Buy Armored Core V for PS3
view large frontback

Armored Core V

Rent

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
5.3

633 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
8

Very Good

Great Game

posted by JoeyValles (STOCKTON, CA) Mar 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

17 out of 19 gamers (89%) found this review helpful

The main reasons I am writing this review is in response to the people who say that if you are new to the series you shouldn't play this game. That is not true. I have been playing Armored Core for a while now (I think since AC 3) and I completely suck at it. I can never do the complex manuevers that I see some people do and I only have a basic idea of the customization options. It is true that Armored Core is really in-depth. The customization is enormous (though I have to say it isn't as complicated as previous games), the difficulty can get really hard (I've only beaten one Armored Core), and flying you mech like the pros is definately a challenge, I don't know how people do it. However, even if you are horrible at the game like I am you can still have a lot of fun. It is really fun to customize your mech and see him destroy a bunch of stuff on the battelfield. My mech may not be the most fully calibrated mech but it looks cool and does a bunch of damage. There is also an emblem maker which is MUCH better than black ops. You could just play the entire game maaking intricate emblems. Fighting in missions is really fun but of course if you don't know how to pilot it really well you can only go so far. Even if you are new to the series you should try it out. Don't be intimidated by all of its complexities, just have fun with it. I may have played a lot of Armored Core but trust me, I am horrible at this game. I have never gone online and I don't want to because I will get my butt handed to me. The graphics are alright (not as good as the last one to be honest) but who cares. I definately recommend this game to anybody who would want to fly around in a giant robot. It is really fun and, though you may not beat the game or be a pro online, you can still make a cool mech and have a good time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Daunting but Rewarding

posted by Fyren (WEST SPRINGFIELD, MA) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

10 out of 12 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

FromSoftware, the demon behind Demon's Soul and Dark Souls has unleashed AC5 among the mech heads. So, How does it fare for the newcomers and the old?

The fan of the series will swear by it regardless of the quality, and AC5 has not suffered. The inane learning curve, the part hunt, the controls, the joy piloting your own mech brings giddiness to the fans. It continues to improve the series.

But, you came to read the reviews because you couldn't tell a mech from a Mac.

Let me list some criterias that may help you decide whether plunge into the series or go off to a game where hand-holding is necessary.

1. Does anybody in your family have any inkling towards engineering? extended family?

2. Do you like Legos? Did you ever play with Legos in any stage of your life? Did you ever build any contraption with the said Lego so you may go on a path of destuction? K'Nex also works.

3. Did you watch any form of media where a robot/mech was involved that involved tons of arsenal?

4. Did those arsenal contain shoulder beams?

5. Do you enjoy twitch based mayhem that doesn't involve a 12 year old kid screaming in your head of his affairs with your mother?

6. Do you enjoy a challenge and the satisfaction of finally "getting it"?

7. Did you throw your controller at any point during the aforementioned games Demons/Dark Soul?

You only need to meet one of those criterias to push the queue button. Nothing to lose but a rental space and possibly come away with a new love.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Do not play single player

posted by Mickeyy (BURBANK, CA) Apr 16, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

When I first got the game I was very excited to play.
The game play was great and there is a billion different modifications you can do to your mech. After about two hours of getting in the game I realized that it was too repetitive and most the missions were made to be played online. I've heard this game is great online so if you're thinking of adding this on the que. Make sure your aiming to play online rather than single player.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Not that Confusing

posted by piggiepie (DALLAS, TX) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Mar 2010

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

I have read several reviews complaining about the interface and other components of the game being confusing and I disagree.

First, I am completely new to AC. Never played a mech type game and for some reason picked this up on a whim. While this game appears to be super in depth to begin with, it quickly makes itself user friendly.

The confusing, tough interface people seem to have a problem with actually works well for me. In fact, I was impressed with the ease of communicating, ease of navigating menus/objectives/mech assembly and linking up with my squad mates. I even started my own team and have successfully recruited a dozen other players for our team.

Seriously, if I can figure this game out, get a team up and running while defending our territory, so can anyone of you. True, there is a small learning curve but I found the curve to be enjoyable. Also true, this game is not for everyone, but for me I was pleasantly surprised. I put ME3 down if that helps any. Give it more than 30 minutes, join a half decent team or create and recruit your own. Fun level just elevated to happy level..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

terrible

posted by parthornax (NEW YORK, NY) Jul 23, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

you cant fly! you have to be online in order to buy parts! the AC's look deformed there so ugly they look like there full of tumors
the story makes no sense i hate it its practically a mmo

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

AC fans, this is a MUST HAVE.

posted by Karasawa7 (ALBANY, GA) Mar 23, 2012

Member since Feb 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is SO intense! Constant online connectivity creates super team skills between you and your other team mates. The controls flow great, and although a complete overhaul of traditional AC gameplay, IT'S AMAZING. Graphics are stunning as well, best AC graphics I've seen, and I've played ALL the AC games. Newcommers might find this game odd, but then again, this isn't a FPS or Mass Effect. The story is longer than ever (10 missions) each mission is has many parts, and quite difficult. There's upwards of 60 order missions (Go in, kill these guys, kill this AC, typical AC missions). SO MANY PARTS. Gah, why are you reading this and not playing this game right now? 10/10!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A Great Barrier of Entry

posted by dedalus (LOS ANGELES, CA) Mar 22, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Let me just start off by saying: if you are new to the series its probably best for you to pass this one over.

The interface is very complex, even after going through the tutorial you will probably be confused (unless of course you're already familiar with Armored Core).

The gameplay is decent enough if you are in to mech fighting, but the real reason people play this game is for the competition and upgrade system. You can upgrade your mech with money won from battles, that is if you can figure out how to start one. That, however is really all this game has to offer. The graphics are not at all good. At one point there was a close-up on one of the mechs and I was waiting for texture pop-in, but nope. Nothing popped in, the graphics were just that bad.

Personally I regret putting in my Q; now I am going to have to wait a week for turn around because I'm sending the game back today (the day it came).

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Review From AC Rookie

posted by chuck74 (SAN DIEGO, CA) Mar 21, 2012

Top Reviewer

Member since Dec 2009

2 out of 11 gamers (18%) found this review helpful

Overview
=================
Full disclosure that I've never played Armored Core before. I play tons of games though so I'm not a gaming newbie in general.

Frankly I found the game interface completely confusing and outdated. It seemed like the developer has never played a modern game and had no grasp of usability.

I couldn't get into free play matches.... I joined a team and it said to rendezvous to join the team... I pushed rendezvous with the team and it said it was full.... It was an utterly confusing and frustrating mess.

When you first start up the game it shows some cutscenes and then gives you a tutorial. I played the tutorial and found the graphics to be last gen quality. The gameplay otherwise felt okay. I'm not a big mech fan in general and now completely wished I had skipped this rental altogether.

Pros
================
1) I've got nothing....however, if you've played the series you will probably be just fine.

Cons
================
1) PS2 quality graphics
2) game interface was written by someone with no sense of usability and a masters degree in obfuscation

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Repetitive!!!!!!

posted by jambice (EGG HARBOR TOWNSHIP, NJ) Feb 23, 2014

Member since Feb 2014

Very boring, i didn't even order this and gamefly still wasted a week of my membership, even after I spoke with their reps, they would not help me in any way, "just put it back in the mail when oyu recieve it", DISPLEASED!!!
"Amored Core: For Answer" was my real choice..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Deceived Maybe?

posted by NordLeadGaming (DELTONA, FL) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

What can I say I’m a little disappointed to say the least lets begin, I poped the game into my new ultra slim 500gb PS3 right at the beginning I was blown away by a stunning CGI video with action an d booms and blams! With stunning CGI and as we all know CGI in game intro videos demonstrating a kind of gameplay feel is a BIG NO NO In the world of next gen gaming because it makes the game automatically set a Expectation for the games graphic and gameplay quality, although we all understand that graphics and sound isint everything for a game.
But we would expect a 3rd person Action title like AC V to be BUAH!!! Amazing actiong boom blams fun! Right?. Wrong! the actual game has none next gen graphics my mech looked like a PS2 AC release the movement was blocky and unrealistic compared to Front Mission Evolved mechs which WAS next Gen gameplay and graphics but lacked the customization that ArmCore always provided, the environment all looked the same some with snow and some with less visibility that were more mountainous overall it went from a big dark blur to a big light blur (star wars reference lol) seriously the game was lacking compared to what I would expect from a Next gen game . Never the less i could maybe have over looked the already poorly rated graphics up until I realized there was no STORY! Sigh… so we have poor graphics, poor sound quality, no story, not much to look forward to unless you’re a die hard AC fan.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Boring and clumsy

posted by FU2GnomeofDeath (DEKALB, IL) Sep 18, 2012

Member since Sep 2012

Not much substance here unless you are a huge fan of the series or armed, angry mechs. Clumsy, over reactive controls, stuck on rails, just not much to offer.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Not the same

posted by Freyjador (CENTRAL SQUARE, NY) Aug 31, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

I'm keeping this one short: Go out, find Armored Core 3 and play that.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I love this game, and the AC Series

posted by MAS8394 (EASTON, PA) Aug 30, 2012

Member since Jan 2012

I've played the Series since it was out on the PS2, and even though Armored Core V is a drastic change in fighting style, it's still that awesome game I love so much. Also, the online features are pretty cool too! In past games people fought with a fast AC, in this game it's geared more towards slower AC's and Tank like models.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

Armored Core 5

posted by Gavinci215 (NEW YORK, NY) Aug 16, 2012

Member since Nov 2011

Pretty good game but the single player and multiplayer looks combined so this game is better for those who own it as opposed to those who rent it.(I rented)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not great

posted by joshboff (PALM COAST, FL) Aug 7, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

didnt like this game that much didnt even play it for long

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

not worth it

posted by mrwinkie72 (SANDY, UT) Aug 6, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

what a piece of &%$# game not worth the money no plot no anything i wouldnt waste my money on renting or buying this game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Lame

posted by add1ct (VENICE, CA) Jun 12, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

Online only. Graphics are childish. Must join a team to play online.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

A disservice to Armored Core fans

posted by FascistKarp (SACRAMENTO, CA) Jun 11, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

ACV takes everything Armored Core has built upon and throws it out the window. Up until now, AC has been a primarily Single-player game where you can test your builds against other players in gladiator arenas and it's been excellent. This game is clearly an Online Game with token single player aspect and, even worse, forces you to experience the single player parts to access the things the game designers actually wanted you to play.

If you liked working the different weapon manufacturers and choosing from multiple missions to get the best profit/favor, all the while fine tuning your Mech with the latest technology, you should avoid ACV like I wish I did.

The team interface is a huge pain to Singleplayer and completely compulsory. If you have 0 interest in trying to pathetically start your own insignificant team or joining an established one and getting bossed around by ego-tripping nerds online than this game has nothing else to offer you. The SP missions are linear and boring, basically worthless, and the offline gladiator battle arenas are completely gone. And because this is a niche online-style of a niche game in a niche genre, the amount of players is terrible. There's 3 teams that control everything, so joining or starting anything else is a waste of everyone's time. Who even knows 5 people that all play Armored Core anyway? I've met a total of 2 other people that like the series in my 22 years of life.

The story is literally incomprehensible. My Helo pilot was shot down, then 2 seconds later flying around spouting out some nonsense about her dad (I later found out they named the dictator "Father" -_-) and his influence. It's even more impenetrable than Evangelion on your first watch.

Overall, this game is a textbook example of how "Next-gen online connectivity" does not always improve a game and in fact can destroy a perfectly good IP, and I greatly fear we will never see a good armored core game again now they've gone Online-focused.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

armored core

posted by donsellers (HUNTSVILLE, AL) Jun 5, 2012

Member since Feb 2008

i am getting sick and tired of robot games

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Very good

posted by DR_BENTLEY (NORTH WALES, PA) May 15, 2012

Member since Aug 2011

I liked the game a lot it is fun, it reminds me front mission evolved. Though better i get to attack army stuff. Not other robot things!!! Luv it for the type of game it is.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Great game

posted by Deathsteelblade (SHEBOYGAN, WI) Mar 21, 2012

Member since Mar 2012

They added new features to the game which makes the game play alot funnier then the old ones. More weapons and better mechs then usual. Graphics are great and monevering is awesome. Love this game to a T

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome game!!

posted by NHGUY09 (SOMERSWORTH, NH) Mar 20, 2012

Member since Jul 2010

If you loved the original Armored Core games you'll LOVE this one.. It's fun and entertaining.. This is a must have for any fan of the series..

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »