Buy Ace Combat: Assault Horizon for PS3
view large frontback

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

Buy

Used: $19.99

Rent

Keep for: $19.99 

Start your 1-month FREE Trial!

Also on:Xbox 360
GF Rating
6.0

1793 ratings

Critic & User Reviews

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Who wants to play tetris

posted by Axisfighter (WAUNAKEE, WI) Oct 25, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

3 out of 3 gamers (100%) found this review helpful

I think tetris is about par with my enjoyment of this game.
Ive loved ace combat for years. The nice story lines and the fun combat, butt this just killed it.
Its the first ace cobat game I coudn't complete. Dispite wanting to rush through the other missions to fly a plane and the plane parts was a nice add on, the combat itself was poor at best. Constantly haveing to dog fight to kill opponents and constantly being engaged in a dog fight by opponents who at times took days to get off your six. You also could fire 50 missles and hit nothing but air as the enemy fighters turn on a dime at 600mph. The game took away from being a pilot and turned it to another arcade game. They say if it ain't broke don't fix it. So now that it is broke. I just hope they fix it.

Or im just gonna stick to tetris for my arcade game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

...my favorite game series died...

posted by Laggmaster (POCATELLO, ID) Dec 11, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

7 out of 8 gamers (88%) found this review helpful

where to start...

the good:
decent graphics
i got to fly a plane

the bad:
dogfight mode forced upon player
forced to play chopper missions
story is not set in the Ace Combat universe but the real world
overly repetitive

i have been a long time fan of the Ace combat series playing them ever since PS1 and have got to say this is the worst one yet. it feels like i am being forced not to be a fighter pilot but instead a janitor that is forced to sweep up all of the monkey poo that gets thrown around because the friendly AI cant do anything but the Enemy AI can do impossible things like make 90 degree turns at 250mph or deploy 300 flares because the game wants me to go into dogfight mode....

and then there are the chopper missions... Who decided to put chopper/gunner missions into a fighter pilot game?

after playing threw this game in around 6hrs i couldn't help get the feeling that the series is turning into COD we will see a yearly reiteration of it at half the cost to the development team because all they have to do is change the missions/maps slightly....

Needless to say im glad i rented this one and didnt buy it. Namco has ruined one of my favorite franchises and they will only get one more chance to fix it with the next game before i wont ever play another one...

bottom line if you love ace combat games this is probably not for you i

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

So disappointed

posted by Lyniaer (WILLIAMSPORT, PA) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Oct 2009

39 out of 54 gamers (72%) found this review helpful

I was really looking forward to the next AC game...then I realized Namco was taking over the reigns and my heart sank. Stupid as I am I went out and bought it instead of renting it. Big mistake.
Namco needs to give this back up to Konami because AH just plain sucks.
1. Your AI is hopeless. They don't give a dam about you.
2. Enemy AI doesn't give a dam about your ally AI. Your wingmen just take up space in the sky and annoy you with relentless radio chatter going on about how useless they are.
3. All the action is so fast-paced and jarring you can't really get into the game or give a dam about the story or the characters.
4. If the radio tells you to focus on "Target" and your allies will cover you...fat chance of that. You best come prepared to do ALL the work, and I mean all of it. If you have to shoot down a bomber (which some take 20 missiles in the poochute) you'll have so many escort fighters jamming rockets into your exhaust you'll have no choice but to take them all out, then your target. And you best do it fast. Take more than 60 seconds on 1 errant plane, you may as well eat the ground and start over.
4. The Dogfight and Ground assault modes suck out all the fun and skill of the original games.
5. Controls for handling the Apache portions of the game are so bad...just...bad...baaaaad.
6. Some enemies are purely invincible and are simply there to rattle your FREAKIN' nerves; which is insulting. Yellow Squadron was tough but at least you could take one down and startle them hilariously over the radio.

This game is not worth the disc it's printed on.
Konami.. Where are you?!

If Namco holds the copyright, now... I'm done with the AC series. So sad to see it go out like this trying to imitate an FPS like CoD. These games make their money because they're NOT Call of Duty yet everyone tries to emulate the winners... Even if they're a dozen Genre's apart from each other.

Dumb, dumb, dumb Idiots. This is the ET of the 7th? Gen cons

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
8

Very Good

A great departure

posted by shooterjunkie56 (COLORADO SPRINGS, CO) Nov 1, 2011

Top Reviewer

Member since May 2011

10 out of 14 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

The Ace Combat franchise has always been a favorite of mine, with awesome title such as Ace Combat 4 Shattered skies and Ace Combat 5 I was eagerly awaiting Assault Horizon. While this game is somewhat of a departure for the series by no means is that a bad thing.

The Good:
1. Ace Combat finally has some different types of missions such as helicopter and bomber missions.
2. The game looks quite stunning in most areas.
3. multiplayer is great fun. It has modes such as deathmatch to base destruction.
4. Combat is very fun.
5. Game has some great music for the intense dogfights.

The bad:
1. The game can be a bit to easy at times. The bomber mission require almost no skill.
2. Each mission is a bit to long and towards the ned of the game it starts getting very repetitive.
3. The controlls are very loose and are hard to get used to.

Overall Ace Combat Assault Horizon is a great game with only some minor issues.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Its like Starfox for SNES

posted by Tanklin99 (Boston, MA) Jan 30, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 4 gamers (75%) found this review helpful

If you loved flying on a track like the old Starfox games for SNES, then you will love this game. If you loved Ace Combat 1-6 then you will hate this game.

I have played alot of flight sims in my day, but I have never had to do a "finishing move" in one before. There is no freedom at all in this game.

Heck, it may be as bad as playing one of the forward scrolling "1942" games from the NES days. Its really that bad...

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

Ugh.

posted by AutoEuphoria (MIDLAND, MI) Oct 17, 2011

Member since May 2011

15 out of 22 gamers (68%) found this review helpful

Just a few of the major annoyances:

- L2+R2: This button combo is used to do 3-4 things at any given time. L2 and R2 act as the rudders in planes, zoom and fire in helicopters, auto-level, enter "dogfight mode", and perform counter manouvers. Just WAY too much going on for 2 buttons...especially when even the game gets confused about what you are trying to do. This generally results in your death and (as in my case) the dog running away scared from the profanity flowing from your mouth.

- Cinematic (scripted) events during combat: This is ridiculous. You have to enter dogfight mode to kill some enemies...they're just too "good" to be shot down otherwise. This sometimes triggers scripted events like barely missing a commercial jet or flying between skyscrapers. Of course, this isn't apparent until you've launched 10-15 missiles at your enemy (every one hitting) and filled his tailpipe with a few thousand rounds. Basically, the enemy WILL NOT DIE until the scripted event is over...this can be 30 seconds or more...no matter how many missiles and bullets you hit him with

- Unrealistic HP on "important" things: Best way to describe this is with this phrase: it does not take 10 missiles to shoot down a cruise missile. I don't care if it's loaded with a special weapon... it would be shot down with a few rounds from a gatling gun. Also, there is no way I should be KILLED by the exhaust of an ICBM before I can shoot it down (again, multiple missiles necessary).

Those are three of the major ones for me, and I didn't even touch on the horrible pacing of missions, the terrible helicopter flight control, the pointless special weapons, releasing flares by accident, etc.

The only fun part was the C-130 Gunship mission, and even that has been done better before. The only reason I gave this a 5 was because the story was decent, although predictable and relatively unsatisfying. MUCH better than hearing an emotional woman/man complain about his family in "Gracemaria".

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Simply Horrible!

posted by divac (IRVINE, CA) Dec 5, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

5 out of 7 gamers (71%) found this review helpful

I read the reviews before playing the game, but I played it anyways thinking: How bad can they possibly mess it up?

Very bad. This is NOT a flight combat game. This is an indie arcade game that's not even fun.

Fans of Ace Combat series, beware! This game is such an insult to the series, it is by far the worst game I have ever played in the genre.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Thrill Ride

posted by Supermane1985 (PORTLAND, OR) Oct 13, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

13 out of 20 gamers (65%) found this review helpful

While a bit of a departure from the previous series this side of Ace Combat is a heck of a game on its own. The intensity has been ramped way up and the dogfights are an adrenaline rush unmatched in the series.

The "other" missions where you man a bomber/AC130/helicopter are mediocre diversions for the most part and the plot is pretty forgettable but none of it got in the way of wanting to jump back into one of my favorite planes.

My advice: If you like airplane games at all, adjust your expectations slightly, turn up the difficulty, set controls to original, and strap yourself in for one of the best air combat games around.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
5

Fair

terrible

posted by raymyster14 (HAMMOND, IN) Oct 17, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

2 out of 3 gamers (67%) found this review helpful

this game was terrible. i hada fun time with the jet pilot parts, but as soon as i got to the helicopter part quit because that was the worst experience with ace combat i have ever had. i tried to keep going but couldnt. if you could stomach the terrible helicopter levels then there is a lot of fun to be had.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

Cemented the fact I'm done with war games

posted by metalaries (ALAMEDA, CA) Dec 30, 2011

Member since Jul 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

the last couple of Ace Combat games should have gave me the clue. I couldn't stand them, so obviously this one wasn't going to be any different.

what jackbutt thought it was a good idea to have the flight controls INVERT when you're doing something else and have NO WAY TO CHANGE THEM??? I'm referring to the helecopter part of the credits intro while you're manning the gunner at the side.

the controls are sloppy as he11 and you'd think they'd be WAY more precise, and the dog fighting was starting to literally make me get motion sickness...and that has never happened!!

another good reason I've got gamefly, another failure returned!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
3

Bad

oh why..

posted by gathairu (OAKLAND, CA) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

3 out of 5 gamers (60%) found this review helpful

played 4 and 5 on ps2, then got a ps3 looking foward to the best flighter ever. Now I'm stuck with wasted anticipation. Assault Horizon is a disgrace!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

I don't understand

posted by Slyfox43 (EL PASO, TX) Nov 28, 2011

Member since Sep 2008

5 out of 9 gamers (56%) found this review helpful

I don't understand why so many people would dislike this game, being a huge fan of the ace combat series I didn't feel disappointed at all, I got exactly what I thought I was going to get in a ace combat game, I don't see why helicopter missions are a bad thing, its been a dream to fly a copter once in my life and well this is as close as I am going to get. The final mission did irritate me some, but thanks to google and youtube I was able to come up with a strategy.
I guess people want to complain, but this game was fun.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
6

Above Average

not too bad

posted by ScottieB (RALEIGH, NC) Oct 15, 2011

Member since Apr 2011

4 out of 8 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Not too bad ... if you like doing the same things OVER AND OVER AND OVER! Good graphics and controls ... storyline a bit boring ... VERY repetitive!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
9

Excellent

Better than I thought

posted by Phatsnake (NEW YORK, NY) Apr 11, 2012

Member since Apr 2012

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I don't get why people are bashing on this game. It's the good old Ace Combat with a couple of newly introduced game play mechanics. The Dog Fight Mode is definitely a nice addition that gives you an adrenaline rush specially when your target starts a dangerous maneuver around obstacles in the terrain like buildings etc, they can even fool you and you'll end up crashing your plane. The counter attack system is also fun you need to decide in the heat of battle whether you can take a few hits so you can counter and get a deadly shot on them or just manually dodge the missiles. The way they do cut scenes reminded me a little bit of Heavy Rain it isn't interactive but you can get to look around, and it switches from first to third person views, and you don't feel the transition between the cut scenes and gameplay which is nice. The physics can be unrealistic at times specially when you shoot tanks down and they end up flipping 10 times in the air that's always funny. Overall its a good game for the fans of the series but some people might not like the Helicopter and bomber missions.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

posted by heart3259 (CALCIUM, NY) Feb 17, 2012

Member since Jun 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

the game was ok but not the best just didn,t care for it, could off been better, i give it a 2, got it on the 13th sent it back on the 14th to boarding

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Dont Waste Time

posted by Thumper01 (LEES SUMMIT, MO) Dec 8, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game is poor poor poor. You can't even barrell roll. The controls are horrible, especially for the Helo levels. The story line is lacking, the graphics are great, so if you want to trade controlability, somewhat good AI, and even a smudge of realistic fighter capability, for good graphics, this game is for you. If graphics aren't the only thing you look for in a game (meaning everything else has to be at least average to have a decent game) dont waste your time with this. Go rent it from a video store cause you'll want to return it in less that 2 hours of play and not have to wait the time in shipping and receiving to get a new game.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
2

Really Bad

what happened to this once great series

posted by buddha62 (KETCHIKAN, AK) Dec 2, 2011

Member since Dec 2011

2 out of 4 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

serious dissapointment

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

Junk!!!

posted by TOMMYV723 (MILWAUKEE, WI) Mar 19, 2013

Member since Mar 2013

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This is going right back in the mailbox!!!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Ace Combat: Assault Horizon

posted by Solaralien (NORMAN, OK) Oct 26, 2012

Member since Oct 2012

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

Well to begin with i've been an Ace Combat fan since Ace Combat:Electrosphere on PS2. I had went to the local Wal-mart @ 12am just to get it as soon as possible! Low & behold......Ace Combat: Assault Horizon was very bad! I don't mind change,but this was lame! Gone are the days of free flight air combat! I could go on about how this game is a flop to the most hardcore Ace fans like myself. Namco you broke my heart!

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

Too far from the series

posted by Xianomaz (ASHEVILLE, NC) May 29, 2012

Member since Apr 2007

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

The team behind Ace Combat: Assault Horizon took a bold step in trying to show the destruction each of your missiles cause in comparison to the former PlayStation entries (Haven't played the PSP or Xbox 360 entry).

However the main thing they did terribly was make it impossible to turn off the hand holding. To some of the more seasoned Ace Combat players it becomes painfully obvious that it is now impossible to fly how -you- want to.

Every time you try to corner into an evasive pilot, the game pulls you back into the corner. This becomes painfully obvious when you have a fast mover that decides to circle your plane for a few seconds. Gone are the days when you could twist your plane through the turn and come out directly behind the assaulting craft.

To those of us that have grown accustomed to flipping the belly of their plane into the arc for firing a missile for that extra bit of accuracy, the game forcibly levels the plane whenever you let go of the stick. Gone are the days of rolling your plane to get off a quick fire to down an ace before he starts to evade you again.

Instead, this has been replaced with Dogfight Mode. Which is a brilliant move if it wasn't forced into the game in a way to restrict experienced pilots. It makes great strides in allowing people with less experience to enjoy the game at the cost of free flight and the sense of a true win over a very difficult AI.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

F---ing helicopters

posted by ace69flyer (KEENE, NH) Feb 1, 2012

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

I dont like f--king helicoptors If i wanted a flight sim for them id have bought one this is a great game when flying jets but once you have to fly an apache the game f--king sucks I love all the other ace combats so ill just keep playing 5 and kick its butt again an again lousey game

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
4

Weak

blah

posted by mazzer (SAINT LOUIS, MO) Jan 27, 2012

Member since Dec 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

it's just the same ish over and over. as someone who is REALLY into aircraft , I couldn't play more than a half hour of it .

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
7

Good

ace combat assault horizon

posted by rsaleen829 (LAKEVILLE, MN) Nov 26, 2011

Member since Sep 2011

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

DECENT GAME GRAPHICS WISE I THOUGHT STORY LINE REALLY NEEDS IMPROVEMENT!!! ALL AND ALL CAN'T WAIT FOR THE NEXT ONE. HURRY UP THIS TIME NAMCO.NEXT YEAR AND ADD UPDATES ONLINE TO THIS TITLE MAYBE....rpd829

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
1

Horrible

ace combat but without the ace

posted by bc1995 (NORTH VERNON, IN) Oct 25, 2011

Member since Aug 2010

1 out of 2 gamers (50%) found this review helpful

This game was such a disappointment. The game starts off well but it got too hard when the Russians betrayed you. Namco must be communists because the Russian jets are hard to kill in dog fight mode. If you enter dog fight mode with a Russian jet in 5 seconds a Russian jet will get on your tail and you will have a hard time getting him off your tail and if you have 2 Russians on your tail you are dead meat. Your allies are as useful as a jammed rocket. If you have a bad guy on your tail they will not help you. At least in Hawx 1 and 2 your allies will help you. Like in Hawx 2 where the bad guys abused the flares in this game the bad guys abused the dogfight mode. Don't rent this game on ps3.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse

GF Rating
10

Perfect

Awesome. Best of the series

posted by wasterpop (RIO RANCHO, NM) Oct 18, 2011

Member since Oct 2011

2 out of 6 gamers (33%) found this review helpful

Speechless when I first started to play. The story is short, 4-6 hours, the only thing I didn't like about it is that there was no free flight (not a mission, just straight up flying) multiplayer was good. I wish the sound track was out. I really like the music.

Was this review helpful? Report Abuse