Buy Borderlands for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Borderlands

Buy

Used: $9.99

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:Mac 

GF Rating
8.1

29871 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Guns guns and more guns.

posted by lordkor (MANAHAWKIN, NJ) Dec 11, 2009

Top Reviewer

Member since Mar 2008

151 out of 165 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

WHAT I LIKED:
Guns. There were so many different types of guns it was hard to decide which one to use. Rifles, shotguns, Rocket Launchers, Pistols, Future Tech guns. Each with different strengths and added attributes like acid damage or explosive rounds. I liked the semi-open ended environment. You don't have to do any of the main missions right away you can just do side missions and explore the maps. You can level up with enough XP and add points to your skills, which are different depending on which character you play with. Weapon skills increase the more you use a particular weapon, i.e. pistol. Ammo is rather plentiful, you'll find junk piles, chests, crates, or drops that contain ammo so it's not that easy to run out of bullets, and these items respawn after a time. So a crate or safe you opened will replenish a time later.

WHAT I DISLIKED:
Although the maps are fairly big, there isn't much of a reason to walk around them searching every nook. There also isn't much NPC interaction and most repeat the same thing over and over again. Missions are typically assigned through a bounty board so you hardly every actually talk to anyone. More interaction would have been better. You can't kill or rob anyone, unlike games like Fallout or Oblivion. These are all minor issues that you'll over look as you play.

THE GOOD
Tons of guns.
Semi-open ended
Plentiful ammo.
Good amount of missions.
RPG Elements

THE BAD
Little NPC interaction.
No reason to thoroughly explore maps.

THE UGLY
Nothing notable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pandora's Loot

posted by CrdvJavier (TULSA, OK) Aug 22, 2010

Member since Jul 2010

8 out of 8 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

The Vault is a chamber that is said to hold everyone's desires and only opens every 200 years. You, like others, are set out to find this legend in the planet of Pandora. From the get go, you are guided by an unknown woman and helped by the residents of this mad land. The aim of the game is to find as many clues as possible and the only way is to follow along with missions assigned by residents or bounty boards. Pandora lets you explore from vast deserts and urban dumps to even snowy mountains.

You start out with a choice of four characters, all with exclusive powers and skills that make them stand out. The hunter can send out a bird for help, the siren can become invisible and damage foes, the soldier builds turrets for backup, and the berserker goes fist first. You begin with rusty guns but it's not too late when you first start to pick up new gear. Enemies range from those without shields, those with extra armor, dogs, spiders, worms, and so on. The fights can be chaotic as the enemies can take cover, snipe from afar, or even take their own lives just to prevent you from getting to their leader or valuables. The bosses are few but challenging; rewarding you with equipment that can't be found anywhere else. If you are gunned down there is a second win system that gives you another chance if you kill an enemy within a time limit. With mods for shields, grenades, and your skills, getting through a mission comes down to strategy. Pandora is massive and getting from place to place is made easier with armed vehicles or teleporting junctions. With a countless number of weapons and treasures at every corner, Pandora is itching to be explored.

Even with the maddening missions it doesn't forget to have a sense of humor. The game is beautiful but it does have hiccups. Shading and rendering problems are present as you set foot into a new area. At times you can experience lag and also see an enemy get stuck in a wall. However, this is a game is a must and has co-op in mind.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Borderlands is a great game

posted by UberBoob (CLARKSTON, MI) Oct 26, 2009

Member since Aug 2006

239 out of 271 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

WoW + CoD + Diablo = Borderlands

Elements from each of these games was used to put Borderlands together. You can tell the developers were fans of MMO style games, twitch shooters like CoD, and intense loot hunting of Diablo.

If you like:
- Hunting for loot
- Questing
- Upgrading character stats
- Playing with/Experimenting with endless number of weapon combos
- Playing Co-Op with your friends
- Blowing heads off

...then you'll absolutely get addicted to this one.

Not a 10 because:
The story and end of this game is laughable. So if you're looking for an enriching story and satisfying ending, too bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

What else can be said?

posted by TheMouth (BRYAN, TX) Aug 21, 2010

Member since Aug 2010

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I'm a very picky guy when it comes to games, I'll play almost anything once but I'll only buy a game if it keeps me up all nite long while I play it and after I am dragged away from the controller because I haven't eaten in days I can't stop thinking about the game.. That is what this game did!

Call of Duty 4, beat in four hours. Call of Duty 6, beat in two hours. Halo 3, beat in a couple of days (came out when I was in college). The list goes on really and those three get called amazing all the time but to me Borderlands tromps them into nothingness. I quickly sent the game back so I could buy the game and I love it.

The first time I went up against 9 Toes I felt like I was a kid playing on my NES against an end level game boss that was overpowered but I was determined to beat him and his three balls, and the same goes for the rest of the bosses. I couldn't wait to get to them.

I just wish my internet was a bit better so I can play online, dang budget internet.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Good Game

posted by Altair123 (DANVILLE, KY) Sep 14, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Overall borderlands is a well balanced first person shooter RPG,

Each class has there own ability's and the higher level you get the more and more perks you will obtain, each character also has there own choice of gun but any vocation can use any guns, but for example you will want to use a sniper rifle as a Hunter because the abilitys or "perks" that you unlock are things like "increase sniper rifle damage" and "increased critical hit damage" (head shots) , each class also has there own special ability's, for a Siren you can phasewalk making you invisible to your enemy's and increasing your speed, with your phasewalk boosted up you can do things like deal damage to enemy's in the phasewalk range, and daze enemy's making them less accurate when shooting. As a Hunter you special abilitys is a eagle (Bloodwing) that soars toward your enemy's and swoops down for a lethal strike, you can boost your bloodwing to catch enemy's on fire when it strikes, or any other damage for that matter, you can increase the amount of enemys bloodwing will strike at, and much more, remember the higher the level, the more ability's your specialty will have, As a Soldier you have a turret, which shoots down your enemy's, you can boost your turret to regain you and your teams life or ammo, you can also boost it up to shoot missiles at your enemy's, As a Berserk your speacil ability is basically fist fighting your enemys, you can boost this to regain health, daze enemys, and much more.

Berserk - Character name Brick - A classic big BEAST, main weapons for a berserk is shotguns and rocket launchers , melee attack is a pipe, Berserk has the most health of any vocation.

Hunter - main weapons revolvers and sniper rifles, melee attack is a sword

Siren - Pretty much the "Mage" of borderlands, focused weapons are SMG's and repetive pistols, melee is a "force push" like magic

Soldier - Main weapons are assault riffles and shot guns, Melee is a simple knife

The Bad - short story , simple quest

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

I Lost Many Hours of Sleep thanks to this Game

posted by xRASHx (WOODBURY, TN) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Jun 2007

73 out of 84 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

All I can say is that this game is Awesome, and the only reason I did not give it a 10 was for the story. I felt it was lacking, just a little, but lacking nontheless. I am the type of player that plays a game in storymode, and if there is no multiplayer, then I am usually done with the game. Not the case with Borderlands at all. When I beat it I could not wait to play it some more, an I'm currently on my second playthrough. This is a must play title, and is a great break from most of the games that have been released.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game

posted by Bugmaster17 (AUSTIN, TX) Sep 11, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Borderlands is an awesome game. There is an almost endless amount of weapons and the game play is great. The graphics are kind of weird but I think the game was made that way on purpose. I haven't played the multiplayer yet but I'm sure it's awesome. I can't wait for the second one to come out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

amazing...

posted by dallas7370 (RANCHO CUCAMONGA, CA) Jul 23, 2011

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

i only played this for about three hours, and i thought it was amazing. i think the only downsides were:
-how quickly they pit you against high level enimies
-the cheezey lines
-how i couyld not figure out how the heck to change difficulty
besides those few things i think borderlands was amazing, even though the graphics arent realistic (it was supposed to be like a comic) it was one of the best games ive played in my 15 years of gaming expierience. i look forward to purchasing this game and any future add ons. (or sequels)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game

posted by chingle (OAK PARK, IL) Oct 27, 2009

Member since Aug 2007

66 out of 77 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Ahhh...nothing like a raider infested wasteland to cheer you up. Welcome to Borderlands! In Borderlands you're immersed in this sort of environment, filled with guns and galore! The story is sort of thrown at you, but come on, there's tons of guns. The story at least keeps your attention. The missions are fun and the RPG aspect of the game was integrated rather well. Don't forget Co op! The whole game is co op enabled, so you can rid the wasteland of raiders and bandits one at a time with up to three other people. This game is simply fun, and you probably won't be disapointed. Go ahead and try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Suprisingly Well Done

posted by dopcflood (BROOKFIELD, CT) Oct 10, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Borderlands was more than I had expected. After seeing the game in stores and friends' houses I found myself uninterested because of the broad look of the HUD.
After playing, I see now that the characters are realistic, the plot is well developed, and the idea is unique. Along with these features, the guns were powerful in the sense that I grew a connection with them (I hated dropping or selling weaker guns I'd had for a while).
I would diffidently recommend this game for anyone looking for a FPT (First-Person-Thriller). I am now looking into borderlands 2, and if a game can hold me for a sequel, then I know it was finely tuned.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Pure FPS awesome with a healthy dose of RPG

posted by gliscameri (MESA, AZ) Nov 16, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

This game delivers exactly what it said it would, a beautiful merger of FPS/RPG. This game sides more on the side of FPS, while I would say that Fallout 3 is on the RPG side.

First off, the controls work well. It's not clunky like most RPGs. It can't be clunky, because you get swarmed on by critters a lot and you need to be able to spin around, pick one off, run, spin around, pick another off.. repeat. You really learn that lower level bugs can wreck you when they swarm. The sniping is great, but it adds in real inaccuracy based on the gun. Just because your crosshairs lay on someone's forehead doesn't mean that's where the bullet is going if it's a pooh gun. Machine gunning works well. The damage points flowing out of people is a real helper when you are deciding what gun is right for the job. There are lots and lots of guns, plus rockets and some hand to hand attachments. Just great. So far I haven't been able to customize a weapon, and I don't think that you can. That is the only element I'd really like to see. You do get to customize your character's abilities a lot though, which in turn customizes all of your guns.

The graphics are good but strange. Scanner Darkly-ish.

Lots of missions. LOTS. I've lost track of the main story line completely.

It scales very well to your level and abilities. It stays challenging and rewarding, but will leave areas for mindless slaughter.

I haven't been able to get in a good multiplayer match, so I can't comment there.

I don't know how else to explain it, but I bought MW2 and haven't really played it much because I've been playing Borderlands. I must warn you that the introduction period is quite long. It's not a tutorial, and it throws you right into chaos, but the game takes a while to really open up. Teleporting from outpost to outpost is quite a few hours into the game, but traveling isn't bad because of the scaling.

I hope to see more FPS that take this route.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved it so much I had to buy!!

posted by shsabres (SPRINGFIELD, VA) Jun 3, 2010

Member since Jun 2010

14 out of 16 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I loved this game, tons of things to do and tons of guns to shoot. I rented this not thinking I would enjoy it but after playing a couple of hours I had to buy it!! It was absolutely entertaining. Tons of missions and enemies and they get harder and harder! Play this game and you will have fun!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome Offline Game

posted by Landers (LAKE ISABELLA, CA) Nov 17, 2010

Member since Nov 2010

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I, myself, with alot of others do not have internet needed for xbox live, meaning we must play games for campaigns/coops. Which has put people like me searching for long lasting games to keep us occupied.
This game has fully filled that, It's very fun, lasts for hours upon days, and never gets boring till the end.

The best things was the length of the 2 playthroughs, It takes hours and days of time, and requires you to plan, train, and have a very good time.
Another great thing that made it over-the-top was the guns and classes, there were hundreds of different styles and guns. You could go all sniper, and all damage ratios to help it, or go all shotgun, or mix between the 2, or many different styles, not including the hundreds of elemental helps, damages, fire rate, and more.

Basically, summing it all up, This is one of the best games offline, and still a great game online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent Game

posted by Mekanique (FRESNO, CA) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

If you are a fan of FPSs like myself, and can't stand laggy controls found in most RPG style games (IE: MassEffect 2, Fable II, etc.), then you will love Borderlands. The game is definitely meant to be played with others, but this game is more then enjoyable as a single player as well.

The loot system keeps me coming back for more, and the battles ramp up difficulty at just the right pace, that if you don't beat an enemy on your first try, you can usually go grind on some wondering scaggs for 15 min. and return powered up enough to take it down.

--My only wish is for a teleport system, since enemies respawn once you leave an area, which often means that returning to a point in the back of a map to re-challenge a boss requires you working back through all of the grunts you've previously killed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Incredible Fun But Not Without It's Flaws.

posted by PIGTWENTY (NOTTINGHAM, MD) Nov 4, 2009

Member since Jul 2009

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I didn't expect much from Borderlands when I received this game but I have to say that this game really took me by surprise.

The missions, the shooting, the loot, and the thousands of different weapons are what really make this game fun. I also recommend playing this game in co-op with the max amount of players. The enemies multiply and really force you to work together as a team. It's just great fun!

Now that I said that, the game has some glaring flaws as well. First off, the story is all but non existant. Yes, there is a main plot but you really don't care about it. All of the side missions are text based and most of you are probably just going to skip reading and just activate the mission. At least if the missions were explained through audio logs, you might actually take an interest in listening to what the person has to say.

I've also read some gamers complaining of "broken" achievements. I haven't experienced this myself but many others have from what I have read on forums associated with the game.

There are also some graphical and technical issues that could be fixed but all in all, don't really matter much in the grand scheme of the game.

I know that if anyone reads this they are probably wondering how I gave this game a "9" yet, I harp on the negatives more than the positives. I can't really explain it myself. I just can't seem to put this game down.

For me the game excels in "fun" while it may struggle in other areas. I just can't get enough of it. I highly suggest that people at least give this game a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

simply wonderful

posted by sk5243 (MORGANVILLE, NJ) Oct 20, 2009

Member since Oct 2009

67 out of 84 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

The second i put the game into my 360 i was planing to find a simple yet elegant fallout ripoof, what i found was a very enjoyable very simple to get into loot style game. this means that while it may have missions and objectives the real fun lies in going out exploring the world around and finding as many 1337 (elite) guns as possible. Notably the art style takes a risky turn from the ordinary with beatifully styalized enviroments and character models (but some may not like the cell shaded almost cartoony look of the game). In addition to the usual running around and shooting the player can also hook up on-line with upto 3 others players in both co-op and player vs player gaming, so you can go out and find guns in the game then head over to the arena and duke it out to see which one of you really has the better gear. The online did have some problems though, for one, to play the main story together you needed to be around the same quest in the game, and two, playing with a mate who has absolute pwnage guns can get kind of boring with you now doing nothing and him just killing all that moves. Off of the online topic Borderlands offers a great replay value with the ability to play thorugh again with all your gear, the creatures you meet will rank up aswell (but so will the loot and trust me with over 200k guns there will be plenty more to find). so while it may have a few minor problems overall it is an amazing game to rent and maybe even keep if you have enough people to play with. i would give it a 9.5/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

VERY nice, indeed!

posted by xCrizzardx (GRAIN VALLEY, MO) Mar 20, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

When I saw the commercial previews for this game, I was very impressed. However, I am very used to seeing a game on tv, thinking it will be the ULTIMATE in cool-ness, and freaking out until I get to play it. So far, I have been pretty dissapointed with most of them. The gameplay is NOTHING compared to what I saw on tv, and I'm dissapointed.
However, that was SO not the case with Borderlands. It was SO worth the wait! The weapons got better and better with every turn, the mobs (especially those that were 'badass') get better and better, if not somewhat frustrating at times.
My fiance and I play Borderlands together, and we are BOTH thoroughly impressed with it so far. We are both up to a level 30, he plays the Soldier, and I, the Siren. We haven't finished yet, and are looking forward to it, and VERY much considering keeping the game. TOTALLY worth the forty-three dollar keep price.
Here's to a game that finally delivers, and lives up to viewers expectations!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Can't wait for the sequel

posted by DrGats (ANCHORAGE, AK) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jan 2008

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I had high hopes, and this hit most of them, so in as few words as possible:

The good...

1) Fantastic play style, controls were very fluid and fun to fight with
2) Humor style is great, it's what Fallout 3 should have been (<3 claptrap)
3) Was always waiting to get my next awesome gun, weapons design crew A+++

and the bad...

1) Somebody missed their class on Boss Fights 101, most of the bosses, LITERALLY, stood there. Not joking. The only boss I thought was a challenge, turned out only to be a challenge on the first run, because I had jack for weapons. Second playthrough (which is supposed to be harder right?) took me ten seconds (guy who has Sledge's key, big roid guy)
2) Some of the talents and mechanics need some bug work. Turret has awful tracking sometimes, sniping next to impossible most of the time, and what the heck is with enemies with near 100% accuracy from across the stage with what should be a very innacurate gun? A few skills just gave me a ??? Damage, health, defense, all out of balance at different points in the game, which leads to...
3) the loot. As I said, awesome loot, but TOO RANDOM. Random is good, keeps people from exploiting, but this was ridiculous. This was not random like Diablo, at least killing a boss guaranteed you something usable in there. Half the drops from super hard to get to chests, or bosses etc were completely useless vendor junk, while other times random lockers would have legendary quality weapons! Seriously!

All in all, good game, just feels like it needed more work. Also, not worthy of a con or a pro, but the story....why? Don't want to spoil, but it might as well not exist. It's like they started the game with a no-story-at-all, just a setting kinda deal, and then TRIED to introduce some mysterious plot, but NEVER bring it to fruition. Either cut it out entirely, or put some real effort into it. Again, would definitely pick up the sequel, but definitely not hitting the "keep it" button on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

borderlands, a must play!

posted by mike10 (ATHENS, OH) Dec 3, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

This game was very, very impressive. So many sub-quests and a very expansive list of weapons, class upgrades, shields, bad guys ect. You name it they got it. A great story and amazing online multiplayer. funny characters throughout that help you along the journey. Beat it once, beat it again! the game has two playthroughs, the missions and enemies are the same, but their names and stats change, you keep your old stuff in the second playthrough but can get even better items! TELL ME THAT DOESN'T SOUND AMAZING! If you do, i'll know you havn't played it yet. Enjoy the game, and remember to write your review!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Borderlands = Fun

posted by Sylvester (BENSALEM, PA) Nov 5, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

When I received my copy of Borderlands in the mail, I didn't really know what the expect. What I got was pure fun.

Don't get me wrong, this game wasn't AMAZING. It does have it's downs, same as any RPG out there. One thing I encounter a lot is something many WoW gamers out there might recognize: There's a lot of running back and forth, and you can die pretty easily.

Other than that, this game seamlessly merges my two favorite genres: FPS and RPG. It's almost like playing Oblvion and Call of Duty, at the same time.

The one thing I have to praise Gearbox on is the amount of detail put into the weaponry. I don't know that's there's a bazillion guns, but its close. Almost every gun you pick up has a different fire rate, damage, and accuracy than the last. It even adopted WoW's method of color coating it's gear. I haven't really decoded that, but it seems like the color indicates how rare/ special the weapon in question is.

Anyway, if you're undecided on whether or not to get this game, ask yourself this: Do I like RPGs and Shooters? If you answered yes, then this is a great game for you.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing game

posted by Austinhb (GREENSBORO, NC) Nov 2, 2009

Member since Mar 2009

15 out of 19 gamers (79%) found this review helpful

When i read that this was a mix of cod+diablo 2 i was very skeptical, considering those are my two favorite games of all time, but a few friends recommended it to me. i found the game didn't dissapoint. its controls are the exact same of cod so the learning curve wasnt huge, the large amount of guns and shields, each with its own unique traits and rarity reminded me so much of looking at every corner or going to the same place looking for loot over and over again like in d2, but it never gets repetitive. Also like d2 the four classes each have thier own unique skill tree, and you get exp for about everything.The game itself looks cell shaded but it isnt quite, the loomy atmosphere reminds me of fall out 3, all in all instead of a ripoff of these games i found an original game that brings together the best of all 3, ps you have to try it out on multiplayer its transcendent.

i give it a 9.9/10

the .1 missing being from each character only has 1 main skill, and the rest branch from that, i would like to be able to choose more that 1 thing to build around. rent this game, then u will decide to buy it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

pretty solid

posted by deadendboy (ROSSVILLE, GA) Feb 5, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

7 out of 9 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

The cel shading animation wasn't as annoying as i thought it would be. Like in that old game XIII for PS2. It's fun playing solo, or in a group with friends. I could hold onto this one for a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Decent

posted by HueGraves (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Aug 26, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I thought that many of the core gameplay aspects were good with the exception of gun feel and aiming in general. I never felt like the guns were really very powerful even with a 1 hit kill, I just didnt get the power feeling, and I though the hitbox detection on headshot/critical hits was too small, requiring you to litteraly hit the enemy model itself for it to count. My other main problem was how each mission seemed very independent from all the others, and most were essentially the same which made the whole game just seem like a grind to get to the end or to the next level.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Borderlands Somewhat Delivers.

posted by Sherman24 (SALEM, OH) Mar 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

I'll just get down to brass tacks here. Borderlands IS a good game. Not the greatest, but there are aspects of the game which I loved and kept me coming back for more.

The first thing I noticed straight off the bat upon loading the game, is the visuals. The game somewhat looks like a barren wasteland version of Crackdown, which isn't exactly a bad thing. If Gearbox decided to keep it clean with no outlines, the game would probably be dull and interesting. So in a way, the graphics are unique and pleasing, but not much to brag about.

The second thing that is so painstakingly obvious, is the sheer amount of guns. Tons and tons of freaking guns. Unfortunately, about half of the guns you come across are too weak to be effective anyway. Luckily, there are elemental modifications that spice up the selection a bit, but don't expect to find too many rare guns without playing through the missions. For example, there's an elephant type gun about 1/4 through the story I used the entire rest of the game, if that's any indication of the usefulness of plain random firepower.

Once you beat the game, I must admit, prepare to become angry. This game has quite possibly the worst ending of any game I've played, not final boss wise, but just the way the story ended (except for maybe halo 2). I probably swore a half dozen times before I furiously shut my Xbox off. Ironically, the story within the game itself is practically in TEXT, rather in cutscenes or so on. But if you follow the story enough, you can grasp the purpose of the game.

Online co-op does make the game a lot funner, especially now that the modded guns have been removed that lag the ENTIRE server... but honestly, the game's poor ending just makes another playthrough on a different class seemingly worthless to me. So hypothetically, the game's replay value drops dramatically.

Overall, I did have fun with this game, and so will you, maybe for a short while. A rent, not a buy. Thank goodness we have GameFly!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Slow Start Amazing Game

posted by cyclone74 (SALEM, VA) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Ok i have to admit boderlands has a VERRY slow start but once you get past that and become around a level ten it will blow your mind!!!! The online is beastly and the over all game is verry fun and excitng one of the only other problems is that there really is not a story line or point to the game but still verry fun tousands of gun good online good grphics worth a 10 in my eyes

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse