Buy Assassin's Creed II for Xbox 360
view large frontback

Assassin's Creed II

Rent

Keep for: $9.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:PS3, DS
GF Rating
8.7

30677 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth the buy this time around!

posted by toMsonsLLC (BERWYN, IL) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Jun 2009

289 out of 327 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

This game is better than the first, I will start with that.

I will say the bad cause I want to finish with the good. First the buildings still look the same, when you climb you will notice the building parts are copied and pasted from other areas. This isn't a big deal unless you're just climbing, for all the viewpoints before you do anything. This brings me to my second bad part of the game, the darn viewpoints. I was hoping that they would ditch the many viewpoints for just ONE, or a few.. But there is tons again, I guess he still has terrible vision. But this is just an annoyance for people who do everything.

More bad, the model detail level. It's kinda just like AC original from what I can tell. The face models aren't great, and to many rough edges in the details. I feel like they could have delayed the game a month to make the models look better, say like MGS4 or Uncharted (faces). Those two games capitalize on high quality for this generation.

Don't worry about that first section, that is pure nit-picking!

Now the GOOD...

One, there is a ton of weapons for once. You don't get bored of combat so fast, because when you start being bored you switch it up and you're entertained yet again. Than you steal weapons mid-fight and this really gets you into it. It's awesome to kill 3-4 enemies with a single attack, and from what I've seen there are more "finishing moves" with all the weapons.

They took away the REPETITIVENESS that killed AC1, thank god! They did a good job of listening to us, the fans that we don't want to do the same thing 20-30 times in the game (20-30% still remains).

Money! You get to buy all sorts of stuff, I will let you be surprised. Collecting money is fun. One of the best things is you get a manor, which you improve. It's fantastically original. But money isn't all this game is good at. The story is well thought out. It brings you in slowly, and lets you LEARN.

9.3 / 10.0 - They call it AC2, cause it's twice as great as the original.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

This game is oh so good

posted by ledah435 (OREM, UT) Sep 4, 2011

Member since Aug 2011

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

This game is well worth its weight in gold. The Graphics are very good (Though overly textured), the story is remarkable, the choice of weapons is impressive, and the objectives are challenging and engaging.

Pros:
1. The story is complex, but easy to follow. Though, Playing Assassin's Creed One would allow a little better understanding of the game, I feel that you don't need to play the first to enjoy this game.

2. The challenges are... well, challenging. They aren't borderline impossible and the main character will glue your eyes to the screen.

3. The characters' spirit is felt throughout the game. Regardless of their role, every character feels real when you hear them speak.

Cons:
1. The only downside to this game is the battle system seems hesitant when transitioning from offensive to defensive tactics. The ability to do so is there, but the game seems to have a hard time when the player switches strategies. I've lost a few battles because of this.

This game is well worth renting. Rest assured that if you haven't played the first one, it won't hinder the experience that much.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

BETTER THEN THE FIRST ( A 15TH CENTURY GTA )

posted by mike1976 (BUFFALO, NY) Jul 16, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

STORY 10
I realy loved the story it keeped me coming back to the game just to find out what was gonna happen next.

CONTROLS 6
when you are chasing someone and you try to tackle them at time you will just bump into them and chasing someone from rooftop to rooftop can be a pain you pretty much have to be perfect because if your not you will lose a lot

SOUND FX 8
ok but could use some work

GRAPHICS 8
a lot of cut and paste and the carector madols look choppy

VIEW 7
at times the game gave you the worst camra angles possible

GLITCHES 9
the biggest glitch that i noticed is when you are walking up or down a set of stair enzio will at times get stuck and look down at the ground

LOCATION 10
i realy loved the locations no city is alike my favorite is venice and next would be florence

REPLAY 8
very high

OVERALL SCORE 8.25 OUT OF 10

ROUND IT OFF TO 8

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

A different game with the same awesomeness

posted by Verathia (NEWPORT NEWS, VA) Nov 17, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

74 out of 88 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

The problem with ACI was its repetitiveness... ACII takes away almost all of it by adding monetary stores, more weapons, clothing customization, and side missions.

The Bad:
The cut scenes are the exact same graphics as the game, only zoomed in, so it's not so hot.
It still gets a little repetitive, but nothing more than any other game.

The Good:
Women.
A story line that is both easy to follow, and dramatic/enthralling.
New weapons
New moves
New worlds
Your own "villa" (it's the size of a small city)
The graphics (other than cut scenes) are even better than the first game, a remarkable feat.
Quicker climbing
Can't say more without saying spoilers.

Also, the Desmond story line still exists in this game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Dont miss this!! Heres why

posted by ashlikefir (PRESCOTT, AZ) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2008

41 out of 49 gamers (84%) found this review helpful

Assassins Creed 2 is a blast for its gameplay, good thought out story, and beautiful graphics. Its about a 9.6, but definantly better than a 9 game. The game is not a fast thrill ride, its a well thought out story.

Even though this is a sequal, those having never played Assassins creed wont be left too far behind. That said, so much happens in the second your not going to want to just wait for the third. Judging from the way 2 ended i can tell you Assassins creed 3 is going to be one of the most anticipated games of ALL TIME.

The missions and assasinations are creative and keep your attention. The game itself still has a fair deal of repetivness much like the first game, but it spreads it out in different forms so the game doesnt end up boring you to death. One great way to deal with the repetivness in this game is to perfect your art of assasinating people. Being able to shank someone and walk away with no one the wiser was gratifying for me. At the same time if you are the rampage killer crazy type, the game isnt to hard on you players either.

Graphics. The landscape is beautiful, buildings, vegitation, everything except for the peoples faces lol. The main character has his hood down the majority of the game so its not that annoying.

The Game is LONG! Just long enough though.
Many games, mostly the highly anticipated ones aLA Halo have extremely short stoy modes. Assassins Creed 2 has a long thought out story, and a great shocker of an ending.

There were also additions like armor, weapons, and a town you get to own and rebuild for a stable income.

For the new game player, dont spend money on armor/weapons until your villa is fully upgraded, money will roll in easy at that point and you can buy as many weapons and armor as you want.

PLAY it people.. like i said, with the improvments they made from 1 to 2, 3 is going to be a great great game. So catch up on 2s story so you dont miss out. Along with giving yourself a great experience.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed 2

posted by mrsoldier (ELECTRA, TX) Jan 31, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

8 out of 9 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

Everybody knows that the first game in this trilogy had a lot of faults. Everything from repetitive missions to less than exciting combat scenes. Not so with this title. The designers obviously stepped back to the drawing board and fixed everything. This game delivers everything that the first promised. A deep storyline, decent combat, and jaw dropping scenematics. I can promise that if you get this game, you will lose sleep over it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Perfect!

posted by iBeans (LANCASTER, CA) Jan 30, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

12 out of 14 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

Assassin's Creed 2 could possibly be the best game I have ever played. Enough said. Just get the game. You will NOT be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

If you hated the first game, try this one.

posted by snizzard (VANCOUVER, WA) May 26, 2011

Member since Jun 2010

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

I played the first Assassin's Creed because I heard so many good things about it. Less than halfway through, however, I was irritated and just wanted it to be over. In this installment, the game has vastly improved. It is comparable to Fable and Red Dead Redemption in the aspects of game play and story. There are so many things to do in this game, I never got bored. In fact I couldn't pull myself away from this game. The story just gets better and better and the open world of is the most interactive I've seen. The AI in the NPC's around town are fun to listen to and interact with. It is very easy to get immersed, making you feel more like you are living in 15th century Italy. Amazing game all around. If the rest of the series is anything like this one, I will be happy.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Worth playing

posted by JoeSamo (BRIDGEPORT, CT) Feb 25, 2010

Member since Oct 2009

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

Great story, Great Twist. Way better then AC1..Game play is quite fun...and if your a game score kinda person this game will net you at least 850 gamer points without even trying. 10/10 I loved it...from the armor/weapon system to owning your own village and upgrading it. Can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

This is Truely a sequel

posted by KennyB (BOILING SPRINGS, SC) Feb 7, 2010

Member since Dec 2009

15 out of 18 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I loved every minute of this game, this game takes what was bad with Assassins Creed 1 (mainly the boring missions that you have to do over and over) and fixes them. All the missions you have to do are different and fun. Your missions vary from defending your family to playing a game of CTF against a guard.
The graphics are really top-notch. And the story is amazing. I would recommend this game to anybody who loves games in general b/c this game is worth a rent at the very least

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins creed 2 is the bomb!

posted by daboss175 (SEA GIRT, NJ) Jul 3, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

one of the best games i've ever played i would reccomend it to anyone

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AWESOME

posted by deanb1234 (LEXINGTON, KY) Feb 10, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I just finished this game and I loved it. Longer, and more involved then the first one, amazing graphics and even better story line. My only complaint was some of the "Truth" puzzles were a bit stupid.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Simply great

posted by Illahtech (SAN FRANCISCO, CA) Feb 8, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

6 out of 7 gamers (86%) found this review helpful

I rarely review games, even when I love them, but this game is simply great. Amazing story, RPG-like elements, puzzles, stealth, action, etc. It's basically a perfect game. Definitely get your hands on this one.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

If you havent played..what are you waiting for?!

posted by Pete89 (HOLMDEL, NJ) May 15, 2010

Top Reviewer

Member since Aug 2007

12 out of 15 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Assassins Creed 2 improved over the original in everyway. AC is my favorite new video game franchise..the double blades, the gun (dont worry is overpowerful or take from gameplay) and the new character Ezio is awesome..cant wait for the new Assassins Creed Brotherhood coming this fall 15 hour plus campaign with ezio again..count me in!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed 2

posted by ASHwhol (SEWICKLEY, PA) Nov 22, 2009

Member since Dec 2008

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

Like many of you, when I received this game I was pumped. I couldn't wait to smash some guard heads and assassinate templars in completely awsome ways.

In many ways this game achieves the same feeling of bad-assery as the first. Running up walls, shifting from plank to plank escaping from guards. Yet while maintaining that feeling that the first Assassin's Creed, in my opinion, mastered, AC2 also came with a few new perks.

All of the main quest missions are different, yet the same at invariably the same time. Everything is plain and simple, assassinate the templar conspirators, yet the means of which to do such deeds carry many surprises in their own.

Soooo.... Now onto pros of AC2

- Establishment of a currency system, which yields armor upgrades, and many other perks that you will see once you play the game... Not all of the perks have to do with shops.
- A more complex combat system, with more choices and more possibilities.
- A LONG story line
- Seemingly endless mini quests to take part in.
- Where the other game failed, this game flourishes. The gameplay is not "investigate, find, assassinate" It is more.
-Overall a much more in depth game.

CONS-

- What I haven't really seen anybody else address is the music. I remember in the original assassins creed, the music was stimulating. You knew when you were in a pickle once the music got progressively more intense. This one seems to lack that feel. But that is purely my opinion..

- Complex controls (the dark side). Sometimes when I am preforming time trials, I feel as though Ezio is not an assassin, yet rather an escaped mental patient. However, the wide array of actions Ezio preforms seemingly does call for such complex controls.

- The targets of the game. Okay, so as I see myself running out of characters, I will make this brief. In AC1, I WANTED to kill these targets due to their prior actions. Yet this game lacked that sense of feeling for a few of them.

OVERALL SCORE: 9.4...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Assassins Creed 2 review

posted by sweetwilly (MOLALLA, OR) Feb 16, 2010

Member since Feb 2010

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

Assassins Creed 2 has to be my all time favorite game. I have always been into swords and bows and knives myself, so that is the perfect game for me. The thing that stands out the strongest in Assassins Creed 2 is most likely the action and thrill of the game. It is also a very long game; it took me six days to finally beat it, and i play video games pretty much all day. The good thing about Assassins Creed 2 is that it never gets boring, you are always either killing guards to get to chests or codex pages. It also has a very good story line to go along with all of the other amazing features. The game does start off slow but you have to take the time to know games and give them a chance.

I highly recomend this game to anyone who likes action/adventure games and to someone who gets bored with games easily.
I hope you enjoy the game just like i do.
HAPPY GAMING!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Stunning...

posted by KELeKEL (KEITHVILLE, LA) Nov 27, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

10 out of 13 gamers (77%) found this review helpful

This is a truly beautiful game from every aspect. Ezzio's movement is as challenging as it is fluid. The game has a great story line and the smoothest transitions in plot. We have been addicted since it arrived. II has improved vastly over I.

Combined with an array of tact for attacking each mission, this game is a must play; especially in HD,...its gorgeous. And its more accurately described, as a must "experience".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

ONE OF THE BEST GAMES EVER

posted by NATHANDRAK (ORLANDO, FL) Apr 28, 2010

Member since Mar 2010

4 out of 5 gamers (80%) found this review helpful

Last week i rented Assassins Creed 2 and fell in line with millions of people playing as Ezio De Auditore.I loved playing in the rich environments and social interface.VERY MIND BLOWING playing the game from start to finish is a non-stop thrill. Now here are the pros and cons. PROS.... Great story line from start to stop,great detail and environments,great characters,LOVE the weapons, best 3 days of my life! CONS.....TOO EASY,could've added a little more detail but still great!!! I give it a 9.5 out of 10

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great game hampered by imprecise controls.

posted by Dogmeat00 (HAMBURG, PA) Jan 22, 2010

Member since Aug 2007

6 out of 8 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

I have to start out by saying that i loved this game.

It was a vast improvement over the first, which i couldn't bring myself to finish. AC2 eliminates those silly pre mission repetitive info gathering tasks wich smooths out gameplay, yet still offers plenty of distractions to keep things fresh in the form of Tombs, Glyphs and side missions. The graphics were slightly bumped up over the last offering. Clothes moved better and the lighting caused fewer shadow glitches on walls. Combat felt better and more responsive. Hiring people to distract guards helped with stealthy maneuvers. I would say over all this game was one of the greats... except:

The controls are still letting this game down. If you are free runni9ng and accidently stray too close to seagull droppings you'll fling yourself from the roof like an apoplectic metal fan off of a speaker tower. Often i'd be climbing a tower and try to do a leaping grab, only to hurl myself backward off the building to my messy crunching demise. When i wasn't suffering any of the previous two problems i just couldn't manage to leap 2 feet diagonally across a gap to land on a roof, instead lobbing my soon to be sore carcass among a group of guards who are all to happy to aerate my internals. These problems left me running on the ground most of the time. This gave me the benefit of doign lots of stealing, but little of the free flowing fun of the mirror's edge style parkour gameplay that i want from Assassin's Creed rooftop antics.

Also, give me an acheivement or SOMETHING for gwetting those last 5 useless viewpoints.

If not for the control issues, i'd have given tis game a 10. I was very wrapped up in the story, what with the glyphs and tombs, and was SO ready to keep playing, had there been anything else to do after completion. Hopefully the third installment will be a little more precise and just as exciting.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year?

posted by Atlas2257 (HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA) Apr 26, 2010

Member since Nov 2005

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This game takes off where the first one leaves. Everything the first one was not and yet everything it was. Take the great game play and awesome yet short-lived story of the first Assassins Creed; and then make a complete game of it. A great story line with good characters and great voice actors, a town to upgrade and make your own, and a wide array of side-quests. Thanks Assassins Creed 2. That was a great play.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game until it's over

posted by FluteNinja (COLLEGE STATION, TX) Jan 21, 2010

Member since Jan 2010

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

This is by far one of the most addicting games I've ever played. I enjoyed it immensely. They kept everything that was great with Assassin's Creed I, but improved everything faulty. All of the little side quests were entertaining (I personally did all of them except for the stupid feathers).

My only downside with this game is that it ended too quickly. Honestly, I got about 16 hours, which is a lot, but once I completed the game it was too easy to replay.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Assassin's Creed 2

posted by MFGmag (DOBBS FERRY, NY) Nov 24, 2009

Member since Nov 2009

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

Story
The story of this continues in line with the previous one, with the main character being trapped by an "evil" scientist in a machine called the Animus. From within the Animus you are transported a few hundred years from the times of Altair into Italy as Ezio Auditore. From here there are two storylines, within the Animus and in real life (the Animus being the main story). In the Animus you follow several people around trying to discover a conspiracy etc.
Graphics
The faces of the characters which you encounter aren't exactly the best, but it's how everything is combined together that makes it so beautiful. The details placed on the buildings and world around you seems so meticulous, and greatly built together. The focus is on the macro rather than the micro here. The only faces which appear to have greater detail are those who are in the cutscenes.
Gameplay
As the game progresses you learn new moves and are introduced to an array of weapons. However, it is sometime before you learn how to use the new weapons. It is a good thing, since you can learn how to use every weapon efficiently before moving onto the next one, instead of being thrown a dozen moves and not knowing how to use them.
Replayability
The fun of the game is in completing the story, and once you are through with it you still have the side missions to go through. Until those are done the game is very addictive, you won't want to let go of the controller and time will pass by as you travel between various Italian cities. But once it's all done with, there's nothing more to do and so there is no will to play it again once you've finished. In a couple of months after you've forgotten a couple of things chances are high that I'd play this game again.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AMAZING!!!

posted by AdamHolman (CAPE CORAL, FL) Dec 17, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

OMG! thats all i got to say... if your looking for a game that has alot of action,puzzles,Ezio getting Lucky within the first 20min of the game and PLENTY of Blood and killing! Get Assassin's Creed II Amazing ! If you dont Like this game then i will Fight You!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Game of the Year?

posted by WOOsPlague (GAINESVILLE, FL) Dec 5, 2009

Member since Dec 2009

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I think this game was fantastic they increased it 10 x the original one
and made just every aspect of it better. The game impliments a great story , a great fighting system, good use of blending, Feathers
that u have to find, and Glyphs which are in each city about near to 20 glyphs u must find and secure to unlock a in-game cinema that relates to the story. All in all i think this game could be game of the year if not then at least a good GotY nominee.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Addictive, yet oddly familiar

posted by TheMouse (RALEIGH, NC) Nov 20, 2009

Member since May 2009

7 out of 11 gamers (64%) found this review helpful

I am just going to say that this game, although different in many ways from ACI, is still very much like the first game. However, those changes are crucial.

-The story is more developed, and makes you want to keep playing to find out what's going to happen next.

-The variety of weapons and armor definitely improved the game.

-Fast-travel ('nuff said)

-The assassins' tombs are great breaks from the story line, and the end reward is killer.

-Less, but much bigger, areas are a great way to manage your exploring.

-Easy achievements for the most part

All this being said, the game still plays very much like the first as far as exploring and fighting are concerned. Despite the new weapons, the fighting, counters, and assassinations, the strategy isn't much different.

But thank God it has more variety and addictive appeal than the first.

A SOLID "8"

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse