Buy BioShock Infinite for Xbox 360
view large frontback

BioShock Infinite

Buy

Used: $14.99

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
8.8

5919 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Must play title

posted by DisBonFire (NORTH MIAMI, FL) Jun 19, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Bioshock infinite is a visually captivating game with a great story and memorable characters. In the game you play as a man that goes by Booker and he has a job to save Elizabeth from her prophecy. As a gamer my first instinct was to think that Elizabeth was just going to be a huge burden that I would have to protect in battle but Elizabeth is no damsel in distress. Elizabeth is super helpful handing you cash while roaming and leading you to clues but she also hands you health packs and ammo DURING battle. All in all I think this game is a great buy for anyone looking for a great FPS that comes packed with an ending that will have your mind blown for days.
+ Great graphics
+ Awesome storyline
+ Memorable characters
+ High replay value
- A boss that is recycled three times (only con I can think of)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cool but way too short

posted by dizzledorf (PORTLAND, OR) Apr 24, 2013

Member since May 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Glad I rented it, bc I beat it quickly. I did love the graphics and immersion in the story, but after monument island it takes such a dark turn that it lost the original luster and glory that you experience when you first land in columbia. i didnt really like bioshock 2 so i delayed playing this game, and while i did like it much much better than its predecessor, i still am glad that i just rented it. nothing worse than spending 60 dollars on a game you play and beat in two days. the ending was a bit of a mind$&%.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Amazing, potential game of the year

posted by CylanthMN (MINNEAPOLIS, MN) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Jun 2011

1 out of 1 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Positives: Incredible atmosphere, great gameplay, riveting story, fantastic voicework, tight combat mechanics

Negatives: Some graphic bugs, but nothing jarring.

Summary: If you loved BioShock and you enjoy shooters that make you think, you will have a great time. Remember the first time you went to Rapture in BIoShock? This brings back those memories of awe...and suspense. A definite must play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Not GOTY status but still amazing

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 16, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Irrational Games did crazy good work with Infinite, creating one of the most amazingly unique campaign shooters ever. I don't think it's GOTY, but it felt every bit as amazing as any other Bioshock game, with American/Industrial Revolutionary throwback style.

Infinite is as close as they come in terms of perfection, even though I did have 3 frozen games. The epic story heavy campaign is rich with both killer shooting mechanics and set pieces and great story telling and voice acting. The graphics and amazingly detailed environments and cities help paint a very realistic picture of this floating city in the sky and almost make it seem real. But it's still all about the shooting.

And Infinite's gun feel and sound are second to none. Each gun feels and sounds unique, and they all can be upgraded. The VIGORS you acquire are new and plentiful, also offering room for leveling them up to your heart's desire. New Vigors like Bucking Bronco send your enemies flying high like in Bulletstorm, only to be easily picked off while flailing helplessly in the air waiting for your shotgun or RPG barrage. These vigors, like in previous Bioshock games, make it the game it is.

Your little NPC ally Elizabeth also accompanies you for most of the story. But it's not babysitting and you never have to worry. She in fact helps you by giving you coins, MP, HP, ammo, and even hints to secrets loot. You become attached to her, but ultimately make up one killer duo.

New heavy hitter enemies were fun to dispose of, but proved to be very difficult low on health. Infinite has just the right amount of difficult, but on 1999 mode it's BRUTAL when you face multiple enemies.

Infinite is almost perfect, but I can't point my finger to why I felt like something is missing. I can't think of what it is, but it felt incomplete, maybe because the dumb time travel ending left me with a sour taste in my mouth.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Would You Kindly Fall In Love...

posted by iMattheW (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 25, 2013

Member since Nov 2007

26 out of 36 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

Can I just scream out "OMG!" and give you guys one of the quickest reviews, so you don't have to waste time reading, and I desperately want you guys to get right in the action!!!
(P.S) There are a lot of pros.

Pros+ The story is so deep, emotional, and downright awesome.

The graphics and art direction is the best I have ever seen
in this generation of gaming.

Elizabeth will have you falling in love with her throughout
this amazing journey. SHE MATTERS TO YOU!!!

The world/atmosphere of Colombia is so detailed and
breathtaking you will want to stop and just listen to the
people as well as you and Elizabeth conversations.

Cons-
Just ONE! It was a tad-bit short, and it kills me to say it but
I was very disappointed in the length but do not worry
there is a lot of replay value, it's just I was hoping for a
20-30 like the original Bioshock.

Anyways the game was amazing and if you are a hardcore Bioshock fan like me that con would not matter to you at all, you will still find that 10-15 hours just so dang incredible. So rent the heck out of it or just buy the dang game it's worth the buy and the rent, it's not the worth of not picking it up and trying it, so if you are new to the Bioshock universe don't be hesitant to try it.
NOW THIS IS A REAL FPS GAME AT ITS FINEST:)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the GREATEST FPS I have ever played!

posted by aced018 (BROOKLYN, NY) Apr 1, 2013

Member since May 2012

14 out of 19 gamers (74%) found this review helpful

After 2 great installments of BioShock, BioShock Infinite has to be the greatest of its kind ever made! From the moment you step into Columbia, you become completely immersed in this alternate reality. Everything from the music, to the posters, to the conversations and interactions makes this world feel so well thought out and real. The controls are also very solid as well. One of the greatest things that a developer can do in regards to a sequel isnt to change the control scheme all together, its to build upon the one that previously existed and that is exactly what Irrational does. The plasmids have returned in the forms of Vigors and you still find a wealth of guns at your disposal with the new addition of the Sky Hook Gun replacing the Drill from BioShock 2. One difference that bothered me a bit was the ability to only carry 2 guns at a time. It was a minor inconvenience but was quickly overlooked. In addition to that, the storyline for Infinite is one that is truly unlike any that I have ever encountered in a video game. This story is so captivating and intricate that it would only have been expected in a movie or graphic novel. It really did set the bar up to a higher level. With amazing character development, solid controls, and deep emotions running through this game, BioShock Infinite is unquestionably a must have.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Blown Away

posted by copperremy Apr 1, 2013

7 out of 10 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

I've never played Bioshock but after renting this and playing for an hour I am blown away I'm definitely going to buy this game graphics are amazing gameplay is great. My only complaint is the save points are spread out very far I'd like to see a save anywhere system but still I can't put the game down anyway

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

One of the best titles of this generation

posted by Sideshow (JACINTO CITY, TX) Mar 26, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Sep 2004

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

Irrational Games deserves a standing ovation for their work on Bioshock Infinite. It's been an age since I really felt like my purchase was worth every penny but Ken Levine and his crew definitely did not disappoint on this one. While I could probably write an essay on why I like this game so much I will instead just highlight the key parts that really struck me.

Gameplay - In my opinion Infinite actually feels a lot more strategic than the first 2 Bioshock games. You can only have 2 weapons and have 2 plasmids equipped at one time so you really have to experiment with everything to really figure out what works for you. I think this might throw some people off because they are use to having a whole arsenal of fire power but it actually serves a purpose of keeping the gameplay fresh. The shooting mechanics are true to the original Bioshock games so you shouldn't have a hard time jumping into Infinite.

Visuals - This has to be one of the most visually beautiful games I think I have ever seen. I don't believe visuals should make a game what it is but there is no denying that Irrational put a lot of love into this department.

Story - While I haven't gotten too deep into the story I really feel eager to get to the games core to figure out what lies beneath the surface. There is obviously more than meets the eye with this place and the racial undertones make their presence felt right away. There are so many theories going on in my head as to what is happening in Columbia and that is what makes Bioshock games so much fun. The writers at Irrational have some brilliant minds.

Elizabeth - Last but not least I had to bring up Elizabeth. Gamers haven't seen a sidekick like her since Half Life 2 and it really is a breath of fresh air. It's really easy to become very protective of her as you fight to get her out of Columbia and you will feel eager to figure out more of her mysterious past.

Bioshock Infinite is storytelling and gameplay at it's finest. 10/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Carried by the Narrative

posted by SolensSvard (ROSEDALE, MD) Aug 22, 2013

Member since Aug 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The gameplay is pretty stale, but the story was phenomenal. The ending is one of the best conclusions to a game I've ever encountered. I would have rated this game higher but the action is relatively boring. 7/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

I liked it, but I want more!

posted by Tayot84 (MOUNTAIN HOME, ID) Jun 28, 2013

Member since May 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

For some reason, game makers think the best way to get you to like a game is to make you work for all of the cool toys you can get in a game and end it just when you fall in love with it. Annoyingly, it does. Trying out all of the weapons, all of the vigors, finding all secrets, and trying to learn about all the hidden parts of the story will increase your gameplay tremendously with no cost to fun. The story is good, the shooting is good, the vigors make for experimental fun.

What I didn't like was the lack of fun movement areas, the game hooks you on the sky-line parts where you can zip around shooting and diving on the helpless below, unfortunately these appear in big battles mostly and you have to walk the rest of the time. Your companion can also make weapons, allies, and tactical advantages for you but you don't get to toy with these since they are predetermined by the landscape. You will wish for more of each since they add to the level of creative fun you can have.

In short; I loved playing it, but hated that it ended with me feeling like the only way I was going to get more fun was by playing it over and over.

I recommend you rent this game, but for a long time!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of 2013, Enough Said

posted by MrDude (BURTCHVILLE, MI) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Jul 2009

8 out of 14 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

This might sound odd for those who haven't played, but this game will leave you spinning until the end. Graphics are good, sound is beautiful, gameplay works as expected without any gimmicks, voice acting is gold-no platinum. Although, above all, the story is something to be remembered for years. Doubt me, I dare you. Then play the game and realize that your doubts were really stupid. Heck, on my play-through I found almost no bugs at all...and the ones I did find were so minor that they proved no hindrance at all.

Game of the Year, Period.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

From the Sodom Below Will Rise Perfection

posted by Fobmuska (TUSTIN, CA) Mar 27, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Ladies and Gentlemen. This is not just a "Game."

This is a noble prize worthy accomplishment. Lets forget about the game play, the guns, the vigors and powers, the graphics, etc.

Let's talk about a powerful message that this game brings to our generation. Bioshock Infinite Graces humanity with such an artistic masterpiece that only comes along once in a lifetime.

Everything from how the city of Columbia came to be, How defining each character is, how the game reflects on humanities shortcomings and prejudices.

Drop whatever game you are playing, and put some time aside for Bioshock Infinite. It will literally change how you see the world.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Best of the series!

posted by WBH1981 (FORT OGLETHORPE, GA) Apr 3, 2013

Member since May 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Bioshock Infinite is somewhat overhyped and its greatness is mildly exaggerated. All that being said, it is a well crafted game that is almost perfect. The game's story drags in some places and the ending is unecessarily complicated for the sake of not repeating the general dislike of the first Bioshock's subpar ending. The weapons are great but its the floating air city Columbia that is the real star of this game. The amount of detail and design that went into this game is fantastic. Easily a contender for Best Shooter of 2013 but not flawless.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Let's Just Say...

posted by hifructose (ATASCADERO, CA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Dec 2008

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

...attempt sorting Lowest User Reviews to be the first to show, and take note of the absence of every number but a 10. Every review is exclamatory and chalk-full of praise.

I wouldn't have it any other way, this will be the Game of the Year. Irrational hopefully sets an example of delaying games for development, because DAYUM those three delays reaaaaally paid off! I bet one of them was entirely for that hummingbird one reviewer was sidetracked by...

In all honesty, aren't we tired of giant game companies Copy/Pasting their own games year after year, proposing them as sequels?

Sure it was good the first time, now do something with those millions of dollars from the Season Pass for DLC bs AND the game itself. DO SOMETHING NEW LIKE IRRATIONAL!!!!

Get the game, buy it three times at least to fund the next Irrational venture ;D
After all, BioShock is supposedly planned to be a SEVEN game series............

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply Amazing

posted by Itzz_HK (CHRISTIANSBURG, VA) Mar 31, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

My hype surrounding this game was crazy. I preordered this upon the announcement before E3 2011. This was an important game for me, and I can say that every one of my expectations was shattered. The gameplay is smooth and extremely satisfying, the art and textures are all beautiful (even on console), and the story is a wonderfully crafted writing about multiple different themes. Don't even bother putting it in your Q. Just go buy it. This is one of the best games that has come out in a long time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

No Doubt One of the Best Games of the Year

posted by marksmanjake (TAVERNIER, FL) Jun 3, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't want to sound like another fan boy saying this is the best game ever. But I want to genuinely tell you that this is a game that you have to experience. The world, the characters, the gameplay, the visuals, the story, everything comes together beautifully to create a videogame masterpiece.
I had been anticipating this game for a while because I saw something special in it, something that set it apart from all of the Call of Duty's and Halo's. This game has a true personality.
The visuals are breathtaking, the first time the city of Columbia is revealed to you is unforgettable. Bioshock has had a reputation of making the environment part of the characters and story in the game, and it's no different here. It's vibrant, it's bright, it's alive, and it portrays a rendition of a perfect American society that never existed.
The characters are extremely fascinating. Booker is a hard-nosed Pinkerton agent sent to rescue Elizabeth from Columbia. Elizabeth is one of the most captivating and awe-inspiring characters in a videogame I've ever seen. You feel for both of these characters as they try to survive and escape while everything is working against them.
The combat is superb. The guns are awesome, the vigors are sweet, the sky-line is a ton of fun, and Elizabeth is a huge help during combat. She'll throw you ammo and health and she can open up tears in universes through her special powers.
The story is very well done and very immersive. You just want to lay back and take in the atmosphere around you. Infinite has probably one of the best endings I've ever played in a game as it stuck in my mind after a couple of days. It may be confusing but if you really pay attention, you will understand.
Some gripes I had about the game are that it's a little too short and there were some things left out that were shown in the awesome trailers.
Infinite is an engaging and captivating experience. It's so unique because it can only be expressed in a videogame. It is a must

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game,bad ending

posted by DFiore (BRACKENRIDGE, PA) Apr 2, 2013

Member since Apr 2013

6 out of 13 gamers (46%) found this review helpful

The Good:

Infinite is a beautiful looking game. A polar contrast to the grim,dark and depressing Rapture. Columbia is full of vibrant colors,rich scenery and at times more immersive than Rapture was. The story is the main draw of this game. It is certainly deep,complex,riveting and keeps you hooked from start to finish. With interesting and complex characters that you quickly care for and want to know more about. Looting and scavenging is addictive and adds fuel to the game while never feeling derivative of the overall experience. You will certainly want to loot everything in sight and find the voice recordings to learn more about Columbia and its resident's past. Elizabeth is the real star of the show here. With amazing voice acting,jaw dropping powers and a deep connection to the character make her much more interesting than anyone else in the game,while being very helpful in combat tossing you health,ammo and salts in times of need. Combat is simple yet addictive. Acquiring and upgrading new vigors is a blast and keeps gameplay from feeling like a generic FPS.

The bad:

While the world of Columbia is rich and vibrant,on a technical level Infinite is not a very impressive game. Muddy textures and cartoonish looking characters can at times take you out of the experience. I would have liked to see a wider variety of vigors to play with. While the ones given can be useful and fun,some are much more useful than others. Along with the vigors I would have liked to see a wider variety of weapons,instead of slightly different models of the same weapon which felt like a cheap attempt to add variety.While the characters at hand are interesting,I would have liked to see some of them fleshed out more and given more screen time.

The ugly:

The ending left me perplexed,confused,and overall disappointed. Leaving far too many plot holes that can only be speculated upon with no concrete explanations. It really tainted what was an overall amazing and unique story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

One of the most overrated games I've ever played.

posted by REDinSOXicated (SAN ANTONIO, TX) May 3, 2013

Member since Oct 2011

9 out of 20 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

And I don't necessarily mean that in a bad way. On its own, its an average game. Being a huge fan of the first game, its story, gameplay and especially its creepy environment I find that Infinite does not live up to its predecessor. The controls are dodgy at best and can be completely unresponsive; having to jump onto a crate, crouch, re-angle my view about 15 times so it finally realizes I'm trying to pick up some salts/silver eagles and not trying to search a provision crate again is a bit annoying... after the tenth time its quite insufferable. The controller sensitivity is also very frustrating with its bad acceleration. For the actual gameplay itself, I was disappointed to see so much shooting, it feels and plays like any fps but with magical elements. It was entirely too repetitive, but I did enjoy a few of the vigors and their uniqueness. The graphics were good and its a beautiful game visually, but that alone does not warrant the 10s I keep seeing. The story is interesting and is a bit more intricate (not better) than the first Bioshock. I wish the gameplay would have reflected it more; for such a deep, albeit convoluted Inception of a storyline the gameplay was quite trite. I felt the ending was full of fan service and there just to make fans of the original happy, even though it didn't. Plus it didn't really seem like it needed to be in there, considering what they're implying is not too difficult to infer. All in all, I did enjoy playing it for the most part and was able to grit my teeth through it in a few days on hard. But in the end it feels and plays like an average fps with above average graphics, but even those graphics don't save the lacking atmosphere, simple gameplay and unnecessarily elaborate story.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Saving Issues

posted by Gabrielign (GLASTONBURY, CT) Aug 5, 2013

Member since Jun 2005

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The screen read "auto save" but, when you restarted the game, it was waaay back in the story. It happened to me twice and I returned what otherwise was a good game. This is my first review after 8 years of membership.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

The Ending!!!

posted by fire5idedata (CRESCO, PA) Jun 1, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

this game has an ending that can even rival bioshocksones plot twist.

the combat is flawless where you fell in control of the battlefield using Elizabeth to morph things in and out existence.

the vigors and also great although the upgrades and a bit pricey in my opinion.

One of the best parts of this game is that you get attached to Elizabeth to the point where if someone takes her you want them dead instantly.

this is by far the best Xbox 360 game i have played to this date.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Meh why not beat it?

posted by iPlayAnything (MONROEVILLE, PA) May 30, 2013

Member since May 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The game was pretty short I beat it in about 3 days working 9-5, but the game over all is worth playing the story is pretty interesting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Unbelievable

posted by StTrdamus (BROWNSBURG, IN) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Mar 2008

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

In the first 2 hours of playing BI, I spent ten minutes following around a hummingbird in one of the gardens. I was completely mesmerized by this little virtual bird because it was absolutely perfect. It was flitting from one plant to another, just being a hummingbird. This bird means nothing (yet, at least) to the plot or the gameplay, but Irrational put so much love into this little bird that it, simply put, came to life.

The point of that is this; if Irrational is willing to put that much into a meaningless hummingbird; enough to make me divert from the story to follow it around; then imagine what they've done with things that matter. Everything I've seen at this point (4 hours in) has been fully realized. This floating world is completely alive.

I liked the first two games in the series, but so far Infinite is the best game I've played in years.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BioShock Infinite

posted by CodyAppreoti (CLINTONVILLE, WI) Mar 27, 2013

Member since May 2012

4 out of 9 gamers (44%) found this review helpful

This game blows me away.. gaming at its finest.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A little Disapointed

posted by giggzy (KENNESAW, GA) Mar 28, 2013

Member since Apr 2011

5 out of 12 gamers (42%) found this review helpful

I was a little disappointed with this game for multiple reason. The big reason is because it doesn't feel like bio shock. it doesn't feel like the creepy under water city of rapture. And i think that if you gave someone this game and they never saw the name never herd about it but played bioshock 1 and 2, i bet they would never guess it was even a bioshock game. I still think its an excellent game, but its not bioshock. I think it will have been better off if they just changed the name entirely. I know it would require some tweaks because some parts of this game have rapture and use the lighthouse to explain the ending but that's not much tweaking.

Some of the more minor errors would be if you play this game for hours at a time it just gets boring. I didn't see many glitches, but the one I did see defiantly annoyed me. It was a scene where you needed Elizabeth to continue but she was stuck in a wall so i kept calling her and calling her but she never came i eventually just reset the console it set me back a ways but it worked. Overall I loved this game its a very good game and worth the money. but with those errors in MY opinion it didn't deserve a 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Man what a Game

posted by walesca (CANTON, MA) Mar 26, 2013

Member since Nov 2011

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

Hands down one of the most gorgeous graphics I ever seen , the story fits well into the game I'm loving it , sadly no multiplayer :c but the story is long enough to keep you busy . At first I thought this game wasn't going to be a big deal but I saw more of the gameplays and let me tell you something , the wait was really worth it , if your a Bioshock fan or just started even with the series , try it out , NO better yet , Buy it because this is the Best 2013 game to be released so far trust me .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse