Buy Adventure Time: Hey Ice King? Why'd you Steal our Garbage? for 3DS
view large frontback

Adventure Time: Hey Ice King? Why'd you Steal our Garbage?

Rent

Keep for: $14.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:DS
GF Rating
7.1

306 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

« Previous1Next »
GF Rating
9

Excellent

Adventure Time on the 3DS! OH MY GLOB!

posted by Kooey (RIVERVALE, NJ) Nov 25, 2012

Member since Nov 2012

4 out of 4 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I was very excited when this game was first announced. I bought the game and started playing it right away. I was surprised when I beat the first dungeon, it said that I was 28% into the game already, which brings me to my next point. The game is very short. It will take you 3-5 hours to beat the game. When you beat the game, you unlock plus mode, which is where you replay the game, but at a higher difficulty level. Here are the pros and cons of the game: Pros- Fun, 3D is great, excellent story, great music. Cons- very short, sound is a little bad, way too easy. Overall, I would give this game a 9/10, with it being the best game I have beaten in 2012.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adventure Time, c'mon and grab your friends...

posted by thetruth12 (MARSHFIELD, WI) Nov 24, 2012

Member since Feb 2010

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

First of all, if you are a fan of Adventure Time, pick this game up - there are a ton of great shout outs to fans throughout the game. Great use of characters and the lore of Ooo, you'll definitely find yourself chuckling throughout.
The game really shines in it's fantastic animations and graphics that fit perfectly. The music is great (the rendition of the theme song after winning a random enemy encounter is awesome), and the controls are among the best I've encountered in a handheld game in some time. If you're old enough to remember Zelda 2 you will definitely feel some of that nostalgia coming back when you fire this game up... it feels like a polished, updated, fine-tuned version with AT characters. You'll also feel a little Banjo-Kazooie with Finn and Jake's gameplay interactions.
I loved this game, but there were a few gripes I had with it. First off, and probably the biggest reason that I score it an 8 was the length of the game. I really had just started getting into it and BAM, the Ice King dropped his last riddle - all in all I'm guessing it clocked in at about 5 hours, would have liked to see it go at least 10. I realize it's a handheld game built for short gaming sessions, but it definitely leaves you wanting more. There is a new game plus, but it doesn't add anything new as far as I know, just a higher difficulty level. Which brings me to my next small complaint - it's too easy - which is understandable for a cartoon based video game built for a younger crowd, but when you can breeze through without breaking a sweat...
However, none of those complaints prevent Adventure Time from being the most important thing for a video game to be - fun! It's a dang good weekend diversion and well worth your time...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Who'd have thought....

posted by KamenRiderZero (KEENE, NH) Nov 28, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 6 gamers (83%) found this review helpful

I'm not a fan of Adventure Time. Just can't get into it. The game plays like Zelda II, which I hate almost as much as the DS & Wii Zelda games.

But somehow, combining the 2 makes for an insanely fun enjoyable game.

If you're a fan of the source material, you'll get the most out of it. There's a theme song on the title screen, a few voice samples and even a mathematical jingle whenever you collect a level-up item.

The controls work well, and you get new abilities pretty regularly. The inventory system is simple & intuitive. Overall, the difficulty is well balanced ( though I only died once due to me being too absent minded to realize the obvious thing to do ).

I only have 2 complaints: first, the game is really short. You'll easily get from start to finish in 10 hours or less. Second, every time you get or use a key item you inventory screen switches from your usable items to the key items. It's a minor thing, but it does get annoying after a while.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Loads of fun!

posted by CommonWraith (GRAFTON, NH) Nov 20, 2012

Member since Jun 2012

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I was so excited for this game that I had pre ordered the Collectors Edition. When I picked up the game and drove home, I could hardly wait. I popped the cartridge into my 3DS system, and was instantly drawn in. The 3D aspects are pulled off nicely, and the colors are very vibrant, the only issue I have is the lack of voice acting D:

I am twenty-two years old, and I love this game. It has beautiful artwork, and plays much like a classic. I don't see it as being a rip-off of Zelda II, but more of an homage to the classic. Wonderful game. Glad I purchased.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

We're Going to Very Distant Lands

posted by Teenkitsune (ABERDEEN, MD) Oct 27, 2013

Member since Oct 2013

For fans of Pendleton Ward's beloved cartoon, get this game. It's solid adventure/platformer gameplay and amazing sprite art that looks just like Ward's art. It feels like a lovechild between the developer's other game Shantae and The Legend of Zelda II: Link's Awakening. Even if you're not an Adventure Time fan, play this game, it's super enjoyable.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

most random ending ever....EVER GLOB BOBBIT

posted by neverdieonce (PHILADELPHIA, PA) Jun 25, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

RENT THIS LUMPIN AWESOME GAME

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Like every one else...

posted by NewPenny (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Jun 10, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

Pros:
Awesome sound track; one of the best in my opinion.
True to the show; I think they included most of the characters. Every one acts as they should.
Easy/Quick
Cons:
Easy/Quick. I beat all bosses but Ice King on the first try. I also get that the riddles sucked because Ice King is dumb, but you can solve them instantly.
Over all: Luckily we are all on game fly, so I would suggest renting this game for a couple of days; not buying it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Adventure time: A very fun game

posted by Ninjaian1425 (MINOOKA, IL) Jun 7, 2013

Member since Jun 2013

I was introduced to this game by a friend of mine, and the first second I saw it, I was hooked on the game. I couldn't stop playing until I had finished the game. (Of course, I didn't really play non-stop.) I recommend the game to everyone that is a fan of Adventure Time.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Adventure Time 3DS Review

posted by tr89 (WAYLAND, NY) May 15, 2013

Member since May 2013

I've been loosely following the show for a while so I wanted to try out the game. So, starting off with game play, I find it rather similar to Zelda II, with the over-head world with side scrolling towns and dungeons. I thought it wasn't too bad. The over-world was a little sparsely decorated at times, but it's style fit with the show. The side scrolling portions seemed to have a bit of loose control, which threw some jumps off. Not so much to detract from the quality, but it took some getting used to. Some of the boss fights were too easy. They're supposed to be bosses. They took more hits but sometimes less strategy than regular enemies. I did like the inventory system. Being able to combine certain items for a greater or altered effect was nice. It expanded the uses of weaker early-game items. Graphics-wise, there's not much point to using the 3D visuals. It's main portions are 2-d, so it seems more like a pop-up book than actual 3d. Again, character design fit in with the cartoon, which brought some laughs. Item names referenced the show quite a bit, even bringing back recollections of specific episodes. Over-all, it's a fairly entertaining game, but not a must have. It's certainly worth trying, especially for Adventure Tim fans.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

So short

posted by battlemouth (SOMERVILLE, MA) Feb 28, 2013

Member since Feb 2013

Fun game but crazy short. I finished the whole game in 5 hours. I guess you could always do a new game + after. Glad I rented it through here rather than paying for it.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

What Time Is It?

posted by CurtTheHero (UPLAND, CA) Feb 25, 2013

Member since Dec 2012

Not the most engaging story or outstanding game play but it gets the job done through sheer charm and nostalgia. If you're a fan of adventure time, this is a perfect little in between rental. It features several of the characters seen throughout the series that maintain their charm. AT:HIKWYSOG is a love letter to older games such as Mario and Zelda that's set in the wondrous Land of Ooo. If you're not a fan of the TV series, you may not get the full value from the game but it's an enjoyable experience and a solid rent that lasts about 6-8 hours.
(Recommended For: Fans of the Adventure Time series, Fans of retro games)

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Fun though a little easy for experienced gamers.

posted by tiloho (IRON RIVER, MI) Feb 14, 2013

Top Reviewer

Member since Jun 2005

I have never actually watched the show but the game has a quirky sense of humor and is fun to play. Kids should like it as long as they can read, because there is very little voice acting. The gameplay is very similar to the old zelda 2 because you travel over world until you enter a dungeon, town, or battle and then it changes to sidescrolling. One interesting element is the ablity to combine food items to make them stronger such as ketchup on a hotdog or hamburger. I only played the game for a few hours and reached the 50 percent mark in the game so it shouldn't be too frustrating for inexperienced gamers. The one drawback is there is no way to get extra experience by defeating more enemies the only rewards you get are items. But the items are so plentiful you don't really need to level up except for boss battles.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Fetch Quest made into Game

posted by OneLastSpartan (ROUND LAKE, IL) Jan 23, 2013

Member since Jan 2012

No cool moves. No cool music. No cool dialog. This game tries to copy the games of old but fails. The whole game is literally back tracking talking to flat NPC charters that have to much dialog that say nothing of interest. The graphics are very lame, the dungeons are simple. If you like walking back and forth between extremely boring mini levels over and over again then enjoy this game. Let me just go grab a piece of paper then bring it to a guy then bring it back to the original guy. That's all the quests in the game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Great game, but too complicated for kids

posted by tricadecaphobia (TAMPA, FL) Jan 1, 2013

Member since Jan 2013

This game is awesome. I got it as an early christmas present. It stumped me on some parts, and I had to look to the internet for help. It is set up like an RPG, so there's a lot of backtracking (more backtracking than I expected). Great for a teenager or adult who loves the show, but I think it will frustrate kids.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

Adventure Time: Link and LSP's Lovechild

posted by GameMonkey27 (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Dec 9, 2012

Member since Aug 2012

Let's be honest: nobody expected this game to be good. Like, at all. We were expecting another nintendo portable adventure of toilet level quality. But, surprisingly, this game is actually one of the best 3ds games ive played. Even better than RE: Revelations (dont sue me).
Sound: The music in this game is very good. It is Zelda like lullaby tunes with a rock n roll flair. Jeremy Shada and John DiMaggio reprise their roles as Finn and Jake, and deliver a solid, hilarious performance. 9
Gameplay: Think Zelda 2s sidescrolling, but good. Lots of entertaining boss fights and enemies. But a LOT of backtracking. This takes away from the experience a bit. This game is also very short (roughly 6 hours, by my count), so not worth full price here. 7.5
Graphics: Cartoony and stylized, perfect to fit the show's background. Vibrant colors help in portraying a happy world that needs to be saved. 9
Writing: Light on story, heavy on characters and humor. Almost every major character can be found somewhere and is worked into the story and gameplay. But, as i said in order to make this game longer, they could have spread these characters out more and made the game longer. Maybe in the sequel. Banter between Ice King & Finn & Jake is funny, captalizing on what has made the series so successful. Perfect for any Adventure Time fan. 8.5
This game is definitely worth the rent if you are interested ina good side-scrolling, action/adventure-rpg with platformer and puzzler elements, and is perfect for a fan of the series. 8.5

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

A Really, Really Short Game

posted by Shad0wStalker1 (AUBURN, WA) Dec 3, 2012

Member since Dec 2012

Presentation 9.9: The game makes you feel like you're in an Adventure Time episode. The animation is crisp, the dialog is hilarious. But if they'd use voice actors, it would be a little better.

Length 3.0: FIVE HOURS! THAT HOW LONG IT TOOK TO BEAT THIS GAME! Even for a 3DS game, that's short. I was expecting at least 10 hours, but no, we just got five.

Replay Value 3.1: There is not that much. When you complete the game, you unlock a harder mode but i doubt anyone is going to do that. You could also search for the wizard stars to fully upgrade yourself...thats it.

Gameplay 8.5: Adventure time pays homage to Zelda II, which is pretty cool and it also reminds me a little bit of Banjo-Kazooie. The bosses are fun, except for two. I found myself getting bored during the last 2 hours and a bit annoyed by the back tracking. But besides that, it's a fun game.

Overall 6.1: I wanted to give this a higher rating, but when you have a game this short, its hard to do so. If you love the show, or have kids that do, you might consider buying it. If not, then save your money and rent it for a day.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

Cute, Fun, Way too Short

posted by RandaPrinc (ALBANY, OR) Dec 2, 2012

Member since Jan 2004

This is a very cute game. If you are a fan of "Adventure Time," you'll probably enjoy it. All of the characters are here -- Finn, Jake, Princess Bubblegum, Lumpy Space Princess, Marcelline, etc. There's some really funny stuff (I especially like the background music in the barbarian village -- "Eat! Fight! Be Manly!").

The game is pretty easy (except the final boss fight with the Ice King, which I still have not managed to beat). There's a lot of tedious walking around -- it would have been nice if there had been a way to jump from one place to another once you've gotten there. Also, it would have been nice to have a way to know how much life the boss you're fighting has left.

Inventory management is also a pain, since you have to double-click on an item to use it. That can be difficult when you're in the middle of a battle.

But hey, you probably aren't going to play this one for its gameplay. You're going to play it for the fun of making Finn and Jake run around the Land of Ooo. It's well worth playing, for that alone.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

« Previous1Next »