for about 20 minutes tops. Then, it became that annoying little kid that never shuts up and only know hows to communicate by cussing every other 2 words.(You know the one you meet online when playing your favorite game. Yeah THAT kid.)
5.Boring gameplay. Yes it was fun for about 3 hours. Then, it hit a brick wall of boredom. There's not much to do once you complete campaign.
6.Echo mode is dumb and boring. All you do is replay parts of campaign missions to earn points or highscores.(Sleeping yet?)
7.Multiplayer is amazingly disappointing. Its basically horde mode from Gears of Wars except you can only advance to the next round by earning a certain amount of points.(There is no actual player vs. player gameplay!) Also its next to impossible to die in mutliplayer. Everybody has a leash so the enemies have zero(0) chance of killing anyone! I have yet to see anyone die online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Played 2 hours of this game and.....

posted by Jedislayer (ESCONDIDO, CA) Feb 22, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

6 out of 14 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

It' already mind blowing. Graphics are beautiful, gameplay mechanics are smooth, story line is good so far, this game is what you need if your feeling trigger happy right now, I definitely recommend this if you are a fan of first person shooters, nonetheless violent shooters.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

I must be playing a different game

posted by Go_Hobo_Go (COUNCIL BLUFFS, IA) Feb 24, 2011

Member since Feb 2011

9 out of 22 gamers (41%) found this review helpful

I preorded this game and was very excited to play it. I started with the single player. Its a little over the top with toilet humor which doesn't offend me but it seems as if they were trying too hard to be funny. The whip and unique kills are fun at first but get very tedious. For most part the A.I. in this game is just waiting for you to kill them. The story mode will set you back 12-15 hours and there is no co-op which is ridiculous for a 2011 game.
Now on to the multiplayer or should i say lack there of. Only option is anarchy. I played with 2 other friends and we were all equally bored with it after a few hours and it leaves you wanting so much more. Where are the deathmatches? Capture the flag? Something more. With any shooter game at least half the game should be multiplayer to give the game a long shelf life. People are still playing Halo 3 and Gears of War 2 because of good multiplayer.
Overall the game has an above average storyline but that is it. I should have rented this game first. You can be done with it in a weekend.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Whatever...

posted by rav454 (JASPER, TN) Feb 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2006

6 out of 15 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

The Game is NOT a buy. To short to be putting 60 bucks toward. I would have liked to see is more weapons and more info one the plant that you crashed on. It is also a bit repetitive.
Coolest thing in this game is the huge Godzilla like monster!

Be as I said before... Whatever!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bulletstorm Review

posted by PyroKingX (POST FALLS, ID) Feb 27, 2011

Member since Dec 2009

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I had my doubts when I bought this game, because I thought it would be repetitive, with a short campaign and no multiplayer. Boy was I pleasantly suprised. I absolutely loved every second of this game.

Pros
+astounding graphics (one of the best on this console no doubt)
+not the most original storyline, but kept me interested
+love/hate humor and jokes (I loved it)
+epic boss battles
+10-12 hour long campaign
+the ending leaves it wide open for a sequel
+fluid controls

Cons
-difficulty spike in the last few levels
-only about 10 weapons, not very many upgrades
-lack of versus multiplayer
-not much character progression

Verdict
Bulletstorm is a terrific game. BUY IT NOW

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

really short

posted by sandman441 (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 25, 2011

Member since May 2007

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

I beat this game in about 9-10 hours. It's a ok rental if you don't have anything you really want in your queue.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

im impressed

posted by jclar68 (PORTSMOUTH, VA) Apr 14, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

this game was a lot better than i had expected, the action was insane, the graphics were good, and the story mode was great except for it being short of course. this game makes you get creative while killing people which is different from most shooters. i was not able to play the online play however because to be able to play online you need 800 Microsoft points which i don't have. this game is worth the rent maybe even the buy. best game i have played in a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Way Overrated

posted by Brnhornet (ROSEVILLE, CA) Mar 1, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is nothing but a linear shoot'em up

Graphics are great
Levels are mixed some are really good some are lame
Story is predictable and the general is way over the top on toilet humor and gets annoying real quick

I think they could have done without the ammo purchases and have unlimited ammo to kill creatively the whole game...all you need to succeed is the mini flare gun and the sniper rifle...the other weapons are useless

Ads and xplay make this seem like its game play that we haven't seen before...Its house of the dead with better graphics

Rent dont buy this...save your money for games with replay value

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Short but only semi-sweet

posted by msdawg81 (Olive Branch, MS) Jul 11, 2011

Member since Dec 2007

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

After having played through Bulletstorm in its entirety in about 7 hours, I can honestly say that there is nothing glaringly wrong with the game. Sure, it's short, there are several glitches, and it's linear, but there weren't any controller hurling moments. At the same time, there is absolutely nothing about this game that I will remember in two weeks. Scratch that, I'll have forgotten about it by this weekend and for me, that's a problem.

It is very difficult to keep shooters interesting these days, and I understand that. The market is oversaturated, it's one of the few genres that has never really taken a break since its inception, and seemingly every developer in the world has an FPS franchise(or several). However, that doesn't give a studio the right to just rehash tired stories and that's exactly what happened with Bulletstorm. Who's heard this one before? Soldier gets screwed over by boss, soldier is out for revenge, solider meets partner but they don't get along, partners dispatch enemy and eventually become friends after long journey. Never? Riiiight.

So Bulletstorm does try to do a few new things, and several of them are fairly neat. The leash, skillpoints for different types of kills, using skill points to upgrade weapons, etc. All nice ideas. The problem is that the leash makes it to where you can nearly get through the entire game without ever firing a gun, skillpoints are practically worthless after the first few chapters, and the upgrades that are available are severely limited. For each weapon, you can upgrade ammo capacity and unlock a special "charged" shot. That's.... about.... it....

On top of this, the game is completely linear, your squad mates are useless during battle, and there is only one boss battle during the entire game that I'd consider to be remotely epic.

Bottom line, this game tried to do a lot of neat things, but they all tied together to make a pretty shallow game in mind. Worth a rental I suppose

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

It was alright

posted by The1King303 (DENVER, CO) Nov 18, 2011

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

It was fun with all the blood and gory things but thats it the story was weak...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BULLET STORM KICKS BUTT!!!

posted by Larry_Turner (DRY RIDGE, KY) Mar 31, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

2 out of 7 gamers (29%) found this review helpful

IM JUST GONNA GET TO THE POINT.THIS GAME DOES HAVE ITS PROBLEMS BUT IS OVER ALL THE FUNNEST MOST BADASS GAME I HAVE EVER PLAYED.THERE ARE SO MANY DIFFERNT WAYS TO KILL YOUR ENEMIES IT JUST MAKES IT A BLAST.I MYSELF AM NOT A ONLINE PLAYER ITS ALL ABOUT CAMPAIGN AND THIS ONE LIKE SO MANY OTHERS WAS SHORT.THATS THE NORM THESE DAYS.HAD THE GAME 2 DAYS ,BEATEN IT 2 TIMES WORKING ON 3RD.OVERALL A BLAST JUST PLEASE DEVELOPERS GIME ME MORE IN DEPTH STORY.I WANT 20 HOURS OF GAME PLAY INSTEAD OF 6-10.DID I SAY FUNNEST GAME I EVER PLAYED!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse