Buy Birds of Steel for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Birds of Steel

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
5.8

335 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

A True Flight Sim

posted by bamaman84 (TUSCALOOSA, AL) Apr 2, 2012

Member since Nov 2008

13 out of 14 gamers (93%) found this review helpful

This isn't an arcade game. This is a sim. It has a difficulty setting from "simplified" or "tough" to "simulator" or "down right hard." However, the game, I think has shown what a true flight sim can be on the 360 or any other console. This game may set a precedent for future sim games. The mission editor allows for easy or hard gameplay according to what you want and doesn't put you in a box with the same maps or missions over and over. It works with the Ace Edge (came with Ace Combat 6 collectors edition) flighstick (which I own) and makes it well worth the $40 price tag. I didn't like the controller feel of it but with the flight stick it really is a lot of fun to play. Great WWII game as well with over 100 planes to unlock and fly from many different countries. A beginner may get frustrated as the game is a little tough, but with time it becomes very fun. I wish this game could be mated with Ace Combat 6 with the best of both games being implemented. Great game for flyers. I give it an 8.5 out of 10. Graphics are average but the sound and gameplay are great.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great

posted by ColdPlague (MESQUITE, TX) Mar 29, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

The best WWII game to date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Okay

posted by BLAZINGBULLET1 (LEACHVILLE, AR) Apr 7, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 18 gamers (11%) found this review helpful

It wasn't as good as I expected it to be. The piloting was really complicated and the controls were hard.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Birds of Steel, very disappointing

posted by sfcook (KILL DEVIL HILLS, NC) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 21 gamers (10%) found this review helpful

I have played many aviation games, and after playing this game I am very disappointed with it. The game offers several flight control options, but after playing with them for several hours, I never found a control that felt good. In addition the graphics were very poor. I was very excited to get this game, but after playing it for several hours I immediately put it back in the mail.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

decent

posted by sfgarlicfrys (OROVILLE, CA) Aug 31, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

Not a bad game to play. Detail to the planes are good. The ground not so much. The controls are easy to learn.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Loses its gusto quick

posted by TX_Bounty (GILMER, TX) Oct 3, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

Semi interesting but repetitive. If your a old plane buff you might like painting it up and flying but the missions are kinda boring. Nothing impressive after the first day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

good game with bad graphics

posted by iced07 (JERSEY CITY, NJ) Sep 5, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

The game has a very good gameplay but the graphics a very poor.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game

posted by CBT (NAPLES, FL) Aug 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

If you love flying games, this is a great game. My dad and my uncle both fly and I showed them this game they loved it. We all love WWII games and this is a nice one. I don't like the fact you have to buy every plane but I understand where they come from they want you to use every plane and not just one. I also don't like how you earn cash. Otherwise it's fun, I enjoy it, it can be difficult and discourage people, hopefully anyone who buys or rents this game will enjoy it like I have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Birds of Meh

posted by SirKoenig (HOBOKEN, NJ) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Apr 2011

I wouldn't say I'm a HUGE fan of flight sim type games, but they do provide a nice distraction from time to time. The only thing this game has going for it is the ties to historical battles. Everything else, I thought, was super weak. Graphics? Really bad. Gameplay? Not good. Music? On the loading and home screens, AWESOME, but in game? Bad. On the "simplified" setting, this game is WAY too easy. It's literally like "Fly here, drop a bomb, go home, mission complete." And on simulation, it's ridiculously hard.

Final Word: If you're a big flight sim buff and enjoy historical WWII battles, this is your jam. If not, look elsewhere.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Good game. But bad graffics

posted by Thenickster4912 (NORTHRIDGE, CA) Jul 13, 2012

Member since Jul 2011

The story is really good and it really pulls you in. But the grafics are not as well as the game ply. Not as realistic as the preview shows.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »