Buy Binary Domain for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Binary Domain

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3
GF Rating
7.3

1940 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
7

Good

Gears of War meets Lost Planet

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) May 18, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

6 out of 6 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

Binary Domain is a futuristic third person shooter that takes place in a time where humans have perfected robots and AI. Your main enemies are robots, or 'humans' that are actually cybernetic.

BD tried to utilize some unique gameplay concepts to differentiate itself from being another Gears of War clone. But those additions didn't add anything new to gameplay for me, making it just that...another lackluster 3PS.

It very much has the Japanese feel, like Vanquish or Lost Planet. And the stereotypes for every type of persona are overused to the point of exhaustion. For ex, they have the cocky American jock guy, the oversized meathead black guy, the smooth MI6 British guy, and the quiet cute little Asian girl.

You play the campaign as a team with your other allies (up to 4), each bringing something unique to the table, like sniping abilities, run n gunner, or explosives expert. You can change your team at certain points, and also upgrade their abilities and skills. I liked being able to customize and choose my team.

You can command your team with the d-pad to do certain actions, and with the voice active dialogue options (also using the headset if you want) you can speak instead of using the on screen commands. Based on your dialogue options, you can gain/lose partner trust, which can cause them to gain bonuses or stop listening to you.

But I found using the headset audio commands to be a nuisance and the dialogue options didn't add anything special for me. Those unique features fell totally flat, and I think the dev. was banking on those 2 things to separate itself from the pack.

BD is a fast paced action packed campaign that can take you 12 hours to complete. I hated the anti-American themes, and the multiplayer is horrendous; absolutely horrendous. It has potential but nobody plays and the game options are awful. BD is a great rental if you like 3PSs in general, but don't expect anything radical.

Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A Surprisingly Good and Underrated Game

posted by biggyDx (DOVER, DE) Mar 3, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

12 out of 13 gamers (92%) found this review helpful

Binary Domain is by no means a revolution to the genre, but it does a pretty good job of trying to perfect its gameplay in many different aspects.

As a third person shooter, the game puts you in the role of Dan as you fight through various areas of Japan with a group of soldiers from various nations. Your objective is to apprehend a programmer who has unethically developed human-like robots called "Hollow Children." Dialogue is pretty generic in most cases, but in a way its actually quite comical (in a good way). Even though you know the voice acting isnt all that great, you cant help but listen to the characters since they're pretty unique in their own rights.

You have a few weapon choices, with you and your squads weapons being upgradable along with equippable skills that either bolster your health or make you reload quicker. You can issue squad commands, which are a hit or miss sometimes, and performing well enough lets you build trust among your teammates. This trust factor doesnt become noticeable until later in the game where it affects the outcomes quite heavily. Enemies are relentless to say the least, and you can blast off individual parts to your advantage. Snipe an enemies head off, and they'll target their allies. Bosses are also well made and unique although the battles tend to linger on longer than they should, making them tedious after a while.

The game also includes Multiplayer, with standard Deathmatch and such and a Horde mode called "Invasion". It may hold you over for a week or so, but considering this game doesnt have much of a buzz and with other big name titles around the corner the multiplayer wont last long.

Pros:
Fairly decent story with interesting characters
Trust System and multiple endings
Upgradable weapons and usable skills
Good combat
Unique bosses

Cons:
The cover mechanic needs tweaking
Drawn out boss fights
Squadmates can sometimes be bothersome
Basic enemies arent varied enough
No New Game plus (upgrades s

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

epic story

posted by soulreaverr (MACON, GA) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

great story love it. for the voice best to use headphones so no other sounds mess with it and turn noise threshold to 20% worked best for me so i could give commands to squad mates. Great controls loved how fluid they were . more fluid when going to cover and movement . allot more fluid than future soldier . real smooth menu and game play noticed high fps felt more like i was playing it on my pc with a controller than my xbox thats how smooth it is. so all in all this game gets a 10 from me

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

i originally gave it a 7

posted by KeenanR (PENSACOLA, FL) Jul 5, 2012

Member since Jun 2010

2 out of 2 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

my 1st impressions of the game were not good. i thought it was a 7 because the voice recognition wasn't working for me as good it should have and the dialogue during gameplay was sub par and repetitive. plus i had just finished playing gears 3 an hour before i started this, a game binary domain gets compared to all the time, so it felt off.

but the more i played binary domain, the more i loved it and realized that some things they do different than gears is for the better. your character is more agile. (no roadie run)

the story is fantasitc with a few twists at the end and the voice acting during cut scenes is great overall. its has some humor sprinkled in that actually made me laugh out loud at times. it reminds me of a good big budget summer action movie. some of the action sequences were fresh and i liked them. i was very surprised at how good this game was. i hope they make a sequel and they implement voice recognition in a better way and use kinect so it works a lot better

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Amazing Game

posted by jtc545 (CAROL STREAM, IL) Mar 12, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

9 out of 10 gamers (90%) found this review helpful

I highly recommend this. Besides the satisfying gameplay, Binary Domain contains many interesting characters and a strong story. I wish games like this we're more recognized in the public eye

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Robots, Robots, and you guess'd it MORE RO

posted by Andrew14 (PICKERINGTON, OH) Mar 11, 2012

Member since Oct 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Binary Domain is an fast-paced action shooter.

Plot - In this game you play as Dan Marshall an ex-sergeant for the US army. The story takes place in Japan. Dan and a group of mercanaries are on a mission to find and contain a guy named "Amada", that is creating humaniod robots called and breaking clauses on the thing called "New Geneva Order". I would also say that the story is one of the best in a while.

Combat - The combat is pretty simple, it has a cover-system as you find in 95% of the 3rd-person games, while the cover system is really fluent, it still works. Another addition to combat is that if you own a mic that works for your Xbox, you can give your squad "Commands", I found this quite frustrating becuase most of the times, becuase whatever you say sometimes gets misinterrupted with another word, like I would be saying "Regroup" and it would say "Retreat". You can also upgrade your assualt-rifle and buy things called "Nanomachines" which upgrade your character.

Bosses - In Binary Domain, there are alot of bosses and mini-bosses, all of the fights are some-what unique and diffrent. I found that the bosses were accualy really fun, some might be somewhat annoying, but they're all intresting in diffrent ways.

Scenery - In Binary Domain, you go through many diffrent scenery, for example you go from a Sea Wall, to the streets of Japan, to the "Underworld" of Japan.

Multi-Player - In my oppinion, multi-player is absolutely terrible. It reminds me of MW3 fast-paced run and gun, but the gameplay compatibily dosen't work. It's not a normal type of server. You have to START the server for the game to begging, and since there's only like 3 servers at a time running, since no one plays online. If, the host goes AFK, you have to wait untill he comes back to play.
The horde mode is the same, it's like any other horde mode in any other games, but there's only 3 maps and they are linear, and not unique.

I would give "Binary Domain": A 7.5/8 out of 10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Binary Domain

posted by SwitchGear (GASTONIA, NC) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Sweet game! Some of the extra actions that have to be performed are a little irritating but overall a great shooter with a compelling storyline.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

What a storyline...

posted by MattSchnelker (LITTLE EGG HARBOR TWP, NJ) Jun 1, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Theres so many great ideas and things about this game. The storyline and plot of the game easily gets a 9.5. Starts alittle slow but has a great ending with pleanty of twists. This game has many great ideas like teammate voice control (Which worked 80% of the time for me). Another good idea on paper is the trust system. It basically is a system where the better you anwser things the more likely your teammates are going to listen to your voice commands. It really doesnt play a big role in the game, but it is annoying when your trust goes down because you were shooting a bot and they walked in front of you. WARNING you will get addicted and most likely sit down for hours at a time playing this game (As long as boss levels havent p'd you off to much)

Pros:
- Awesome storyline
- Well made characters
- A decent amount of customization

Cons:
- Not very many different weapons
- Boss levels were ailitle ...lengthy
- Teamates ALWAYS seemed to walk infront of me when i was mowing down "scrap-heads"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Underrated Game

posted by DLilly18 (ALBANY, OR) Apr 9, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Very fun game! really flew under the radar. I went in with really low expectations and came out amazed how actually good it was.

The only thing I have a problem with, is the controls are really clunky.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Darn what a ride

posted by Lazrus2000 (TACOMA, WA) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

When I heard about this I was expecting a poor man's Gears of War. This however kicks GOW's butt all over the place. The fighting is smooth the controls are responsive the voice commands are fun.
This has a really fun story with Characters that I actually care about with some plot twists that I did not expect. I really hope this is the start of a new series because I would definitely buy the next one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Binary Domain Xbox 360

posted by Strider56 (HUDSON, FL) Jun 19, 2012

Member since Nov 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Very entertaining arcade style shooter. Tons of action. Good for a couple of play-through's over a weekend. The weapon vending machines you encounter blink like a slot machine when you make a purchase and if you're lucky you'll win a bonus - I'd love to know what it's saying in Japanese when it spits out your prize. :)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Good Game

posted by truth73 (LOUISVILLE, KY) May 30, 2012

Member since May 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I like Binary Domain, graphics and sound are pretty sweet. The only knock i have against it is the voice command system.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Pleasently Surprised

posted by GhostBlade (ESCONDIDO, CA) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

This is a quality shooter with a solid story. The characters may ramble on longer than is neccessary with you making forced comments here and there but it does not take away from the intriuge of the storyline. The end is unpredictable which, after the credits, shows you a continueing story towards the next game. This game is a sleeper. This could have been a program on the SCFY channel. The story in my opinion kept me playin' and wondering what would happen next. Who do you trust? The bosses take some time to take out but they come down with repetitve fire at selected locations on their bodies from the advice of your squad. So have the subtitle setting on and make sure to read and listen carefully or you may be at a loss. The squad, which changes through the game with your selection of whom you choose to take along, have their own significant personalities. Facial expressions are defined with respect to their attitudes. Be nice to them and you will be rewarded with cooperation. The assault rifle comes equipped with a special feature that allows you to blast away multiple targets. This comes in useful at times when you need to blast through certain obstacles as well. Climbing ladders and picking up items are smooth and take little effort. The game flows well. Through your trek you can stop to use a machine which allows you to purchase ammo, medkits, granades, and other items to beef up you and your squad. You carry three guns with one always being a pistol and your selection of a variety of grenades. The graphics and sound added to the enjoyment I received from this game. Dan is realistic in his actions and decisions which made me more drawn to my character. This is a well thought out fun ride that is a definite rent. If you like or have played "Vanquish", than you will enjoy this game as well. Both are made by SEGA.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than i expected

posted by dre2012 (BAYTOWN, TX) Mar 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I guess ppl are right when they say a hyped up games usually falls short because there was no hype for this game so my expectation were low going into this game. amazing story i love the plot twists and the dialog. all said and plz rent this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Fun Game, Great Story, Awful AI

posted by Kratos94 (MADISON, MS) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Game is very fun, Great graphics, deviates from the norm in a game. only problem i had with it was the AI and voice recognition (Ur teamates run into your line of sight and voice recognition doesnt work well). But if u can get past the games suicidal teamates then you are in for a treat.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Binary domain review

posted by samurai_kyo45 (THORNTON, CO) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

If you are tired of shooting zombies, vampires or Russian terrorist then how about blasting robots Binary domain. A third person shooter game where you blast robots and transformers away. If you have play games like dead space then this game should be a breeze. One of the interesting thing in this game is the decision making and commanding your teammates. There is also an rpg element in the game where you could upgrade your teammates or yourself.

Good:
killing robots the cool things about the enemy is that you blow off a leg or arm they will still try to kill you just like terminator.

The trust factor is a new thing that the developers have created and are trying out. The way how it works is that what ever you say to your partners will effect you in combat. Its a nice new thing but I find myself taking on all the enemy without my buddies help.

The Bad
hmm one the things I kind of didn't like is the AI of your buddies example when you get shot down you ask for help they come half way and get distracted by something else and your almost half dead. Another is where they would get in your line of fire and you end up shooting them.

Overall the game should take a person 10 hours or so to beat my over all rant 9/10.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

not for me

posted by joshrem (SUN CITY, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 5 gamers (40%) found this review helpful

very repetitive run to a spot take cover shoot run to a spot take cover shoot etc. i need more to keep me going, but the story is really cool

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Steaming pile of DO DO

posted by 81artmonk (YUCAIPA, CA) Mar 17, 2012

Member since Oct 2011

1 out of 3 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

What's wrong with this game? I could spend more than the character limit talking about it. Let's just gloss over a few. Your partner in the game never shuts up. He talks non stop through out the game. The dialogue is horrible. It's like some 10yr old wrote the script for this game. The CPU control of your partners is hindering to your game play and annoying. You lose points for shooting your allies. points that you can use to upgrade in game and buy weapons. However, they routinely walk into your fire through out the game. You can be out in the open locking onto an enemy with your missile launcher and out of no where one or both of your AI partners will walk right into your line of sight just as your firing killing everyone including you. This is one of the major defects of this game. Your AI partners become such a nuisance in fire fights that you almost want to throw up your hands and surrender to the enemy. The game play is repetitive and lack luster. Fight foot soldiers, fight boss. rinse repeat. The AI and the dialogue coupled with your partner constantly talking and annoying you throughout the game left me wanting to shoot my console!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Wow great game

posted by prototype888 (NORTH LAS VEGAS, NV) Mar 2, 2012

Member since Sep 2011

3 out of 12 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

Ok i really never write reviews but i have to take up for this game. Ok if you like old school games with a twist of new school and your like me play games for the fun of then and not because you have no life and cant spend 23 hours a day on a game well this is for you. People say the craziest things about some of the coolest fun factor games. Not everyone can have a life outside of this so called video game world. People have some problems. Ok sorry of the rant gets really old. Now the game flat out super fun maybe the sleeper of the year so far. I Mean its good to get away from all the blood games and play something thats about robots. Story mode is great i mean the truth is like i said if you just like fun filled games with tons of action this is the one for you. Try not to get caught up in this world of war craft that these people play. Its a game to play oh, yeah thats right to have fun we kinda forgot thats what games are for. There is no need to brake out a book or a strategy guide like your a professor or something. Real people would understand what im talking about. Well with that said rent the dam game who cares send it back when your done and go for something else lol.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Dissapointing but still a fair game

posted by hisuphola (SKOKIE, IL) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jul 2007

1 out of 4 gamers (25%) found this review helpful

It needs to have good ratings so that they will make a 2nd and or the bits they did attempt (mainly the trust/ comment with allies)

But they decided to make this a classic action flick instead of a your story.

In other words it has the opposite of the standard RPG of these days, instead of having any options that are big / major part of the story, you get to have options during the gameplay. ---> aka you can't choose who to love, can't let anyone die unless it part of the 1 path story, can't effect the ending in any way.--> but you get to choose what to say during the less important times, but they still basically brush it off and act like you didn't mean it and will not ever mention it in the actual story / scenes, and instead just -+ trust which only = if they follow your orders which barely is needed, other than max difficulty maybe.

Still a fair game, and if you love classic action movies or have some how not seen enough, I am betting you will love it other wise just please rent, and give a 5 and up so they maybe make a 2nd that actually is not a movie and instead what it should have been or other companies like BioWare/Obsidian will see the features and incorporate it into there top notch games.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Garbage

posted by loder14 (COLLINGSWOOD, NJ) Mar 6, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 18 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

I have no idea what these other reviewers are playing, but this game belongs on a Playstation in 1998. Terrible gameplay, lame bosses, weak controls. Terrible.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

oh my god

posted by BROCK_SAMSON (FOREST FALLS, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since May 2011

1 out of 6 gamers (17%) found this review helpful

Is there still a market for this playstation 1 japanese garbage? I gave it a 2, because thats how many levels I finished before it went back in the gamesleeve. Great trailer....thats it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

COME ON!!!! This is 2012....

posted by Najja (BROOKLYN, NY) Mar 1, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

1 out of 7 gamers (14%) found this review helpful

I played this game and felt like playing Freedom Fighters and the developers of BD can learn alot from FF also. Man!!! Freedom fighters came out for the XBOX and still beats Binary Domain in gameplay. Graphically BD should be way better, next time just bring the game out for the xbox360 arcade. Pathetic, way below the bar for 2012.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Worth a rental but don't buy it

posted by bmmasterchief (PORTLAND, OR) Jun 20, 2014

Member since Aug 2011

it's a fun little shooter with some interesting mechanics but the game is almost laughably short and the characters are the most basic stereotypes you can imagine

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Surprisingly awesome!

posted by Shadowstacker7 (DUNDALK, MD) Jan 19, 2014

Member since Jan 2014

This game is a wwh if robots took over there are lots of cliches but great story and worth a buy achievements are easy and game is fun plus I love the fact that talking in a mic can make you say thing for you guy of just press a button if you don't have one worth 40$ or less kinda like a robotic gears of war

Gamer tag Shadow Stacker7

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse