Buy Bodycount for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Bodycount

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
4.0

1816 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
4

Weak

Needs alot of work

posted by IAmWarrior21 (PLAINFIELD, IL) Sep 20, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

11 out of 11 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was fairly disappointed in the execution in this game. The game in NOT like any other shooter I've ever seen, restricting your ability to aim down your iron sights, giving enemy's a huge amount of health, and no way of telling your own health.
Bodycount is a game that doesn't have a storyline, puts a gun in your hands, and lets you shoot at things. And I'm alright with that. But when they take the thing your supposed to do, shoot people in a mad frenzy, and make it incredibly difficult, it starts to get very frustrating.
Other than a almost impossible shooting system, enemies that can take a grenade to the face, and a false sense of achievements, (When you start up the 2nd mission, you get a 50G achievement) this game could have come out pretty well. Codemasters wanted to make a shooter like no other, and they sure did, but in a bad way. Its worth picking up and giving a try, though

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

awful

posted by Alessa (JOHNSTON, RI) Sep 2, 2011

Member since Apr 2008

43 out of 49 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

an FPS where you can't aim and move at the same time, nuff said, this game is complete garbage. I tried multiplayer too, sat in a full lobby with everyone "ready" for 20 mins and the game never started. Don't even waste a rent on this one guys.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Not That Bad!

posted by ruland (RENSSELAER, NY) Jun 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2008

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First off for all the boosters this game is a fun play through with an average shooter's game length. On easy I netted 575 gamers just playing it.

For everyone else out there this game is not as bad as they say. I'll keep it simple. It's not Gears, COD, or anything like any of the other high profile games out there. The other reviewers are right in saying that it does play very "Arcadey". Also as everyone is saying there is a pretty thin plot line.

The controls are pretty standard shooter fare however there are two HUGE differences. There is no true iron sight. You just aim with a reticule and all you can do is zoom into a closer reticule by pressing left trigger HALF WAY. This didn't bother me at all but being over 30 years old I've lived in a world that didn't always have iron sights. Second notice above I said HALF trigger. Thats because full trigger locks your character in place without being able to move. Many people say it's BS but I kind of thought it was a cool mechanic. With your character locked you can stand, crouch behind cover, and lean around cover to shoot your enemies.

I really had a good time playing this game because the gun mechanics are great. The weapons feel like they have weight to them and it's nice you don't really need to worry about ammo. This game wants you to spray the lead. There aren't many guns to choose from but there is a decent variety minus a sniper rifle.

The graphics I thought were really quite good. I mean it's not Rage or Crysis but it definitely had a Borderlands feel to it which is far from a bad look.

All in all this game was a fun play through. It encourages you to blow stuff up, spray lead, and shred through sheet metal and wood to destroy your enemy. If you are a shooter fan in between games right now and want a quick stress reliever try this game out. I would have kept it if it was co-op split screen.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

worst fps

posted by TW2N (BRONX, NY) Sep 13, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

20 out of 23 gamers (87%) found this review helpful

this game looks good but the gameplay makes it a terrble fps. The graphics are good and the map layouts are great. The game made me wish i could play it with better gameplay styles similar to other fps. aiming is difficult to control and to hit targets. aiming is no different from just hip firing. i wouldnt recoomend this game for someone to play or rent.the whole tme playing this game i was saying who the f would make the controls like this.im done!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

This game belongs in the trash

posted by BlackDahlia656 (GILLETTE, WY) Sep 15, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

i just got this game shipped to me today and ive only played it for about 30 minutes and its definately one of the worst shooters ive ever played. the enemies are just plain stupid. they can throw a gernade at you when theyre not even facing your direction and it will always land perfectly at your feet with no sound to warn you. in the description it says it aims to redifine fps games. with that the biggest problem is you cant move while aiming down the sights, what were they thinking when they did that!? in any fps game you should be able to aim and move thats a huge part of these types of games. i saw some review and they all said its a terrible game but i thought id just try it out since i cant seem to get the games i really want when they come out even if i put them in my Q way in advance. and i can tell you that it was a huge mistake renting this i will usually play a game just for the achievements but this one is going right back. TRUST ME WHEN I TELL YOU NOT TO EVEN WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS TRASH!!!! WORST GAME EVER!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Horrible

posted by SnowOkami (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Sep 1, 2011

Member since Nov 2010

21 out of 27 gamers (78%) found this review helpful

I thought this game was going to be good seeing how so many people hyped it on being the successor of Black.

Well...

-Campaign is only 3 hours (Worse than SW: TFU2)
-AI is so dumb they often kill themselves with grenades or run away from you
-Many scenarios you are in a room filled with a bunch of mobs who will all start shooting at once, dropping the frame rate to the toilet and causing such a massive mess on the screen you can't see whats going on and die instantly
-There is no way of gauging your life bar, you just randomly die. Some enemies kill you quicker than others, but you have no way of knowing that until your hit with instant death
-Checkpoints are horrible, often times something I mentioned above will happen and the game will punish you by sending you back to the beginning of the area you were in
-The grading system is completely up in the air, I have no idea how it works or what its grading you based on but I couldn't get anything better than a C even when I went without dying and blew away anyone that stood in my way
-Everything in the game screams generic, the voice acting the models, the levels etc

I could go on and on. It's not even worth the rental, I didn't even bother with the multiplayer because everyone else says its worse than the campaign.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Overreacting. The game is not that bad.

posted by Willbgamer (BOSTON, MA) Dec 14, 2011

Member since Mar 2011

6 out of 9 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Honestly I think people are always just hoping for CoD or Halo replicas and then complain when they are actually created, for being the very "lame" replica they asked for. The game to me was different, yeah iron sights weren't there but what it added for me....was a layer of fun that the CoD-like games do not have. They are too serious, which is fine for that, but i mean honestly sometimes i just wanna shoot stuff without having to act as if i was really there in the junk. And trust me i love some CoD and some Battlefield. To me the game was fun but, like all games, can always use improvements. It could have used more guns and gun customization, along with the option for Prone. For health you can tell btw, the screen is splashed with blood spatter and your controller vibrates. For enemy health i thought it was also fine...i Dropped over 75 enemies with headshots through the first stages as soon as I began playing. if your are looking for CoD or Halo...then go play them.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Not as bad as they say, but not that good either.

posted by PadreGamer (KIRKLAND, WA) Nov 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2007

4 out of 6 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Pros:

Graphics are quite good.
Weapons are fairly good (although not too varied).
Environment is relatively open.

Cons:

Controls drift.
Shooting while aiming moves you forward.

Moving while aiming jerks you (supposed to be "peeking").

[I don't need the game to "peek" for me, I'll do it when I want to,
whichever way I want to. It's an alarming trend in new games,
programmers thinking they can anticipate what we'll want to do
and doing it themselves for us. Irritating and disgusting].

Oversized icons (blue rings, red rings) spread all over the place
(indicating points, or energy, or something?) but actually blocking
the scenery.

Loud, absurd sounds at absurd times for absurd reasons (ding-doing!,
eeeoooo-boink!, etc.).

Female voice over not quite clear or distinguishable. I missed a lot
of her comments/instructions (and there's no option for captions).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bodycount Review

posted by Xboxftw (SEATTLE, WA) Aug 31, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

9 out of 18 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

From shooting bad guys to using weapons of the future Bodycount is defiantly a game to try out. However It is worth the rent and not to buy i give this game a 7/10. the campaign feels a little short but still fun, and i couldn't help but to notice the lack of weapons in this game. It seems like the G36 is the only weapon enemies through at you. There are some big machine gunners a future solider too. I have not finished the campaign but it feels like it is coming to an end, and I still don't know what the main characters name is. There isn't a whole lot of background story. This game has good graphics the ability to destroy cover it is nice to see the surrounding area effected by your shooting. I hate shooting a window in call of Duty and it just won't break. It add some realism to the game. The game is challenging It's not as easy as other games you can't just run out in the open. You can peak around corners and shoot. Witch is a nice Feature to the game. The Sensitivity is some what low but it works(I play with 90% sensitivity). Over all its fun definitely worth renting I haven't played the multilayer yet so this my not apply to it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Body Count Sucks

posted by usmcFerret (ORANGE, CA) Mar 10, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Dont get this game its one of the crappiest games i have ever played

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

dont waste your time

posted by bigguy92 (COLLINSVILLE, AL) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is horrible everything about it is horrific!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Bad controls

posted by Kalroy (BORON, CA) Jan 6, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The control layout was great, but the controls themselves felt loose and sloppy. Movement felt like ice skating. I sent it back the same day I received it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Complete trash!!!!!

posted by TheReese (MASCOUTAH, IL) Dec 20, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

i opened it played it for 5mins put it back in the sleeve and back into the mailbox

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Pretty neat game...

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Sep 6, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

7 out of 20 gamers (35%) found this review helpful

I am not too sure why so many people are complaining about this title... The game is very top knotch... It is like Brink but not as tacky and without the game functions no one used.

You play as a insurgent from a private contractor called "the network" . You are a stand alone soldier... Your goal is to infiltrate both sides in uprising Civil War and attempt to find the cause of the outbreak of the War. You can handle the objectives in anyway you like... Just try to not die.

The game story is very basic. You are given a series of objectives and you have to find your way to get to the objective in what ever way you can.
The maps are very large you have numerous ways of getting to the objective, you can go guns blazing or try to sneak through... Codemasters has even created a new destructible game-engine... Nearly every wall, floor, barrier, etc .. Can be blown to bits. Very creative and dynamic game physics.

The only bad things I didn't like is the very small and depth-lacking story. During playing I'm just wishing to know more about the network and my initial affilation to what is going on, but sadly there is no real background story.

The game is definitely fun... Its very fast paced... Beautifully designed levels... Neat game physics... But just a shy story that rarely shows what it is all about.

If you like first person shooters... You should enjoy this game--its fun and interesting... Try it out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Wow how do they get the money to make this dirt

posted by RAMBOSOTE (TAMPA, FL) Sep 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Feb 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

This is one of the worst tittles i have played in a while, to put it plain and simple this makes the last terminator actually worth playing.

My head hurt thinking about how they put this out.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not impressed

posted by Agolden56 (PLYMOUTH, MA) Aug 30, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

7 out of 28 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

I downloaded the playable demo for XBOX 360 from the marketplace. This game left a lot to be desired given that it is direct competition with CODMW line of games. The controls were not intuitive for a shooter and gameplay felt choppy as a result. The graphics left a lot to be desired as well. Perhaps we've been spoiled but all future FPS will be judged against the COD experience. Save your money/rentals for other shooters...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Whisky Tango Foxtrot over

posted by dalion82 (HOUSTON, TX) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Oct 2010

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Ok so I got this game in the mail not expecting COD but a fun shooter to pass the time and what I got was a monumental failure of a game. I usually try to look on the bright side of things but the best part of this game is when I got the text message saying that it was properly returned back to gamefly. There are so many bad things to say about this game that I'll only list my top three:

(1) No story what so ever. You honestly have no idea why your playing the game or why your trying to kill all these people.

(2) No variety what so ever from the enemies to the guns. You have probably five guns to use the entire game and there may be more but that will be explained later (see number three)

(3) On the fifth level the game glitches and the screen goes completely black with the exception of the HUD. I don't know if I had the special edition black out disk but that shouldn't EVER happen with a major release.

Over all this was disappointing and I attempted to give it a chance but this was two hours of my life I'll never get back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Racking Up Bodies!!

posted by mba1984 (LEICESTER, NC) Sep 28, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

Storyline- Doesn’t really have an unfolding storyline. You’re going from point A to point B mainly with some side missions to take on. It’s mission-based and objective points. Such as defusing bombs, going from checkpoint to checkpoint.

Controls- I believe it’s best feature! You have nearly unlimited ammo throughout, response rates to reload your weapon is smooth, doesn’t lag or freeze, haven’t found a glitch yet. Can’t complain, only compliment here!

Audio- You can hear each enemy coming your way as your game progresses. Hear every explosion and footstep. Only downside I can say is, when there are so many enemies, it can rather sound scuffled together in some parts and seems a little choppy.

Gameplay- Easy to follow and get the hang of quickly! You have a versatile and good range of weapons, I love the G36, if I said it right, it’s my weapon of choice. Everything is destructible! From the barrels full of gasoline to launching your enemies 100+ feet into the air with shooting a bunch of barrels and then going for a headshot for extra points and to earn Achievement Points too!

Repetition- This is the only real downfall, besides minor audio I listed above. You’re doing a lot of the same thing over and over. Hence, repetitive nature. However, it’s a very fun game and it feels like a combo of Bulletstorm smoothness when it comes to gameplay-likeness and in the same graphics category.

Overall- I’m going to give it an 8 out of 10. The audio issues were problematic in parts and the Repetitiveness of the game itself. I thoroughly am enjoying this game and knowing I love shooters, I may just keep this game for a good shoot ‘em up blow ‘em good time! If your looking for something that is going to last 30+ hours, then just rent it and have a blasty blast of bloody fun with this! It’s tons of fun!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awe Shoot!

posted by Billy1234744 (SAMSON, AL) Jan 20, 2014

Member since Feb 2012

Hello, I gave this game a higher rating than it had apparently been getting, because I rather enjoyed it. It is very fast paced, has good camera action, reasonably easy checkpoints to reach ( not too big a gap in between the checkpoints ) and here,s the big-gee, not a ton of different button combinations to try and remember or utilize, to advance or win the game. Just plain old shoot and go. Now I,ll admit it does get a little corny every once and a while, but it was still fun to play for recreational purposes and such. I don,t play these games to be given a hard time or a stressful situation, like some of them end up doing. All in All, it was a nice break from the grueling grind of trying to beat a game that was designed to keep you from doing just exactly that. Thanks Game-Fly like always, you,re a great service for gamers, See-Ya! Billy in Samson

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bleh what a horrid game...

posted by gamer4life747 (DAWSONVILLE, GA) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

I let my own self do judging for games and not let reviews and others let me be dissuaded... but dang were they right on this one. It is a poorly executed game. You may know the game is a generic shooter, you can't aim down sights. I was playing on second hardest setting, the setting I always play on first for all games, and I'm a hardcore shooter fan. I could not continue with the game. It took a lot of patience to get as far as I did then I finally just packaged it back up and sent it back. I suggest you stay far far away from this tragedy or you might be added to the... wait for it... BODYCOUNT!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Rental Only

posted by Nelly0717 (DAYTON, OH) Aug 2, 2012

Member since Aug 2007

Bodycount didn't even make it past my 1hr rule. That is play a game for an hour to get a feel for it. The graphics where just under the decent mark. The play control has something to be desired.

Over all the game is recommend as a rental only. I wouldn't buy this game, unless it was a bonus game as part of a pack of games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Bodycount

posted by Phattiger (APACHE JUNCTION, AZ) Jul 24, 2012

Member since Jul 2005

This FPS is another one of those games that has gotten a bad rap for being the one of the most unplayable games made. The reality is that it's not as bad as people have made it out to be.
If you are looking for a story that doesn't require you to use a little imagination to fill in the wide gaps that should be used to give a little background into the "Network" and the "Target," though it is my belief that they are mercenary groups and you're the last remaining operative, besides your handler who voice is the only thing you know about, you may want to pass this over.
Bodycount is certainly one of those games that even though spray and pray is the idea behind the title, that is the worst thing you can do in this game. Most of the automatic gun fire, when not "looking" down the iron sights will find it's way all around what you are aiming for, even in close quarters. Enemy A.I is not exactly intelligent, it's kind of like playing CoD online and you're against an army of 12 year olds. Yeah they are that "dumb." Playing the game on Hard has it's challenges though, about three shots put you down, but considering the fact that the only load time is the beginning of the level and death only means you press the A button and you're back to you last save point in a matter of seconds, a feature I'd like to see in a lot of FPSs, makes the frustration of dying over and over a little more bearable.
Navigating the level space can be a little difficult, large icons cover enemies and some other things of importance, and the radar system for enemies makes finding them a bit weird, enemies on top of your character tend to about about 5 feet away.
Over all the game is not as terrible as people have made it out to be, though it is not a game I'd be running down to the store to buy, not that it's on the racks anymore, it's worth a rent and a try, worst case being you don't like it and send it back, that's the point of a Gamefly isn't it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Bodycount

posted by FreakinBeast420 (LOVELAND, CO) Jul 12, 2012

Member since Jul 2012

Bodycount looked good at first where you just shoot people for almost no reason. And you can shoot through cover. But the game was executed in a rather unappealing way. There is is hardly traces of a story line, if the game intended to have one or not. The gun movements from side to side is a little shoddy, your health is quite low and the enemies are very difficult, even on the easiest difficulty. This game needs a lot of work, and is a fairly disappointing game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

wow

posted by Whiteboy92 (RAEFORD, NC) Mar 14, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

well im a huge fan of the black series so i rented this game! i will say it isn't bad all it needs is a longer campaign and some adjustments! (1) more weapons! (2) more levels have an time trial mode(3) make the online more exciting! (4) horriable story line feels like a version of army of two. (5) Codemasters needs to stick to dirt. other than that i found this game very fun and enjoyable!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

If you want achievements, don't stop here

posted by Stxyer (DURANT, OK) Feb 29, 2012

Member since May 2011

I don't know what's worse, the actual game or having my reality shattered with the makers of BLACK making such a terrible game. A lot of the game takes place in the ghettos of third world countries, and that's how the game acts. Survival isn't hard, but still sadly almost impossible. You'll take on hundreds of enemies.. but even worse, your own 360. Random freezes, glitched lobbies, all the works plague this game. So again, if you truly want to play the story (or lack there of) then waste a week of good gaming and give this hunk a try.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse