Buy Borderlands 2 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Borderlands 2

Rent

Keep for: $16.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS Vita, PS3
GF Rating
8.6

7469 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

At least as good as the first!

posted by Flanman111 (FAIRPORT, NY) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Well I would like to start off by saying that I loved this game. Its not that I dont like change but I hate when I get a sequel and am let down and feeling like I'm playing a whole new game. Borderlands 2 too brings me a nostalgic joy quite the opposite of this type of disappointment. The game feels very fluid and the mechanics vary similiar to the first game, This allowedme to learn and devolope a playing style quickly. The game is noticably larger than the first game too. I did all side quest and It took me probly close to 40 hours. I enjoyed every second of it too. The game really is vast. The selection of guns is also unbeilveable, I would say this game has more variety in the weopons then any game I have played. It also has many great roleplaying elements such as a superb treasure and enemy looting system, including random rare weopons and items. I wouldn't say the story is great but then it isnt really ment to be. It is however funny at times. The main story is fairly long too and never stays in one place to long or feels repetitive. There are also many side quests that I had a great time with. Also even though I only played as the commando there are three other character choices as well giving the game some extra replay value. I also feel I would be leaving out a great part if i didnt mention the co-op. The co-op in borderlands 2 i awsume. You can invite a friend right into your game and get more ememys and loots for doing it! If you like shooters and/or rpg's you would be doing yourself a disservice to miss this game.

A MUST PLAY!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Legit.

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Mar 24, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I bought this game on release date, beat it within 3 and continued to play it. I bought the season pass and have all the DLC. Combined with the first Borderlands, I have put so much time into this franchise (days upon days of playtime). This is definitely worth more than a rental.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

96.5% more Wub Wub

posted by burntice61 (APPLE VALLEY, CA) Sep 17, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Apr 2010

51 out of 60 gamers (85%) found this review helpful

The first Borderlands held a special place in my heart, its extremely addicting loot finding, the co-op, the skill trees and best of all, the quests. Gearbox has unleashed the sequel and its better than the first in every way. Here's my verdict:

The Good:

-Graphics: Pandora still looks amazing, alot of new places add some color to the old grey color we were used to in the 1st one.

-87 Bazillion guns: They weren't lying....there's a lot of guns in this game, every loot drop is different and could potentially be better than what you have equipped and that's an awesome feeling and keeps the game fun.

-Side Quests: While the Story itself is great on its own, the side quests steal the show, the amount of them is one thing, but whats inside is what makes them incredible. Some consist of parody's of popular franchises others are just friggen hilarious.

-Holy time consuming video games Batman!: Good luck cranking this game out in a day, Gearbox put A LOT of stuff to do, the Story itself will probably last you 30 hours on its own, with the side quests and other distractions? Lets just say you wont be showing up for work or school anytime soon.

The MEH:

-Catch A Ride: The Runner from Borderlands had rough handling and the bounced off walls like crazy...Well the Runner returns and the new Party Truck also feel wonky and the most you'll do with them is just driving to your next quests...not enough shooting with 'em.

The Bad:

-Not really any Wub Wub: Im perfectly fine with it, but Claptrap was a little disappointed.

Note: Didn't have enough room to put how great Co-op is and the how lack of level balancing make it annoying to play with higher/lower leveled friends.

Overall: Tons of content, loot finding is extremely fun, Great story and Side quests, Pandora is a gorgeous place with not so gorgeous people, Clap Trap(Interplanetary Ninja Assassin) is my new best friend. Its a BUY.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Co-op is a must!

posted by INSAN3J3D1 (PEMBROKE PINES, FL) Nov 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2010

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Very fun game. There's no getting around that, but it can become rather dull and difficult if you don't play it with other people. Co-op is a must! If you play this with others, you're bound to have a great time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Nearly Perfect

posted by Noobman2k9 (VALRICO, FL) Oct 10, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Rented this title and immediately purchased the game! Have played through once, am playing a 2nd time through, have maxed character out at 50, buying addon packs, starting a new Psycho Character.

All in all it has HOURS of fun. The main quest only has a ton of game play, but add in the side quests and you have literally days of non-stop playtime.

There is a fantastic mix of humour and fighting. Strongly recommend this game, and the DLC for it is extensive as well (AND reasonably priced!).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

It's a good time!

posted by TheAlmightyBant (STATE UNIVERSITY, AR) Aug 24, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I got this game through Gamefly in my mailbox on release day (boy was i surprised) and the very next day i pressed keep. This is a great game to play online ith friends or even locally if you don;t mind having the screen split up. The game play in this particular title is rather simple. Get guns, use guns, get better guns, repeat. But that simplicity isn't a downcoming at all. its a strength to me. it make the game a kind of mindless lootfest that alot of people, myself included, find fun. The gameplay may be a pit simple, but the graphics are great. Im really glad that this game kept the cell shaded kind of look from the first game. it makes all of the colorful creature and locales really pop. The music and the voice overs and writing that goes over it are top notch. You'll find your self humming the songs and laughing at the dialog more than once in this game. If i had to say something bad about this game it would be that the game can get a bit repetitive in repeat playthroughs, and also that i did buy the game early and i fell a bit sad that its is so cheap to buy now. You can find the game and all of its first season DLC for around 20 bucks on sale sometime. All in all its a great game and a great time is to be had with it. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

As good but same as first

posted by Gabrielign (GLASTONBURY, CT) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game! Thousands of weapons, scenarios...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

borderlands 2

posted by perryjono (BATON ROUGE, LA) Mar 6, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

this is a must rent no better yet a must buy very good story good gameplay good game i give it a nine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Fun

posted by TrueJMac (PRIOR LAKE, MN) Mar 5, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Great game to jam out to. Easy to get picked up in a multiplayer game. Great story line. Some funny one-liners

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Excellent game, almost flawless

posted by Bhep34 (ALLISON PARK, PA) Sep 22, 2012

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Borderlands 2 is a great, great game. It has all the elements of a great first person shooter. Graphics, physics, maps, sweet guns, good aim system, and a good melee system. I'm really diggin' this game. However, the only problem I have with it is the difficulty of it. I'm a level 12 sniper, and I'm currently at a part in the game where you fight a level 13 robot. I can barely even damage the dude. It's unbearable. I NEED to have my roommate play with me for me to be able to beat the bosses in the game for the most part. That's my only issue with the game, though. Solid buy. GET IT.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I WAS LAUGHING RIGHT AWAY

posted by LIQUIDFX00 (BIRMINGHAM, AL) Sep 19, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2012

12 out of 19 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

Oh man, this game is awesome. Right when i started playing Claptrap started making jokes and had me laughing right away. I picked Xero or however you spell it and picked a skin they gave me for having a save from BL 1 and a diff head which was also from having a save from BL 1. Right away, you can tell that this game is an improvement over the first with the graphics which are even more cell shaded than before. I bought the game from GameStop only because it came with some freebies like access to a new Mechromancer class when it becomes available and some golden guns and other stuff but that doesn't really matter right now. I was thinking though that my character would have swords only for some reason but with this being Borderlands they make you have guns, which is fine by me. Everything is better from the aim to the enemies, EVERYTHING. If you even just liked the first one a little, this one will blow your mind. If you haven't played the first one, don't bother now because Borderlands 2 is the way to go. I wasn't as big of a fan of Borderlands 1 as a lot of people, probably because someone messed it up for me when they gave me some of those cheat drops in multiplayer pretty much right when i started the game which made it tooooo easy and took away from the grinding to level up. Not this time though, I got on the band wagon right away because i had a feeling this one was going to be great. FYI i hated Claptrap in the first Borderlands but he is really funny in this one. I would buy this one instead of renting it because this game will be hard to get with so many people wanting to play it. Wow this is the longest review i have written and i am mainly just blabbering. oh well, buy this game. NO REGRETS.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Don't Play without friends

posted by SwagDuck22 (ROCKMART, GA) Sep 28, 2012

Member since May 2012

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

Borderlands 2 is a step up from the first game and that is a huge step. After a slow start the game really starts to pick up. The endless amount of weapons and awards makes this game very addictive. Not to mention the hilarious story. My only problem is that like the first game, it can get very boring unless you are playing online. You should only play this game with people you know to maximize team efficiency.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

perfect

posted by snowman1662 (DUNDALK, MD) Apr 20, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

the game utilizes the huge map to its advantage so you will almost never get bored it also has a HUGE gun variety so the weapon choices are almost endess and the mixture of skills in the skill tree give you the oppertunity to not only burn but electricue,corrode,ect
it also has very beutiful graphics and AMAZING npc even the enimies interact wih eachother so yeah this is a must have game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Borderlands 2 might be best CO-OP game of all time

posted by nengracio (MIAMI, FL) Sep 29, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Borderlands 2 reintroduces Pandora and everything you loved about the first Borderlands is significantly better.

Gameplay is smoother, gun play is funner, story is (slightly) more interesting, and the random loot somehow got even better.

DO NOT be fooled by the art style or the graphics! Some people haven't given this game a try because of the art style and if you're one of those, you're missing out on one of the best co-op games of all time! I'm even comfortable enough to say that this is the best CO-OP shooter games of all time, and that is saying a lot.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good, but expect to die alot.

posted by Akaos74 (LAKE CHARLES, LA) Oct 30, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

6 out of 10 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the first game alot and this one is very similar.
Borderlands 1 was an easy game and that made it enjoyable for me. You could go guns blazing with reckless abandon. The second game is completely different in that aspect. You must be very careful and expect to die alot. I consider myself an above average gamer and I died quite alot as sniper. Some people enjoy the the slow and methodical game play, but Borderlands shouldn't be this hard. If they could drop the enemy damage by 15% it would get a 9, but for now 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Very Well Done

posted by the_hartzinator (PITTSBURGH, PA) Apr 10, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I applaud 2K games for what they've done with Borderlands 2. Very rarely do you find a game that mashes together so many fun gameplay dynamics, colorful characters, inventive interactions, and visual elements while still maintaining a consistent feel and experience. Borderlands 2 blurs the line between good and bad; sometimes I found myself questioning whether I was REALLY the hero or whether I was a villain- but either way I still hated the antagonist and wanted to get out and stop him. The social aspect of the co-op game is what really makes the experience, but is also why I didn't vote this game a 10/10- because the single-player story alone is not enough to make this a great game. Still, excellent game, lots of replay value, worth trying and even buying if you like it after your first playthrough.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loved by Everyone

posted by jacksonran (SPRINGVILLE, IN) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

There isnt much you can say that will down grade this game. Its give and take from the first but its just as enjoyable. Heres my good, bad, and ugly as always.

Good: Millions of millions of Guns [yes, millions (X)Millions], multiple player choice, and even more customisation. The huge map and character personality with the AI is some of the best in the gaming world. Including (my vote) and Character of the year.... CLAPTRAP!!!! The humor has been increased too. There are some hidden games inside the game too. I wont say where, but good luck to find Minecraft, Dark Souls, and the TMNT references. There are more, but those are the major.

Bad: The leveling tree is left to be desired compared to the first. They improved on the Siren but dramatically reduced the Sniper. Nothing to make my feelings drop for the game, but I would choose Mordecai over Zero anyday.

Ugly: I really had to think to put something here. Just to get one achievement you have to do one of each level in the "Bad@ss" rankings. Some are time consuming and pointless. That stopped me from the 1000/1000. The dramatic increase in the level difficulty during the 2nd playthrough and the cost of dying is too much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good game

posted by NYGIANTS4587 (COPIAGUE, NY) Oct 6, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

I wasn't a fan of the first game, I enjoyed this one though.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Rent/Buy This Game Immediately

posted by SavageWolf777 (FORT LAUDERDALE, FL) Sep 20, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

If you liked the first Borderlands, it's more of the same, but made better. With deeper character custimation, a more colorful story (involving lots of humorous side quests), and more varied enviroments, this sequel improves everything! Even the vehicle combat, which I hated in the first game, was fun and had me just driving around blowing everything the heck up.

The controls are solid, and the graphics and textures have been improved. The pop up issues still remain from Borderlands, even though I have the game installed on the hard drive.

If you are a new comer who enjoys shooters, or RPGs, I would definitely try this game. And don't worry about jumping into the sequel, because all the controls and options are explained in game via brief and fun tutorials.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

An honest review.

posted by Viknoth (CREST HILL, IL) Nov 11, 2012

Member since Jan 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Now, after playing the first Borderlands, the return to Pandora some odd years later should have been refreshing and going off visuals alone it was. The story was actively engaging and the characters were well scripted. The side quests were great both in their qualities, and in quantity. There is plenty of great things to say about this game and equally just as many things that didn't pan out so well for the second reiteration in the series.

Firstly lets address the bad, after explaining some of the afore mentioned good. Now because this is an honest review let's be completely honest, and start off with the fact that each character in the game, only has ONE self activated skill. And that's the honest to god truth. Now the creators more than likely only allowed for one skill per character to build off of that, and offer three entirely different skill trees focused around that skill, but honestly at the same time it felt lazy.

Secondly the game is pretty repetitive, so repititve in fact that you play through the entire game all over again as soon as reaching level 31 or so. Now that's a great vale to place over new game+ but really what the creators honestly did was another lazy move in not creating enough story to max out on one playthrough, which is really kind of a let down.

And the most honest explaination for my understanding this aspect of the game as a let down is this: Do you really want to have to play the entire game 8-10 times through to max out and try all characters. Because I created about 3 characters and I was completely burned out, maxed out 2 btw. I mean sure I got some great guns, and had a lot of fun, but being forced to replay the game through several times, to max out a character just isn't fun after a while. Take Diablo 3 for example.

The good of the game is that it is pretty much identical to the first except the story is so much easier to follow, but alas I gave it a 6 just because its just ok, nothing great, nothing bad.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing!!!!!

posted by XgreenAvengerX (BILOXI, MS) Nov 12, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is simply and unbelievably awesome. It has tons of weapons and a nice leveling system and skill tree. Has replay value and the story is great. I enjoyed every minute of this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

FRUSTRATING!

posted by MrNutJob (VENICE, CA) May 7, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I enjoyed the 1st Borderlands quite a lot, but as I was going through this one, it just seemed to be a bit too much on the Fighting and Dying Thing.

I ended up at the End of the Line chapter with the Wilhelm Boss Fight. Looking though the Vids of this part of the game I realized I didn't have the fire power, that the reviewers had. My guns were not that great!

And before this I had just finished with Tina and found all the continual fighting very boring... I just ran in and got the required items and had Tina blow up the train. Then I was surprised that it was a trick! The Wilhelm battle went on an on.. I literally tried to finish it over 100 + Times!

So the Coders have failed us here, Sure I could have kept trying but the AI of the game is not very intuitive, and doesn't have an endgame for trouble or lack of Artillery.

I didn't have the Firepower! Not kidding!

The Animation of the game is very unique, and I don't want to put down the Effort here, the game does indeed deserve a 8.5 as it received on Game Fly. It did take 4 years for this 2nd adventure and I wanted to Finish it I can assure you, but I can't sit in there Forever!

There should be a solution button in there, or an easy setting just in case the Coders are 'out of bounds' as they surely are here.

I sent it back, hopefully the next edition will have these 'bugs' fixed, in the meantime the 'Frustration' of Borderlands 2 is too much!

This is the first time I've come up against this sort of thing... End Of The Line... Indeed!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

An amazing Co-op RPS

posted by JamesUpton (LAKEWOOD, CO) Apr 11, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Borderlands came out of left field and was an unexpected huge success.
So with a sequel it is safe to have higher expectations since they should have a much larger budget. These expectations are indeed safe as this game improves on pretty much every aspect of the original.
It's one of the best co-op experiences out there. However it isn't exactly tailored towards the casual gamer, there's a lot of management with the gameplay, items, weapons, skills, levels etc which is perfectly fine. But say your girlfriend who's not a hardcore gamer may not be into it. Other than that it is a very lengthy, and enjoyable experience from becoming to end, even more so with friends.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Best Game I Played Since Skyrim

posted by Dashinthis83 (DAVISBORO, GA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

While I never played the first Borderlands I really didn't know what to expect from this game. Since I started playing it I can't keep my hands off it. While its not as open world, have half as many places to visit, and not as many quests as the Elder Scrolls series it is just as much fun. I like to play games for their replay value and this game will have me going on for months to come.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bowlderlands 2

posted by Jadabase (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 21, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Great game play and great story, really fun to play, but i think the the UI on the first borderlands was more User friendly, but that's my opinion. Overall awesome game!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse