Buy BioShock 2 for PS3
view large frontback

BioShock 2

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360

New!Available For Download:PC Mac 

GF Rating
7.8

8514 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Bioshock is back and better than ever

posted by Tsukune (TULSA, OK) Mar 19, 2010

Member since Nov 2009

40 out of 48 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Let me tell you something about Bioshock 2. First of all, to let anyone know who is actually going to read this, I only played the demo for the original Bioshock so I'm not going to be constantly comparing Bioshock 2 to Bioshock in the review.
There are very few games out there that just ooze style, atmosphere and personality quite like Bioshock. I'm glad with what 2K did with their title and it impresses me at how they delivered. The story is a bit different this time around as now you actually play as a Big Daddy and you have a main antagonist. Without revealing much of the story, I'll go ahead and list out the pros and cons:
Pros:
Graphics- Bioshock 2 is captivating and it really makes you feel like your mentally trapped in the terrible city of Rapture. Water effects are top notch, and everything else just looks great. Very nice, 2K. very nice.
Story/Presentation- Little Sisters, Big Daddies, Splicers, robots, all things Bioshock are included and its wonderful. The atmosphere is creepy as you run about the ruined city and you can tell Rapture is breaking down more and more every second. I'm glad to say the story is interesting and the audio diaries expand on it nicely.
Sound- I love the 50s style voice actors and the classic music. The overall score absolutely fits with the theme and style of Bioshock 2.
Gameplay-Playing as a Big Daddy, specifically subject Delta, is totally awesome. You can shoot, drill, and plasmidize anything in your way as you make your way to your next destination. Hacking is so, so much easier and bearable this time around and everything works together great.
Replay value-Good. The main story takes around 10-12 hours and there are many things to unlock! The multiplayer is actually fantastic and is a lot of fun so you'll be busy for a while.

Cons:
The framerate drops when there is a lot of action going on-screen at once, but its not too bad.

Bioshock 2 is fantastic game to own or rent. 9/10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good! Just not Great.

posted by kmalk10 (LEANDER, TX) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

33 out of 44 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The first time I got my hands on this game, I was rolling in fits of excitement and anticipation. I played the multiplayer first - very impressive! You get to choose between 7 citizens of Rapture during the fall of the city (1959) and you get your very own apartment which serves as a home base where you can customize your character, edit your loadouts, check stats, etc.
But what I was REALLY anticipating was the single player campaign. Without saying too much, I will say that the story is not as mysterious or atmospheric as its predeccesor. The storyline feels kind of pushed along, and also the progression of levels seemed like they had less depth. In addition, I came across more glitches then I would have liked. Just minor snags in the visuals, random tape recordings turning on, and some lagging...
With all of that said, the gameplay itself is AMAZING! All of the new weapons are a blast to use, and you get to do all kinds of new things -this time around you have a much bigger selection of traps, gene tonics, and plasmids at your disposal. There are plenty of recordings to find around, but that ties back to the storyline.. they basically took the antithesis of the first story to use (Collectivism vs Individualism) which is all fine and good, but many of the side stories felt tacked on.

Overall, both modes of play are really entertaining and worth checking out. Bioshock 2 is definately a game worth buying, if not for the single player campaign, then for multiplayer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Big Daddy equals Big Awesomeness

posted by kahncory (VALPARAISO, IN) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

22 out of 35 gamers (63%) found this review helpful

I'm gonna be honest...I've only played the first two levels of this game, but all ready by and far this is the better of the two games...I mean who didn't want to wield the big daddy drill and go have some fun, and on top of that you get to use plasmids. So far the story has been at least as good as the last one if not a little better...you get a little bit of back story as to the original game that you didn't learn then...and with the addition of the big sister (whom will flatten you in an instant if your not careful with her) what's not to love. If your a fan of the original this is a must rent and possibly a good purchase...if you've never played the first...what are you waiting for? Go rent it beat it and get ready for sister.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

tried of xbox fans

posted by dogboy1234 (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

11 out of 19 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

im sick to my stomach from the people who say this game sucks this game is the best shooter out there other then cod buy this game there are many xbox fans who are mad that this game came to the ps3 so they come on here and give it bad reviews. great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun to play but it's buggy, and looks dated.

posted by JustinGlen (ROUND ROCK, TX) May 1, 2010

Member since Oct 2007

6 out of 11 gamers (55%) found this review helpful

Bioshock 2 is practically the same as the first - takes place in Rapture, an underwater city. The game-play is nearly the same as the first and it's fun to make progress, especially when you're more than a halfway through and have reached the point of domination against your foes. Then you decide to save your game - overwriting your previous save from 3-4 hours ago and then your saving progress bar freezes on 83% and ultimately corrupts your save file.

Apparently it's a very common bug on multiple platforms including PC. For me, unreliable software is unacceptable and I plan on not playing through it again. So make sure you save often, and creating new saves every time; I didn't and so it ruined my experience.

The graphics in my opinion are terrible by today's standards. Bioshock was a great game a couple of years ago and is one of my personal favorites of all time. I finished God of War III just before I started on Bioshock II and I could not believe the low-resolution quality of Bioshock's graphics. Needless to say I was mortified by it; I almost thought I was playing a PS2 version. For me, this is an epic failure [not sure who to blame so I'm going to point to the developers at 2K] not take the visuals to another level.

Overall I enjoyed making progress [I got as far as saving my second Little sister at Dionysus Park] but the save/crash-bug is unacceptable, and the graphics engine is severely dated and of such low-quality compared to games of the same genre [Fallout III], for me - it's disappointing.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Freaking Sweet!!!!

posted by u222648 (DENVER, CO) Feb 24, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

8 out of 15 gamers (53%) found this review helpful

This game was awesome!! Its really pissing me off reading all the reviews where people are complaining about it being very similar to the first...Why is that such a bad thing???!! Obviously the original was sweet and they did everything right, whats wrong with just continuing what already worked from the beginning?? I'm sure if they totally changed things up people would be upset too..Cant please everyone..
They def. tweaked a few things and made simple adjustments (obviously they listened to people's constructive criticism)..
Overall I'm glad things stayed the same for the most part...for there was NOTHING wrong with the original.. so why change anything??!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Bioshock 1.5 maybe

posted by DoubleGulp (TUCSON, AZ) Feb 11, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

8 out of 16 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I've really looked forward to this game for a long time, well, since the first one came out and I played the he11 out of it. But I can't get past the fact that I feel like i'm just playing add on content for the first game. Don't get me wrong playing as a big daddy is cool, but he seems way underpowered from what I remember from Big Daddy in the original Bioshock, it just feels like i'm playing as Jack in a funny costume. There's nothing in this game so far that's really stood out and made me feel like this is a fully fleshed out sequel. Still, Bioshock is a great FPS so I'm not gonna complain too much about playing more of the same when the original was so good. I don't know if I would recommend buying this one to anybody, but certainly add this one to your list and enjoy the 10 - 15 hours worth of story and gameplay it has to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

More of the same

posted by Eldric1 (NEW BERN, NC) Feb 24, 2010

Member since May 2006

6 out of 12 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not much to say really. If you liked Bioshock, you will like this game. It seems more of the same. Being a Big Daddy I thought I would be able to walk my way through the splicers, but no, you are about as tough as the first protagonist. It is fun, but wanted something different, that is why it got a 7.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Just Ok

posted by Devin1498 (FALMOUTH, MA) Apr 23, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The professional game media overrated Bioshock 1, in this reviewers opinion. It was a good game, albeit not a particularly deep or revelatory experience. There are other games that have melded the shooter and RPG genres, and posed moral quandaries to the player with greater results (ie---Deus Ex).

That said, Bioshock 2 largely rides the formula of Bioshock 1. Its highly imitative, and the law of diminishing returns applies.

Although you play as a Big Daddy in B2, the mechanics are largely the same, the protagonist merely allowing for some new weapons. The over world of Rapture, which is the real reason the original was so praised, loses much of its luster. Most of the environments, while not exactly bad, don't show any new dimensions to the once exhilarating underwater city.

The antagonist of the game, like that of the first, is basically a big brother type overlord, whom espouses grand, sweeping ideological sentiments. There are apparently differences in the content of the ideology, and this time the antagonist is female, but the differing content renders an identical conflict.

Again, players won't be too impressed by the evolution of Bioshock as a franchise, in the sequel. Hardcore fans may appreciate it through a prism of nostalgia, and it is solidly produced, but it doesn't offer anything substantively new to make it recommendatory.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

100% awesome

posted by explicit1 (LARGO, FL) Mar 2, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 6 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Story is great , gameplay is awesome , multiplayer is relentless. When you reach level 40 , you are pretty much indestructible , feel sorry for the newbies . Bioshock 2 is well worth buying , great game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

really fun

posted by tru2dagame (SAINT CLAIR SHORES, MI) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Dec 2006

8 out of 17 gamers (47%) found this review helpful

if you have not played the first one dont play this one lol, it is harder story line and graphic are great.... it is harder than the first folks
now as multi goes fun fun fun i play alot of call of duty and its a nice change

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Excellent sequel falls just short of original

posted by tjsmoke (NORTHAMPTON, PA) Dec 8, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2008

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

"Bioshock 2" takes us back to the city of Rapture, eight years after the original game introduced us to this Utopia under the sea gone very wrong. The game starts off interestingly enough, with the player being shot, only to be resurrected as one of the original Big Daddies, Subject Delta. No longer is Andrew Ryan in charge. Rapture now rests in the hands of Sofia Lamb, who is pretty much the "anti-Ryan". Your tasked with finding and rescuing a very special Little Sister, and so begins another journey in this fantastically realized world. The gameplay hasn't changed much from the original, with one exception: You can now wield a plasmid with one hand, and another weapon in the other, making for some nice combo attacks. As a Big Daddy, you have a drill at your disposal, as well as a rivet gun, heavy machine gun, and a shotgun. All weapons can be upgraded as before, and they have 3 different types of ammo. The familiar plasmids return, enabling you to electrocute, incinerate, freeze, or telekinetically fling items at your enemies. The Splicers make their return, as do Big Daddies, along with a formidable addition: Big Sisters. Again there is plenty of exploration to do, as well as combat, and the controls work smoothly. The framerate does drop on occasion, but nothing too bad that it ruins the game. The creepy atmosphere is still there, but the game isn't as unnerving as the first. It's still compelling, but the familiarity does take some of the edge off. You can still spend about 12-15 hours in Rapture in single player, and if you wish, you can continue with multiplayer modes. All in all, if you're a fan of the first game, this sequel is a must play, if not a buy. At the very least, this next chapter might hold you over until "Bioshock Infinite" hits next year. Enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Why this game is worth playing.

posted by larafan70 (OCEANSIDE, CA) Oct 3, 2011

Member since Dec 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

It is a very good game, almost as good as the first. Nice to see this new character in this world, and that they're including it in the story arc. You see references to her all over the game. The controls are easy to use. It's kind of like alternate history on a point in time I like, The thirties through the fifties. In an underwater utopia gone horribly wrong. I spend a lot of time into the wee hours of the morning. Challenging enough to make you come back for more. They should make more games like this.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Great Game But,

posted by L6636536 (PASO ROBLES, CA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

5 out of 11 gamers (45%) found this review helpful

I've played the original and seeing this game online it looked as if though it had alot of potential but i had some problems.

Weapons - You only really ever use 3 and the stealth mechanic intended for the spear gun is garbage.

Plasmids - Awesomely updated much better and easier to use

Combat - Decent for a few minutes then it becomes apparent that your only really killing the same two guys over and over and over.

Storyline - At first I asked whats going on? Then it made sense and then I stopped caring and barely remember any of it. The choices made have no real significant impact. Its either you have more plasmids or not.

Gameplay - The Map Makes me sooo mad. I actually ran in circles a few times because I havint the foggiest where I was supposed to go. The Storyline was'nt as engaging as I had hoped it to be. The Big sisters while cool arint all that threatening and I only saw two new enemies that didnt make much of a appearance and overall the combat was stagnant because one plasmid could end a fight at the beginning of the game.

Overall its a good FPS for the sake of killing people but the storyline doesnt add up when it clearly make its feeble attempts.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

NO WAY TO INVERT AXIS

posted by Barger (DENVER, CO) Mar 7, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

Won't let you invert the camera axis making it difficult to battle if you're used to always playing with axis inverted.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BioShock 2 to short

posted by ravenous (CORBETT, OR) Feb 17, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 7 gamers (43%) found this review helpful

i just got done with bioshock 2 and i liked it but it was a bit short for me thats about the only thing i dident like about it the online play was fun aswell

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

super overrated

posted by LittleMac5 (LANSING, MI) Mar 5, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 10 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

You have to really like shooters to enjoy this game.
Imagine the original DOOM and Castle Wolfenstein, re-done in a cheap ripoff of 1984/Ayn Rand type of setting, and you get this game.
The graphics and music are amazing, but once you get past the original thrill of that, there's nothing special about it.
I got bored with it in less than one hour, but I am not a super huge fan of this type of game, so that's probably why.
There's a lot of backstory and vocabulary you have to learn and pay attention to in order to get around.
If you love shooters, you will love this game, but if you're not knee-deep in this genre, skip it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Bioshock 2, more of the same

posted by mikeinva (HENRICO, VA) Feb 13, 2010

Member since Aug 2009

5 out of 13 gamers (38%) found this review helpful

The game just feels like you have done it all before...Still a decent game, but not anywhere near 'Game of the Year' material.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Don't get this game at all

posted by PS3TALAA (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Feb 2008

4 out of 11 gamers (36%) found this review helpful

i do not get this game at all, it's boring, weapons are just weak and controls are aweful. how could it get such a higher rating like resident evil 5 or uncharted and ...

for a shooting game, it fails. for game story, it fails again. for controls and aiming, fails too, and on and on and on.

thumbs down,
however, battlefield 2 is coming out; following RE5 gold; in cravings ...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Sci-fantasy marvel

posted by Ekuriox (FORT WORTH, TX) Feb 12, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2003

4 out of 12 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Anyone who has played BIOSHOCK, and loved it will love the sequel; the game hasn't changed any perspective of game play, interface, but it now has a fast paced Multi-player. Being a first person shooter, Bioshock2 has a very illusive story and scenario too captivate the gamer with. The course of game-play is like 2k's other title "The Darkness".

In continuing years after the first title: you play as a "Big Daddy" this time.
Underneath the waves, on the Ocean floor, lays the city of Rapture. Rapture was considered paradise when created. A place without the impact of the fascist/corrupted government.
Being at a depth of pressure under the ocean, Rapture was always in need of maintenance. "Big Daddy" were these, once people, creations that were genetically modified to withstand the force of the ocean. The residents of Raptures were given the ability to use these genetic enhancements for their own personal use.
Greed overwhelmed the so called paradise that Rapture was envisioned to be. Anarchy set its course. Rapture was overran by these genetically spliced people that took the name "splicer".

You being a Big Daddy are to try and fix the new problems that has risen.

The Sci-fantasy story of Bioshock is a very well developed concept. The game-play is, what I believe, not balanced at all. Being reason A of why I give the game a 8. They try to give a scavenging interaction, but the linear/one-way, Point A to point B game runtime, kills that whole interaction. If you could actually wonder around the world of Rapture it would enhance that concept. But no, you have small corridor maps and you can never go back from where you came.

The story is great.
The practical logic of the game: finding coral splitting and growing inside Rapture and the evolution of devolution(the splicers) will make you tell them to keep their mask on.
The replay-ability isn't that probable: the multiplayer isn't very unique.

If you liked the game "The Darkness"-- Bioshock2, is worth a rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Same Game Different Year

posted by DarkBaldur (RACINE, WI) Apr 25, 2010

Member since Apr 2010

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Upon receiving this game I was excited to be able to reenter the world of Rapture, to my chagrin, it hadn't changed much overall. Things are more run down and you play a Big Daddy with different guns. The enemies still hit just as hard on an armored big daddy as they did a normal person. You make the same moral decisions to harvest or save the Little Sisters. But in the end very little has changed to make the experience worth sitting through the second time. Some people will enjoy the monotony but many will not.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Big fan, big disappointment

posted by crunchyedg (MOUNTAIN HOME, AR) Feb 18, 2010

Member since Dec 2008

3 out of 9 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

I loved the first Bioshock and had Boishock 2 at the top of my Q since the day they added it to the list of games. However, I will not be finishing it. There is no option for inverting the Y axis. I play every shooter, first person or third, with an inverted Y axis and find this omission to be laziness on the part of the programmers. However, the graphics, as expected, are pure eye candy. There can be no doubt that rapture is a work of art. I do recommend this game to anyone that likes the franchise. Beware! If you play with an inverted Y axis, you’re out of luck.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not a good sequel

posted by Uncharted1 (BOULDER, CO) May 3, 2010

Member since May 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

this game was not as good aas the first one it didnt have the same feeling.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

BIOSHOCK 2!

posted by urman321 (DURHAM, NC) Feb 23, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Ok. i would just like to start by saying that this game is not worse than the first or that it's better than the first game, but it reached the expectations i had for it. the game brought back the world of rapture in the eyes of a big daddy. but not any big daddy, the first big daddy. you'd think that you would be a lot harder to kill and a lot stronger and cooler. one part is wrong though, you are still very vulnerable to all the splicers, but you have plenty of new stuff to make up for it. like the new 50 cal machine gun, and the big daddy drill. you also have some new plasmids that allows you to become a spirit and rome around striking your enemies with any plasmid you have and they cant do anything because you are unseeable and just a spirit(that plasmid might have been in the first but i dont remember) so the game is about retrieving your own little sister(whom is all grown up now) from the new leader of rapture, sophia lamb, who happens to be your little sisters mother. your little sister will be helping you a long the way sending you gifts and giving you info. so now as a big daddy you can adopt little sisters letting them gather adom for you when you reach a body that has it. all you have do is fight of a dozen splicers while she's gathering and survive the wave.
and as always you have the choice to rescue them or harvest them when its time for them to go into the vents. after you've went through a few of them the big sister will come for if you rescue or harvest. to let you know they come at you each time you harvest a little sister. so be a man and become a father you'll be able to go through three little sisters and there's more adom in for you if you adopt and rescue. it saves you the trouble from big sister and who doesnt like a challenge from a pack of splicers. there are some new enemies besides big sister there is also the tank and a lot of new big daddy's.
the multiplayer on this game is actually pretty fun to. i give this game a 9.5 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

awsome

posted by SonOfGonja (CARSON CITY, NV) Feb 9, 2010

Member since Jun 2009

4 out of 13 gamers (31%) found this review helpful

whoever likes a first person shooter game should deffinitely go with this game very good. i loved the shooting and the powers that you get like in the first one very cool. the story is very good so far just like the last one. so anyone who like a first person shooter game this is the game for you no doubt. good for a rent and even better for a buy just try it you'll fall in love haha. and not to forgett ur a big daddy SWEEETTTTT.....

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse