Buy Battlefield 3 for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Battlefield 3

Buy

New: $19.99

Used: $12.99

Rent

Keep for: $12.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3

New!Available For Download:PC 

GF Rating
7.3

13617 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
5

Fair

EA ruining game rentals

posted by dfloss721 (GRAYSLAKE, IL) Oct 26, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2007

207 out of 295 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 3 probably deserves a 9, but since EA is continuing to ravage the marketplace for game renters, it deserves a 5 at best. There is no way I'm paying $10 extra to play online. As someone else said, half the game deserves half the rating.

B3 and Dice develop stellar online shooters, and they really are forcing you to cough up the dough if you rent the game and want to hop into the online realm. In addition, EA forces to you sign up for an EA/Origins account if you don't have one already and Agree to their terms of service. I think it says that EA owns your soul somewhere in that contract, so beware.

The Frostbite 2 Engine shines radiantly though, and B3 boasts the best sounding shooter ever created. Period. It's meant to be playing on a huge HD TV (must download the HD pkg to really see the quality) with a huge surround sound. It sounded unbelievable on the stereo system. The sound and feel to the guns was amazingly realistic. The graphics shined, and the campaign was filled with action packed sequences and chapters. I enjoyed the awesome fighter jet dogfights in the sky, the sick tank battles, and plot twists.

But with all those high notes, I experienced a lot of glitches in AI, some which forced me to restart checkpoints. The addition of pressing button sequences on the screen like Bayonetta (worst game ever) was uncreative and boring. Pressing buttons to beat a boss was as lame as could be. Are you kidding me? You can also fly through the 1P campaign in a few short hours. And since I'm not paying $10 to play online, the experience was short and forgettable.

If you're looking to dive deep into online multiplayer, than you'll need to fork over $60. I did play the co-op, which was a nice addition, and online play felt bigger and better than before. Battlefield fans have their hands full with an unreal amount of depth to leveling up.
Milt Drucker
-gamertag-

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Crouching Soldier, Hidden Fees.

posted by Valtaine (LITTLE ROCK, AR) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

156 out of 224 gamers (70%) found this review helpful

Any attempt to play the game online, co-op or against other players, requires you to spend 800 Microsoft points. I had originally rented this game so I could get online to play with friends. Multiplayer game play is the best part of the series. Without it, it's just another shooter. I tried to play the single player mode, however the plot is about as thin as a wet tissue. The graphics are excellent, and the controls are very smooth. However, I find myself unwilling to pay 10 dollars just to play online when I've already payed for Xbox Live and for my Gamefly subscription. Save yourself the frustration of having to wait through an extra mailing cycle just because that information wasn't made readily evident.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Not For Rental

posted by earthbound (WARTBURG, TN) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Feb 2009

51 out of 72 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

With the online portion locked out behind a code (not even the usual trial period), there is almost no reason at all to rent BF3. The single player portion is simply awful. By all accounts, the online multiplayer is fantastic, but don't rent it for that purpose unless you are prepared to pay the $10 to access the online features.

Basically, buy it or just skip it altogether. It isn't worth the rental because the portion of the game you can access is really THAT bad. I don't mind online passes (but do think they should offer a brief trial period if they want sales), but there is almost nothing in the single player campaign to recommend. Unless you like bugs.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

A potentially great game ruined by EA

posted by khalid7412002 Oct 29, 2011

97 out of 143 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Great graphics and sound. Loved playing on my Epson 8350 projector and hearing the sound through my kef speakers. Aside from that, the campaign was short, full of glitches, and didn't really have any flow to it but overall the game was enjoyable.

The issue I have with it, is the Online pass that one must buy if they either rent the game, borrow it from a friend, or buy it used.
I WILL NEVER BUY A GAME THAT USES THIS BUSINESS PRACTICE and I will make sure I go out of my way to influence other peoples' decision to not buy these types of games. I recommend everybody speak with their wallets and stop this practice before other game companies decide to take notice and becomes an industry standard. These companies need to stop trying to nickel and dime us every chance they get. I guess millions in profits is not enough these days.

SO THIS GAME IS A DON'T BUY

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Dont rent for online

posted by DaveEscobar (SHIPPENSBURG, PA) Oct 30, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

22 out of 32 gamers (69%) found this review helpful

Game looks great. all the weapons seem similar though. The storyline makes sense but isn't very in depth. You dont care about the characters. You have to spend 800 points to download something t play online. well if you're renting it 800 point is a lot. Beat it in 5 hours and sent it back.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Awesome

posted by emTr0 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Dec 31, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

The game is awesome. The Call of Duty franchise does not compare.

I wish GameFly would mention not including the Online Pass unless you buy the game, though. You can get a 48-hour trial from onlinepass.battlefield.com, which is what I did.

I might even keep this one. Definitely recommend it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great to play

posted by Ghost46 (MUNGER, MI) Dec 30, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have played my fair share of first person shooters in my day, and none of them has been as enjoyable as Battlefield 3 has been. Once you get the hang of piloting all of the vehicles, the game gets that much better. The sound of gunfire in the background, the visual effects the environment has, the equipment you carry actually playing a role in combat is the epitome of what I want out of a shooter. DICE has always made good games, and Frostbite is a wonderful engine. This game is a must rent.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Corporations have gotten completely out of hand...

posted by JimmyMads (PETALUMA, CA) Oct 29, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

74 out of 115 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

It boggles my mind the way greed motivates gaming companies these days. A warning, you will not even be able to access the multiplayer portion of this game without forking over another $10 to EA upon startup. Something I was not willing to do, so I decided to at least play through the single player campaign before I sent the game back.

That was my mistake of course. The single player campaign is an obvious clone of the last few Call of Duty games, without the decent story writing. Now I'm not saying the Call of Duty games we written particularly well, but at least any inaccuracies were easily overlooked in the midst of all the action. Not so in Battlefield 3. There were several points in this game where I was so taken aback by the outlandish story that I contemplated just giving up on the game altogether. But I persevered, and in a little over 5 hours the game was finished.

I will give it this, the game is beautiful...assuming you installed the 1.5 Gig HD content pack. If not, most of the textures in the game are blurry and unimpressive.

The controls are fairly solid, no complaints there, but then again its just an exact copy of what other shooters have already perfected.

It's really the story and linear gameplay that lets me down on this one. It's difficult to explain why the story is so poor without spoiling it for anyone who actually does want to play this game, but just know that the game forces you to make certain decisions that are both unnecessary completely unrealistic.

Overall, if you don't plan on forking over another $10 to the corporate fat cats to access the multiplayer portion of this game, I would recommend skipping it all together, as the single player campaign will leave you bewildered and a little ticked off.

A small note: if this is the way games continue to trend, I will very likely be cancelling my Gamefly account. There is no reason for me to have a game rental service when I will be expected to pay additional fees just to pl

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

PLAY THIS!!!

posted by friendlycupcake (BAKERSFIELD, CA) Feb 2, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

this game is a very amazing, action packed, and very interactive. its multiplier is amazing! buildings can be somewhat dismembered and planes, jets, humvees, almost any transports are interactive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Horrendous single player campaign.

posted by EAGLESWhit (ORLANDO, FL) Nov 2, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

Horrendous single player campaign with bad AI implementation. Enemies respawn over and over at times if you don't move forward in your position. They will continue to do so until you move forward. Friendly ally AI runs through walls and shoots at empty air. Multiplayer is what this game is all about but you can't play it without an EA Online Pass. Sure it's a pretty game but the single player campaign deserved more.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great Game, Free Online Trial!

posted by lulzfunny (FRONTENAC, KS) Sep 17, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

The game itself is amazing, The SP is ok, the MP is amazing, For all of the people who rent it and are not aware, YOU CAN GET A FREE 48 Hour Trial of Online Play from EA. Just google it! Also If you dont want to pay the $10 to buy the online pass, Gamefly will sell you the game for $18 and that includes an online pass! Cheaper then GameStops $44

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Short Review 9.9/10

posted by Atreyu720 (BENTONVILLE, AR) Apr 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2006

8 out of 12 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Battlefield 3 is an amazing game the story was a little dry but when your shooting a RPG at a building and watching falling down its pretty epic but that's not where BF3 focus was it was multiplayer in multiplayer you can play with friends in co-op story mode about 5 mission and squads online playing against other squads but I had an amazing time with BF3 its definitely a must buy jumping from 2,000 feet high and skydiving to the ground is just crazy you can do that in a game but thanks for reading and hope this helped you thinking about renting or buying this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Good Fun, but makes a bad rental

posted by xungan (MARLBOROUGH, MA) Oct 31, 2011

Member since Jun 2011

21 out of 34 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Hi all,

Can't fault BF3, lives up to the Hype, at least in the quick time that I played it. I'll go back, perhaps, but right now Batman and GoW3 have me occupied.

As a Rental, be warned, you need to have the online pass to play. 800 MS Points. It would have been nice to have a 3 day trial, would have convinced me more than the draconian measure that is in place.

Cheers All!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Are They Kidding Me!!!!!!!!!!

posted by mavic0 (MOUNT DORA, FL) Nov 1, 2011

Member since Oct 2006

23 out of 38 gamers (61%) found this review helpful

I live near EA offices in Orlando, Florida and I was thinking about going down and throwing some Rotten Eggs at the windows on Halloween. I mean come on don't they make enough money? Its bad enough that we pay a ton of money for x-box live but they decided that they wanted a bigger piece of the pie so they decided that renters were going to have to pay an extra 10 bucks to play online. Its really to bad cause the graphics (the HD ones) are awesome. Oh well they seem to have ticked off enough people that maybe they will do something about it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

boooooring....

posted by Bowdacious (AGOURA HILLS, CA) Oct 27, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

31 out of 53 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

I don't play online games as I prefer something with a story, but I rented this to try the single player campaign. No story, no immersion, no feeling of continuous gameplay, just go over here and shoot some guys before the next long, boring cutscene, repeat ad nauseum.. yawn. Maybe military-themed FPS just aren't my thing. I'd give it a 5 for the single player campaign alone, but then when I heard about the multiplayer ripoff I knocked it down to 2, cause that's just some shady business practices, even though I don't care about the multiplayer myself.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Online Multi-player

posted by SHABBAZZS1 (SEATTLE, WA) Feb 14, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

My copy of the game from Gamefly wouldn't allow me to play the campaign, but the Multi-player worked great! good action, good feel and handling of the weapon. once I figured out what I was doing I stopped getting me butt handed to me, and dished out some punishment! Love using sniper rifle, the range and power is amazing!

Great online multi-player! ..... still wish I had the multi-player to learn the game faster!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Battlefield 3

posted by XxLittlexPailxX (STEWARTSTOWN, PA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

Most realistic,action packed fps online very cool and very addicting

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Annoying, to say the least....

posted by Swissy (DENVER, CO) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

5 out of 8 gamers (62%) found this review helpful

Wow, so this is a two-disc game, fine. I have plenty of HD space, and I installed both discs onto my Xbox before I fired up the game. Nevertheless, the game insists on my changing the frickin' disc every time I go from single player to multi-player. How ridiculously annoying. Moreover, since I am renting this game, I can't even access the full online game (mainly, the actual multi-player component) because I don't want to buy an 800-point code for a game that I am only renting. Not sure if I should be mad at GF or EA for this, but either way it's stupid. Why GF would even include the multi-player disc here is beyond me if they don't include the code.... Morons.

Well, maybe I'll play through the campaign, maybe not. I do know that when my next paid month is up, I'm canceling GF; and EA and DICE can go screw themselves, too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

If you like single player campaigns

posted by G5Xeon (WOODLAND, CA) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Oct 2004

23 out of 40 gamers (58%) found this review helpful

Unfortunately this aspect of BF3 really is poorly executed. While I don't play multiplayer much I tend to rate the single player aspect of a game more heavily.

In that respect BF3 falls really short. Overly scripted, cut scenes in too much use etc. Dice should of just made it a multiplayer and reduced the cost to consumers.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Online worth it.

posted by cyncro (ROCKLIN, CA) Nov 21, 2011

Member since Sep 2007

13 out of 23 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

I see all these reviews that warn of needing to purchase an online pass.

Well I am here to tell you that this pass comes with the purchase of the game new.

So yes, they are obviously targeting people who rent. But, it also gets back at the kind of people who rip the games onto their modded Xbox's.

So lets face it if you want 100's of hours of online game play with an almost endless number of unlockables and weapon combinations. Then the $10 is worth it.

The game is stellar and I can't blame DICE for asking its customers to support one of the best online experiences of any game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

overhyped and not even worth a rent

posted by mdbohom (SPRINGFIELD, MO) Oct 26, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

30 out of 56 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

pros: great graphics

cons: -you have to download an HD pack to get graphics that are even half decent
-jerky controls
-poor direction; AI tells you tangos 12 oclock, and theyre to the right of even left
-slow gameplay. not tactical; just slow, and you are usually killed by grenades if youre not out in the open where bullets can waste you

Battlefield 3 was supposed to be one of the top shooters of 2011 (along with modern warfare 3 and uncharted 3) but this was just pathetic. the single player, the only part of this game thats free since EA are greedy who make you buy an online pass so they dont lose a single of their precious millions, if not billions of dollars, is really lacking where it counts. you play in a squad; youre first objective is to, well... you dont really get one. you mostly go places and kill people. but whatever youre doing, you have to take your time with. this is great if it would actually make a difference, but it usually does not; more like waste 15 extra seconds waiting or we'll kill you on the spot. the AI seemed as if their guns were perfectly accurate with next to no recoil, whereas your guns have a substantial amount. and i hope their controls arent as jerky as yours are. yes, jerky. either jerky, or you turn up your sensitivity to where you can hardly hit the side of a barn in mediocre time. the guns sound nice and some of the sights are pretty neat, though that means nothing as of now. as for multiplayer, you either pay $60 for a brand new copy, which this game isnt worth in the least, or you buy a pass from XBL for $10. yes, another pass; just like homefront, mortal kombat, and so on. well i, for one, am tired of paying extra for the only good part about a game. the mp beta was fun, but ive had my fill of fun if getting any more means wasting more of my money.

all i have to say is this: EA and dice made a confusing and ultimately lacking single player while focusing on mp, which you end up having to pay extra to play

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

dont bother.

posted by derpise (SAINT CLOUD, FL) Nov 12, 2011

Member since Nov 2006

13 out of 24 gamers (54%) found this review helpful

dont bother renting because you need a code to play online and who gets this to play single player.honestly. more and more games are doing this so it seems this will be the beginning of the end for gamefly.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME!!!

posted by Yanari (PINK HILL, NC) Apr 21, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Really awesome game. It has amazing graphics. Really fun but the disc i recieved was unreadable so i wasnt about to finish the game :(

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Online pass

posted by dubluvin (SCOTTSDALE, AZ) Mar 15, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

Forgot you had to buy an online pass to... play online. Campaign is pretty good though too.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Can't Rate Cause I Can't Play

posted by Disconude (SYRACUSE, NY) Jan 28, 2012

Member since Nov 2006

4 out of 7 gamers (57%) found this review helpful

As a fan of the Battlefield series, I have enjoyed the supreme multiplayer FPS experience thanks to the developers at DICE since Battlefield 2 on PC. I am extremely disappointed that I was denied enjoying the multiplayer experience of Battlefield 3 because I had rented, and not bought, the game. Requiring an additional purchase for the multiplayer components of this game, which are my primary reasons for renting it, is absolutely absurd and harmful to my relationship with the developers. I now cannot enjoy this product as intended due to the extra fees imposed by EA and their "Origin" service. I'm disgusted with this move to destroy the rental/used games market. I was very much looking forward to playing this game online, but since it is ridiculous to pay extra for this privilege, I will sadly refer to Call of Duty.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse